fair enough but i think that in this thread people are either going to hate the nats or like them so i apologise A20089

but i dont think its a family event when the organisers say it "is"

Thanks Ross, it was her idea and yes probably as a joke. And I fortunatly or unfortunatly probably deserve her.

I agree this is a rougher then usual event for Canberra, but coming from a background of bike rallys the event is calm and relaxed for me. As Michele said they just get in to a pack mentality sometimes. However last year those that went with their cars had no issues unless you count a couple of snide comments upon entry about it being for V8's not fast 4's. Even the Ford XR6 owners get this.

Its a shame that you received such poor behaviour towards your mrs. If your with us next time I'll punch them in the nose for you.

If you don't like the idea of the loud mouth getting a knock in the nose then yes Summernats is not for you, and I agree it is generally not for the typical Canberra family.

I say remove the alcohol and it would be a good show.

Talking about having some fun at the Nats.

Last year I was on the look out for some 18" race spec wheels for the GTR so with the "deals" being done at the nats I thought I'd see what I could find.

Despite being a truckload of wheels at the event there turned out to be no race wheels and extreamly few if any at 10" width. Few understood what a race spec wheel was and looked blankly when asking about forged or an actual weight.

The fun came when they asked for what car, and I obviously said a GTR. The reply was often "ahh.. nothing to suit a Torana" to which the response was "na mate a real perforamce car"

The look was priceless :-)

5 or more years ago the Nats was quite rowdy, the last few years it's tamed down so much especially with the increasing numbers of security.

The Summernats is no different to a weekend nite club in any major city, if you go looking for trouble you will find it, if you arent looking for trouble you won't even see any.

Also about it being an event for the v8 bogans, I think the "v8 bogans" vs "jap ricers" would be nearly identical in numbers if you take into considering all cars in the carpark and cars cruising braddon etc - not just cars located inside the arena. It's quickly changing from a pure v8 muscle car event (majority are 30-50yo's) to a younger tuners event.

I'll certainly be there again this year :)

summernats isnt too bad. but i agree for girls, especially good looking ones, it can be hell, even if they like cars. i reckon if kat went to the summernats with all the guys from SAU no one would try to grab her again.. for fear of a severe beating, then hating :thumbsup:

might go next year, but it IS on the new years which is fail

i reckon if kat went to the summernats with all the guys from SAU no one would try to grab her again.. for fear of a severe beating, then hating :)

You jest surely, have you seen most of the SAU guys, not exactly bulked compared to all the bear swilling yobbo's. Most of SAU's are like the cars, light weight and lean. Saying that I'm sure JD and I could take several on at once ;)

You still reading sometimes JD?

You jest surely, have you seen most of the SAU guys, not exactly bulked compared to all the bear swilling yobbo's. Most of SAU's are like the cars, light weight and lean. Saying that I'm sure JD and I could take several on at once :cool:

Forgot the bit how we are faster off the line, and the fact they will be drunk and end up hitting their own mates instead. Just spill their beers and they will kneel down and cry.

You jest surely, have you seen most of the SAU guys, not exactly bulked compared to all the bear swilling yobbo's. Most of SAU's are like the cars, light weight and lean. Saying that I'm sure JD and I could take several on at once :cool:

I dunno John,

I reckon if we take Viet he could protect us all! :D

Not to mention our resident SAU thug James (DriftGTS).