scathing Posted November 3, 2008 Share Posted November 3, 2008 Cheers for the article Alan. No probs. All the tabloid journalism that craps on about street racers and that kind of stuff really grinds my gears, and it's hard to find positive press for car clubs that actually behave themselves outside of enthusiast publications that get written off by the public as hoon journals anyway. I don't have any breakdowns on what our readership demographic is like, but we cover a lot of "regular" news and are a lot more mainstream than Zoom, HPI, (whatever) Fours, etc. As an example of media stupidity, I live in Newtown so we get a lot of "alternative lifestyle" newspapers. I was flicking through some Gay & Lesbian newspaper while getting breakfast this morning, and one of the columnists was going on about people getting glassed in the city...and how they're the same people into vandalism, petty theft, and street racing. You'd think that a subculture as misrepresented and falsely villified as homosexuals would try avoid ignorant stereotyping.....but you'd think wrong. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4237006 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR-N1 Posted November 3, 2008 Share Posted November 3, 2008 False stereotypes are rife these days, I'm afraid Alan, i) due to opportunism to gain a week's publicity, sensationalism and fame/notoriety ii) feeding on the lack of discrimination of the readers iii) activism iv) egotism and, v) pressure to create news rather than to report it. I'm even learning from my son in marketing, how 'spin' in advertising can generate a fashion stereotype. And I'm just trying not to be cynical about what goes on around me. Tez Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4237050 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abo Bob Posted November 3, 2008 Share Posted November 3, 2008 False stereotypes are all made by asians. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4237210 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR-N1 Posted November 3, 2008 Share Posted November 3, 2008 ^^^ Ouch! My car doesn't know how to take that! ....has feelings you know! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4237565 Share on other sites More sharing options...
nIsMo86 Posted November 3, 2008 Share Posted November 3, 2008 Cheers again for the article Alan...was nice to read an article involving skylines which gave them praise instead of ridicule. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4237827 Share on other sites More sharing options...
scathing Posted November 3, 2008 Share Posted November 3, 2008 False stereotypes are all made by asians. Asian stereotypes are so 90's. Didn't you get the memo that we now pick on Middle Eastern people? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4238711 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abo Bob Posted November 3, 2008 Share Posted November 3, 2008 ^^^Ouch! My car doesn't know how to take that! ....has feelings you know! Well tell it to stop making false stereotypes! Asian stereotypes are so 90's.Didn't you get the memo that we now pick on Middle Eastern people? Damn, I can't even get redneckism right! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4238803 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR-N1 Posted November 14, 2008 Share Posted November 14, 2008 For those people that have received the Amateur DVD, I hope you found it enjoyable - especially if you're on it? ...or the car? You can speak up for your car! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4262104 Share on other sites More sharing options...
nIsMo86 Posted November 15, 2008 Share Posted November 15, 2008 Terry, Can I grab a copy of your amateur dvd of the day please? Also happy 1000th post! Cheers Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4262533 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR-N1 Posted November 15, 2008 Share Posted November 15, 2008 Many thanks! = many PM sent. Any other SAUers present on the day can just ask as well. No probs. Tez Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4262760 Share on other sites More sharing options...
nIsMo86 Posted November 15, 2008 Share Posted November 15, 2008 No worries! I've pm'd you my details. Thanks Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4263389 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sl!m Posted November 15, 2008 Author Share Posted November 15, 2008 terry, thanks for the dvd will check it out soon Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4263393 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR-N1 Posted November 16, 2008 Share Posted November 16, 2008 hehe.... Well S,... that Hand-Held Camera across the street got you doing 6 clicks over the limit within 40m of leaving the Business Park! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4264823 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abo Bob Posted November 18, 2008 Share Posted November 18, 2008 I watched it Terry. Thanks very much mate. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4269214 Share on other sites More sharing options...
nIsMo86 Posted November 18, 2008 Share Posted November 18, 2008 Terry...thanks heaps for the dvd. Received it today and watched. Cheers! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4269473 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duncan Posted January 16, 2009 Share Posted January 16, 2009 The Cancer Council today sent the following letter of thanks for the donation. Well done everyone that supported this cruise, the club donated all takings Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4372834 Share on other sites More sharing options...
evil_weevil Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 thats cool Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4379398 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sl!m Posted January 20, 2009 Author Share Posted January 20, 2009 W00T Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4379466 Share on other sites More sharing options...
N1GTR Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Yep, cool Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4379469 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sheng Posted January 21, 2009 Share Posted January 21, 2009 Sweet Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/234543-putty-road-2008/page/15/#findComment-4382611 Share on other sites More sharing options...