Gtr Price Confirmed By Nissan Australia

R34NOS

agreed scathing. I've bought 2 sports cars from the muppets at nissan oz, and it was the worst service I've ever received from any brand - both sales and service. I bought them on the strength of the product that nissan jp developed not due to the amazing value that nissan oz adds driving them off the boat and washing them.

they think we have a short memory I guess. Wonder if they will have to send half of the gtrs back to nissan jp like the did last time due to poor marketing and pricing?

• Replies 83

thats phucn ridiculous...

seriously like adding that much on top of the actual market price we can purchase on from jap for is highway robbery...

how can you be boasting about customer service and unparalleled support when your ripping customers off before it even gets here, who knows how much they'd rip people off who purchase parts direct from nissan oz after the warranty ends

I am not sure that it is such a huge mark-up on a grey import. Based on comments from Prestige Motorsport, it is about 10%.

"The exchange rate at the time of purchase will impact quite a lot on the final price. But as a guide the price for a new R35 GTR including LCT is expected to start from about $135,000 complied, plus tyres and ORC's for a base model. "

I spoke to one of the High Performance Dealers here in WA on Friday. The guy responded within minutes to an email I sent, having received the official Nissan Australia launch email. He was very pleasant but basically clueless. He said they were due to go to Melbourne shortly for a week's course. I think that there would be two people from his dealership going. They get to drive the cars as well as learn the specs, etc.

As for the proud history bit, this guy was happy to tell me that he knew next to nothing about previous models, next to nothing about turbo engines and next to nothing about grey imports and the workshops that support them. He made some comment about how he assumed everyone would support Nissan Australia's strict line on servicing, parts, etc, because you would not want someone who did not know what they were doing working on your car. Well, sorry mate, but if I had a new R35 GTR some time next year and it was presented to a mechanic in your workshop who displayed as little knowledge and interest as you, with a good chance that he had seen very few such cars before, I would assume he had no idea about the thing. I may be lucky if he had serviced some S15s before.

So the choice is:

a) grey import, no support from Nissan Oz but great support from a knowledgeable workshop with an interest and a history in Japanese sports cars, but no access to official software, diagnostic tools, etc. (Pirate versions will come!)

or

B) Official import supported by Nissan Oz with some people who have all the tools but no idea what it is all about.

Don't you think that Nissan Australia could do better to embrace the import workshops and work with them? They might learn something!

Meanwhile, this guy did say that they would have official track days (about two per year) because they have recognised that they would have to do that to compete with BMW and Porsche. He said that they already have a protocol that cars would have to come into the workshop to be set up for the track day and then afterwards to be serviced and returned to road spec. Whatever that means!!

I am also amazed that they are saying that fitting official Nismo bits will void the warranty, even when they fit them!! Do Holden do that with HSV parts? No way. Come on Nissan Australia, one of the attractions of the Skyline is that you can customise the car and the performance. Just look at some of the wonderful cars on this forum. So why should the R35 GTR be any different?

Instead of fighting the import scene, embrace it! Is that too much of a mental shift?

Mind you, guys who sell Patrols and Tiidas cannot be expected to contemplate such things. We are from a different planet as far as they are concerned. It is just unfortunate that we constitute a large part of their potential market!!

Cheers. :D

Edited by MLCrisis

I'm glad those flamin mongrels at Hornsby didn't get it. They left their GT-R sign up for years after the R32 stopped being sold, but they were absolutely no help if you owned a grey or had aftermarket parts.

Ive always found the parts department at hornsby nissan to be more than helpful when ordering parts for grey import model car parts

B rego so that it can be driven to and from workshops (handy if you work at a workshop) and events. Or... Through as a personal import is the only way I know of so that it can be completely road legal (exempt from ADR's)

How?

Um.... he imported one himself and then got someone with access to 25 complience plates (who have been posted on here 11ty times already) to comply it.

If this is what anyone really wants to do I'd suggest giving them a call and seeing if they will do the same and for how much and work backwards from there :P

Has anyone actually signed on the dotted line for a new GTR, put down a deposit and have the RRP GUARANTEED? I think its highly unlikely, no, more like impossible, that the GTR will be sold at the RRP recently announced by Nissan Australia.

