This thread is an elaboration from Trents (URAS) thread which basically showed the low/midrange gains of a boost solenoid or stepper motor with a properly setup 'Gain" function; Fine control of wastegates.

Thankyou by the way Trent from stopping me buying the power fc boost kit!

Also

The discussion about stock airboxes and whether they proved a restriction from an air velocity, turbulance and volume point.

-First dyno sheet was done on the 2nd of July and made 235awkw at 1bar with an apexi replacement panel filter and bottom half of the airbox removed.

-Boost controler was a HKS EVC version 3 (solenoid)

-Dyno done today made 255awkw at 1 bar with apexi power intake pods

-Boost controller was a new HKS EVC Version 6 (stepper motor)

Both dyno runs were done with the bonnets up so even though there was a gain of 20awkw would we expect a car in bumper to bumper traffic to have higher intake temperatures and therefore lose this power? But one thing is for sure, the addition of a partition utilizing the intake snorkel might give us the best of both worlds!

I dont really know how to compare the different boost controllers as i dont know how to compare a dyno sheet in RPM to KM/H so perhaps someone would like to examine it for me.

There is no 100% secure result as there are too many sliding variables but i found it pretty cool!

Thankyou to Rob, Daniel and the rest of the boys at CREATD motorsport! He went above and beyond for a tidy setup, expert tune and treated the car as if it was his own. So if anyone is looking for an expert tuner, I highly recommend them and have their contact details in my signature.

post-4266-1221127307_thumb.jpg

post-4266-1221127284_thumb.jpg

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/235700-johnnys-dyno-results-2/

nice results mate would like to ask what mods have got to the motor

Thanks mate, just a catback zorst, pods, power fc and EBC

As i asked

Did you removed the side panel out of the airbox? Which restricts it and must be removed?

Did you try taking the panel filter out entirely? (just to properly test restrictions?)

Not exactly sure what your asking but here is a pic of the setup

post-4266-1221129220_thumb.jpg

here it is now

post-4266-1221129381_thumb.jpg

i'm not seeing a lot of difference between the boost curves there. You have the same shaped ramp onto boost and even have the same slight creep up to 1 bar at the top end. earlier or later response can come down to what revs the operator loads up the car.

Also 2 different dynos 4 months apart doesn't really prove much at all to be honest. And 2 different types of dyno at that. And neither is showing the correction data!

I don't want to sound negative, but we have nothing to make a direct comparison with, even the scales are different.

Thanks guys so far for the analysis and thoughts! Like said there are too many sliding variables to my testing so a 100% proven theory is not on the cards but im very happy with the results and the car is fabulous to drive!

I wrote up this thread because this is a forum for skyline enthusiasts and i hope some people enjoyed the read/results.

dear god that car looks f**king mean

good to see an improvement though, and you reckon driveability is heaps better?

i want a bit more driveability from the R32. just doesn't have the wall of torque the supra does... but has many more revs :P

was at Status Tuning the other day, we did back to back dyno runs, both with hi-flow panel filter (Blitz) but one with stock airbox lid on, one off. 10rwkw difference. Don't want to go pod, so might "modify" the airbox lid :P

dear god that car looks f**king mean

good to see an improvement though, and you reckon driveability is heaps better?

i want a bit more driveability from the R32. just doesn't have the wall of torque the supra does... but has many more revs :P

Thanks man! Definitely driveability is better 100%

Never driven a supra, would love to feel the difference.

was at Status Tuning the other day, we did back to back dyno runs, both with hi-flow panel filter (Blitz) but one with stock airbox lid on, one off. 10rwkw difference. Don't want to go pod, so might "modify" the airbox lid :)

Thanks for the positive result.

When i was using the airbox i noticed an instant sluggishness once i put the other half of the box back on.

This thread is an elaboration from Trents (URAS) thread which basically showed the low/midrange gains of a boost solenoid or stepper motor with a properly setup 'Gain" function; Fine control of wastegates.

Thankyou by the way Trent from stopping me buying the power fc boost kit!

Also

The discussion about stock airboxes and whether they proved a restriction from an air velocity, turbulance and volume point.

-First dyno sheet was done on the 2nd of July and made 235awkw at 1bar with an apexi replacement panel filter and bottom half of the airbox removed.

-Boost controler was a HKS EVC version 3 (solenoid)

-Dyno done today made 255awkw at 1 bar with apexi power intake pods

-Boost controller was a new HKS EVC Version 6 (stepper motor)

Both dyno runs were done with the bonnets up so even though there was a gain of 20awkw would we expect a car in bumper to bumper traffic to have higher intake temperatures and therefore lose this power? But one thing is for sure, the addition of a partition utilizing the intake snorkel might give us the best of both worlds!

I dont really know how to compare the different boost controllers as i dont know how to compare a dyno sheet in RPM to KM/H so perhaps someone would like to examine it for me.

There is no 100% secure result as there are too many sliding variables but i found it pretty cool!

Thankyou to Rob, Daniel and the rest of the boys at CREATD motorsport! He went above and beyond for a tidy setup, expert tune and treated the car as if it was his own. So if anyone is looking for an expert tuner, I highly recommend them and have their contact details in my signature.

post-4266-1221127307_thumb.jpg

post-4266-1221127284_thumb.jpg

I can't follow your graphs. You say both runs were at 1 bar of boost but one chart says 15psi (around 1 bar) but the other seems to say 200 kpa (about 2 bar).
was at Status Tuning the other day, we did back to back dyno runs, both with hi-flow panel filter (Blitz) but one with stock airbox lid on, one off. 10rwkw difference. Don't want to go pod, so might "modify" the airbox lid :P

Did you try with the filter off (just outta interest)

don't think we did, just with the lid off. Trent then said he may have noticed one of the pipes sucking closed, so we ran again and i tried to watch it, didn't seem to be closing, but plan on doing the 3cm stainless steel insert mod all the same. He mentioned cutting some holes around the lid, and maybe meshing them up so it doesn't look too obvious.

As has been already said - different dynos - different days and neither run with corrections applied or in a industry standard "Shootout mode". So liitle can be made from these graphs and its pointless to try to draw conclusions.

Why dont you try logging AFM voltages on the same day in the same conditions with pods and then with the standard Airbox.