Well i think next time ill just do my uni HW instead of experimenting with ebay... Never bought anything off ebay before. was looking at the thumpstar pit-bikes, they look like heaps of fun just to screw around on or a easy way to get from one end of the property to the other.. well i unintentionally bought myself one thinking i would be outbid.. stupid i know but at least i dont have to decide whether to get one or not... haha!

Its one of those chinese ones, Atomik 140CC ... cant wait till it arrives, should be fun..

Anyone else ridden one?

Also im considering a YZ 450F 08 model... ive been a bit out of the whole motorbike scene for a while now so im not updated on what are good models... Anyone ridden this bike or know much about them? Im just looking at a bit of trail riding as well as getting into the jumping again! I work for a freight company which owns a few loaders and bobcats so the jumps should be getting bigger soon :dry:

So tell us what ya think, good bike or not so good? experiences... (yeh car forum i know but the bike forums are useless..)

julz ps:useless thread i know, but S.A section seems to have a lot of crap in it..

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/236260-pit-bikes-motorbikes/

Any of the ebay pitbikes are rubbish. I built my own from scratch using all the good bits you don't get with ebay 'specials'.

For under $2K they are fun, but they can and do break eventually. Spend $5K on a jap dirt bike and you'll be happy.

:dry:

yeh i knew they would be crap... but it still should be fun for a while.. can also teach my younger siblings how to ride and something to do in the truck yard when i've finished work... know much about dirt bikes? im so out of it so im not so sure.. thing is its seems i can get this yz for a pretty good price...

we bought a bit pro for 900 bucks... runs like a bucket of shit but its still awesome fun!!

Thats because its got a crap carby :( Change the carb and jet it for the 140 and it'll be fine :D

dont get me started on them ebay bikes. if u dont value ur spin, ribs or any part of ur body b tight an get one of them.

but if u like to ride bikes then yeh the 08 wr is FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF'in exciting in the pants. i just got mine about months ago an havnt stop riding it. handles good on rd an handles like a yz off rd an also sits with the yz u couldnt tell that they are a little less bullzzyy

go to coast yamaha for best service. yamaha world if u like been shafted an have ur time wasted

post-22726-1221553676_thumb.jpg

i just brought a wr400f 3 days ago from a mate and they go great, feels different from riding a kx125 for a while, those ebay bike are not too bad really. i brought an orion thumpstar for $735 and they were rated no.1 in dirt action a while back, but hen traded it for the kx. depends on what your needs are, buy both if your got the dollars. just my opinion.

cheers... michael

Lol pit bike haters...

I think the atomik has a Ducar engine, which is a rebadged Honda engine made under licence in China.

Hit all the bolts with locktight and give it a once over before every ride (as you should with any bike).

I have an Orion sitting in my shed inbetween 3 Hondas and a Yamaha...After 2+ years of slapping it around it still runs like new and as amazing as it sounds nothing has fallen off, broken or otherwise.

Although they are a bit agricultural in build quality compared to a 5k jap bike, they're good value @ half the $ needed to rebuild my xr. 4spd gearbox is frustating and I'd say thats why a lot of peeps over rev and blow these things up, which says more about a lack of mechanical common sense than a weak product.

Service as required, don't let anyone over 100kg ride or jump it, don't over rev (hold flat out)

I hope you get as much fun out of yours as I have mine...as for the haters, do what I do and think of them in the same light as the folk who'd call your car Jap Crap :down:

nice bikes 4dirty2! yeh i just wanna have some simple fang around fun on the ebay bike! ill see how it runs and if it is as crap is Ruby sais ill have a look at the carby etc someday.. im not expecting top notch performance just some fun in the mud or something..!! i got it for 700 bucks... which didnt seem too bad! just as 'madbung' said i plan to take good care of the thing still n get lots of life out of it hopefully...