The reason is simply the plunging A$. In Sep A$1=between JPY88-90 , on the 1st Oct (just a few days ago) A$1=JPY 82. For those who dont monitor forex rates, today (8th Oct 2008) the A$ went into a free fall vs every currency in the world. Just today it dropped 6 pct vs the JPY and is now A$1=JPY 68. Simply put, in the last one week (yes..one week) the A$ has depreciated by almost 17 pct vs the JPY.

Its simply NOT possible to expect to pay an RRP of around A$152,000 for a GTR. And its not simply multiplying it by 1.17 either as there is a multiplier effect so for every A$1 increase in the fob price, there is the additional increases in taxes, gst and Luxury car taxes etc. You might be looking at a driveaway price closer to A$200,000 but then every imported car (for that matter, anything that is imported) is going to be significantly more expensive with the drop in value of the A$.

Best put your deposit down and get in WRITING a price GUARANTEE, if that is at all possible.

Went in last night to sign and put deposit down....

But due to some other unexplained factors, I have been moved from 6 in WA to 16...... Read into this what you may.....

So delivery will be pushed from Sept 09 to May 2010

Here is the break down of costs I have been given from North side Nissan

Premium Model

$152800

$4990 Metallic Paint

$9990 Super Silver on Base Model $4990 on Premium Model

Dealer Delivery $14990

Stamp Duty $9900

Rego $600

Dealer delivery is high as they "The Dealership" has to cover its costs in training techs and the equipment bought just for this vehicle..

I am now starting to think of other options...

Nissan Australia you once again have bitten the hand that feeds you!

Went in last night to sign and put deposit down....

But due to some other unexplained factors, I have been moved from 6 in WA to 16...... Read into this what you may.....

So delivery will be pushed from Sept 09 to May 2010

Here is the break down of costs I have been given from North side Nissan

Premium Model

$152800

$4990 Metallic Paint

$9990 Super Silver on Base Model $4990 on Premium Model

Dealer Delivery $14990

Stamp Duty $9900

Rego $600

Dealer delivery is high as they "The Dealership" has to cover its costs in training techs and the equipment bought just for this vehicle..

I am now starting to think of other options...

Nissan Australia you once again have bitten the hand that feeds you!

Thats ridiculous. Apparently Syd are doing the same with with their dealer delivery charges.

I have a signed purchase agreement here in Vic for a Premium car (non metallic) at $170,518 drive away. Buy one from Melb and do your 1,000km run in across the Nulla! (Mind you I'd heard they may have now sold allocations out until 2011 here)

Just spoke to Alex at Col Crawford Nissan I believe it is.

Premium Super Silver $168,000 Drive Away.

Inclusive of Dealer Delivery $4995

How places are charging $10,000 more for delivery and nearly 2 grand more for metallic paint is insane!

Now looking around at other dealerships....

Spoken to Greg at Frentree as well as John In Mackay.

Northside is mental.

Just spoke to Troy,

"Just had a customer pay $20,000 to another customer to get higher on the list"

This is becoming a joke.....

yep, if you can lock in a price do it. I do not know what nissnan australias policy is the hedging their forex but they may well have hedged enough currencey as of the price announcement to cover their first years allocation, or they may have a financing deal with nissan japan that does not require them to pay for the cars under certain forex conditions etc. but if not they will have just added nearly 30% of the cost to these cars from this time a month ago purely with the downfall of the AUD. so that either they re-price it up. or they take less profit. or they had already priced enough fat in there to cover things like this. anyway, regardless of that if you are buying one from nissan, try and lock in a price and pay your deposit!

remember the heady days of the dollar at 106 against the Yen :(

all gone.

if i knock all my teeth out and leave 'em under my pillow tonight, you reckon the tooth-fairy will magically make a silver R35 appear in my garage by tomorrow? :D...

Richard,

In paperwork sighted last night,

There is a clause in there that RRP my rise due to FOREX costs etc

So there is no deadset set price.....

nice. sign now, wait 12 to 24 months, and you wear the aussie dollar risk. hmm tempting. especially since $AUD has dropped 30% in 3 months which means the $150k indicative price is now $215k

oh, and they will let 10 more special people in front of you and put your order back 6 months.

if only you could buy one today and get it on the ship without having to go to a nissan stealership.

oh. you can.