Hi ppls

I was reading the-riotact today and came acrossthis post.

Its about trying to get the police driver training complex opened so 'hoons' have a place to go.

Have a read, it may be worth keeping an eye on.

Stephen

The main reason for the young people to be "hoons" is to impress the opposite sex. Unless the complex has lots of girls, it won't work.

OMG haven't I been sending off the wrong signals then. When I hoon (on the track of course) its because I love the feel of the vehicle and wanna play and learn how to control it better. I didn't know it impressed the opposite sex, it never aroused me watching someone drive a car really well, but hey, might work for some.

# Yes, it can only help (48%, 137 Votes)

# No, just crush their cars until they are all gone (52%, 147 Votes)

still funny tho that more than half want to crush our cars

the one thing i hate is the word hoon it has so many meanings and these people should do their research

the one thing i hate also is driving a car that is seen as a "hoons" car when i drive responsably now im not saying im an angle

i do some days drive like a fark tard as we all do from time to time its the P plater assholes that is the problem.

we need stricter rules for P platers i rekon and they are getting there licences so young these days

my rant

thanks for listening

To be honest with you, if I were a young guy, these days, I wouldn't buy a Skyline. I get seriously eyeballed by Police when in the Skyline (that is, until they see a middle aged woman at the wheel) yet I NEVER get this when I'm in the Statesman. Yesterday I was parked in a carpark waiting to meet a friend for lunch and the police deliberately looped around the opposite end of the exit (nothing to be gained) just to eyeball me in the process... once again they quickly forgot about me when they realised I was an old lady. I wouldn't be a young guy in a Skyline for quids these days.

You're a target in a Skyline, by both Police and thieves.

OMG haven't I been sending off the wrong signals then. When I hoon (on the track of course) its because I love the feel of the vehicle and wanna play and learn how to control it better. I didn't know it impressed the opposite sex, it never aroused me watching someone drive a car really well, but hey, might work for some.

That's different. Enjoying the car yourself at Wakefield, is different to doing a burnout in Braddon. They want to stop speeding and street racing - which neither responsible "hoons" don't do. :bunny:

I meant "young" as in some teenage drivers. It doesn't always impress the opposite sex, but what matters is that it seem like it does to them. This also somewhat applies to older man with mid-life crisis, driving a sports car, who is attracted to younger women than his wife.

I'm not saying this in negative way, because it is a human nature to impress the opposite sex. Showing wealth and your possession is one way to do it. For most teenagers, a car is their major possession - they want to show off by "hooning".

But it is a problem that kids who does not respect the road rules, and I don't think that opening a dragway will reduce that.

This kind of hooning happens during lunch-time during school days or Saturday night in the city.

i get pulled over on a monthly baisis by the same cop to

and the first thing he says is good after noon or morning depending on the time by my first name followed buy going anywhere in a hurry when i was doing the speed limit

ah well why dont they target people in porsche's or VL's or just commodores in general

# Yes, it can only help (48%, 137 Votes)

# No, just crush their cars until they are all gone (52%, 147 Votes)

we need stricter rules for P platers i rekon and they are getting there licences so young these days

thanks for listening

I agree. You can get your l's at 16 and p's at 17 or there abouts but you cant vote or buy grog until your 18. Crazy

But it is a problem that kids who does not respect the road rules, and I don't think that opening a dragway will reduce that.

This kind of hooning happens during lunch-time during school days or Saturday night in the city.

I think that they arent taught to drive properly in the first place. If a defensive driving course (or somthing along those lines) was included in the license test so get shown first hand how easy it is to crash by hitting cones and cardboard cut-outs on a skid pan I think they would have a little more respect for the road rules.

Stephen

I think that they arent taught to drive properly in the first place. If a defensive driving course (or somthing along those lines) was included in the license test so get shown first hand how easy it is to crash by hitting cones and cardboard cut-outs on a skid pan I think they would have a little more respect for the road rules.

Coming from someone who knows exactly how easy it is to disrespect the road rules :D [jokes]

I totally agree with this point, its not about the cars that young "hoons" drive (last time I checked you can still go over 100kmh in a Hyundai Excel aswell as a Skyline or V8 Falcodore).

If the government invested more time and money in to compulsary defensive driver training and skid control courses there would be a steady decline in the amount of "hoon" based accidents.

But instead of doing something about it the government just imposes bans on cars for P platers and buries their heads in the sand (or up their own asses, as politicians usually do).