So im thinking i should be pretty happy with a YZ if its kinda in the same boat as the WR... does anyone know how quick the YZ is and how fast it is at the top end? i dont really want something that only sits on 90k's hour but gets there super quick... should still go quicker even if it is a Moto X bike..

the only diff between wr an yz is the jet in the carby an the exhasut apart from that they are pretty much the same bike.

i used to have 05 yz125 an top speed on that was about 125ish. but they are gear for race an low down power so yehh

but if u realy awnt to have fun an become a btr rider go a full sized bike coz u can learn so much more about riding an do so much more

yz should be good for 120 maybe 130 depending on your gearing, and it will throw you on the back wheel no worries, a mate of mine just got his kx450 rebiult and the thing is insane on poweer(infact there too much power from what eveyone thinks).

cheers... michael

ive got the atomik 125 motor in mine and ive thloged the shit outa it but it still runs like new. I took it too a property at pinaroo n done sandy hill climbs half cut at nite and had the whole pipe glowing red :down: anyways just change oil often and go over bolts with lock tight if already havnt and hopefully you good life out of it.

ive got the atomik 125 motor in mine and ive thloged the shit outa it but it still runs like new. I took it too a property at pinaroo n done sandy hill climbs half cut at nite and had the whole pipe glowing red :) anyways just change oil often and go over bolts with lock tight if already havnt and hopefully you good life out of it.

sounds pretty good! yeh ill do the whole lock tight thing, it will be staying at the truck yard so they'll have all the tools and lock tight ill need! So yer the thumpstar is on its way... cant wait to fang it up and down the street :down:

yeh i think ill get a full size bike as well, im really leaning towards the YZ450, Cant wait really to get back into it. anyone happen to know any good areas to ride in SA? in particular the murray bridge, monarto, hills area...? It doent seem as good as the bushland i used to ride in back in vic..

come to roxby its like riding the finke desert race. tracks are insane here, and we have supercross(pretty lame to some) track and a motorcross track, but the trails are sick or you can go anywere you want just watch for the flashing lights.

cheers... michael

sounds pretty good! yeh ill do the whole lock tight thing, it will be staying at the truck yard so they'll have all the tools and lock tight ill need! So yer the thumpstar is on its way... cant wait to fang it up and down the street :happy:

yeh i think ill get a full size bike as well, im really leaning towards the YZ450, Cant wait really to get back into it. anyone happen to know any good areas to ride in SA? in particular the murray bridge, monarto, hills area...? It doent seem as good as the bushland i used to ride in back in vic..

should go wr450 coz u can change the jets an everythin to make it the same as YZ but the benifit of wr is u have rego which opens up were u can ride soooo much.

theres a couple of tracks at monarto that cost 20 a day then i got one at nairne that is about 40, but if u want to pay nothin there are tracks on the side of the rd that go for ages from mannum area

I wanna get my mates out to Sellicks Hill. Thats a nice track. Me and a mate use to go there every weekend and rip it up all day ... then you get f**kwits turning up with shovels, making their own changes for squid-like poses on some small jumps, then f**king off home after an hour. :(

Use to be funny watching the boys on their KX and YZs tearing around the track and taking the jumps, followed closely behind by me and Steve on the pitbikes :rofl:

My pitbike was build ground up from DHZ cradle frame using all the best bits: Fastace suspension, Renthal bars, Lifan 140cc motor with IRK etc. Strong enough that my mates Honda Sobe broke before it did coming down from a huge jump :sick:

reubenjump01.jpg

My mate's Sobe literally ripped in half on landing (yes, he's lying next to the bike in the pic ... he's out cold) :devil:

reuben002.jpg

killa pics. i went to sellics the otherday it was a still too wet to get any good riding in. that place near torens island were the fruit markets are on is always good for a ride even if it just pissed down. :P

nice pics, so where is this place? sellics that is.. just wanna know for future reference...

4dirty2, so there are some decent tracks or bushland that is good for riding around mannum? that i dont have to pay for... the riding was awesome back in mildura with plenty of bushland etc... bit harder to find here..