F_cking pollies give me the sh_ts :P

RANT ON

I cant h help but really angry about this subject.

Qualify or Define Hoons, Mid life Crisis old guys (me), young guys doing the impress for the opposite sex thang. Talking of 10 thou fists ~ I'd like to really fist alot of Australian drivers either in the face or ....... The speed limit needs to be a minimum not the maximum, Drive well or catch a bus, walk or ride your push bike. Stay off the b!tchman.

When did peeeps stop taking responsibilty for them selves. Such a Letigous (legal) society. Teach your kids to stay off the road, look both ways, use the corner for crossing.

I really feel like putting a sticker on my cars both front and back. SLOW VEHICLES use left lane ~ or leave it parked in your Garage your not qualified to drive that metal. Speed kills my ASS its those who cant concentrate and go past there limit. Used to be a 100 miles per hour (160kms) now its 100 kms per hour and 50kms in burbs.

RANT OFF

(for now) take the challenge ~ Flame all you arses !!!!!

PS. Ever heard of natural selection, It applies here!

Edited by Sinista32

Can't believe you guys get hassled so much. I drive about 400Km a week for close to a year and a half in the Skyline and have not been done / targeted once *touchwood*. Been past 6 RBT's in the last few weeks and they've just waived me on and I fit the description perfectly. Male - 18-25, spirited driver, loud exhaust etc etc. Only two times I've been pulled over where I felt I've been targeted have been in commodores... Even coming home from work tonight I was side by side with a marked cop car from the lights at Mawson, eyeballed him and I took off pretty quickly for most peoples standards and nothing?!

Thank god most of the whinging idiots on that website don't make the law. Got a headache reading the first few posts.

Can't believe you guys get hassled so much. I drive about 400Km a week for close to a year and a half in the Skyline and have not been done / targeted once *touchwood*. Been past 6 RBT's in the last few weeks and they've just waived me on and I fit the description perfectly. Male - 18-25, spirited driver, loud exhaust etc etc. Only two times I've been pulled over where I felt I've been targeted have been in commodores... Even coming home from work tonight I was side by side with a marked cop car from the lights at Mawson, eyeballed him and I took off pretty quickly for most peoples standards and nothing?!

Thank god most of the whinging idiots on that website don't make the law. Got a headache reading the first few posts.

You're lucky, I've been approached three times now with my (stock) cars PARKED, twice asking if they could do a rego check of my car. I'm not sure why they asked if I mind, probably because I was parked. I'm in two minds and I try to be understanding as part of me hopes they find some thieving b@stard with a stolen Line, but another part of me has really noticed the way I've been approached (body language, eyeballing etc) until they realise I'm not a youngan (keep in mind they don't look twice when I'm in the Statesman).

Oh and when I say PARKED, I'm not talking odd hours in strange places, I'm talking business hours in shopping carparks. No-one offered to come take obvious fingerprints from Steady's line though when the cesspit dwellers tried to steal it.

I respect the police but I think in that situation I'd at least as "on what grounds?" or "for what purpose?" or I'd say something like "you gonna check that whole row too?" and point at the other cars in the car park. Why check a particular car unless there's been a report of one stolen. GRRR. I HATE unwarranted suspicion. The comment about Eddy's car just backs up what I'm saying. Do the work when there's a point!!!

this topic has so many different perspectives so many people have their different opinions i mean all these people are saying crush their cars but i mean anyone of us can hoon at any time and it can just happen i mean what is considered as hooning? speeding or burnouts in a factory.

If you were purposely in a factory area doing a burn out i see that as hooning i dont see a quick squirt from second gear to fourth really hooning.. i mean i have to much respect for my car to sit there and burn the tires up if they want to stop that behavior then target the Holdens and fords that go to the factory and tear the crap out of their tires. I have been hassled a little in once instance i went to eat on chapple st with a girl so i parked in coles car park it was full of people speeding up and down in their commodores and the odd burn out and cars literally inches from the ground what do they do? straight to my car and doing rego checks and got out and looked under it to see if it was low and checked my tires

Come on man this whole hoon saga started because of all the holdens and fords and occasional skyline that was doing stupid shit and no we are all paying for it and it actually gets me fired up because i cant even give my car a squirt anymore without looking in my rear view to see if im getting reported to dob a hoon hotline i mean i have no fear of police at all ill rock up to cops with music up and smile or wink because my cars stock as a rock now and they cant do anything and if they do its minor.

Edited by _K1NGTR_