Guilt-toy Now Running On E85 !

Made my way to the United servo at Rozelle after work this arvo, first getting confused and stopping at the United at Drummoyne i realised i was at the wrong place lol.. kept going down victoria road and just after the bridge there she was.

I took pics but my stupid ghey phone keeps getting the pics corrupted :D so sorry maybe next time when i am there.

Anyway firstly the guy comes out from the store and says "no you cannot use this" i told him yes i can, and its ok and he said no you cant this for special cars....

So i said to him that i am a tuner and i have it all under control, he then asks me if the car is modified.. after telling him that i can run this fuel he says "if you use this the engine could get damaged" ok mate....

So filling up, was weird seeing the 2 numbers on the bowser stay sooo close to each other... the litres and dollars reminded me of a few years ago.

$62 filled up the tank!!! and it was on the E line.

So i start the car, it starts (still got some bp 98 and she starts properly) by the time i press F1 on the datalogit to connect to the ecu the car starts running like a bag of shit, barely staying alive.

So i go to file and open, and open the .dat file that i created the night before where i guessed the car should run to get me to move it out of the servo and to the side of the road to begin the long night ahead of me i had planned tuning it to be right, after clicking OK the engine just comes back to life and purrs like a kitten, the LAMBDA goes from 1.3 to 0.95 almost instantly and so does the smile across my face :(

The next test was a rev, so i give her a rev, expecting a big lumpy rev of missing cyl's instead i hear the normal roar of the rb30 engine, then the smell of the exaust comes through the window, hmmmm that smells interesting, kinda like the smell of oil in a fry pan thats been sitting there after a few days of being used.

I take off out the driveway and down the road, lambda is sticking at about .98 to 1.02 the whole time, not a miss or a cough or a struggle in sight.

I was very pleased with myself, my guess tunes are getting pretty accurate these days.

On the way home i pulled over and chucked on my newly aquired Gizzmo KMON, loaded the software and put my head phones on, got some weird looks from people but at this stage i was too excited to care, i jumped into the timing map, highlighed the whole map and gave her a whole 10deg timing over the whole scale.

Set the gizzmo to record and went for a drive, car felt more responsive then before, felt like boost was commin on quicker, played back the quick drive and the knock did not go over 14, which is quite low for my RB30DET, so up goes another 10 deg over the whole map, i adjusted the idle back down 20deg, went for a drive and she is more responsive again! I could not believe it!

I was kinda thinking on the way home maybe the fuel i got is not e85, because i was thinking it cannot be that easy to convert over, untill i looked at the thermocouple EGT sensor and noticed exaust gas temps are down by a fair amount... ok it must be the real deal.

I noticed the cruise ign maps were set to 55deg so i dropped them down to around 48 to 50 in some parts and came home.

I walked to the back of the car and gave the exaust a quick whiff, it smells weird... more so like heated air then anything else, it seems very very clean.... I also noticed the exaust note sounded deeper and tougher, I am not sure why this happened.

So my conclusion is, BRING ON E85, I will dyno the sucker this weekend at newcastle, will fill up again on thursday night and fill up with the 20 litre container i have sittin in the back of the car incase i run out,

Getting ready for my emissions test on the 15th of october.. I would still LOVE to try the im240 with no cat converter but lets see what happens first before i go pulling off some tests like that.

Next test will be the cold start in the morning when i go to work!

bkjh

No need, you have a world of headroom with e85

yes i agree, however i have no idea if i am already using that headroom already.

so for a drag event, or dyno event would the addition of octane booster really harm anything?

Just for even more headroom?

You dont need it mate. Unless you are running 3 bar of boost :thumbsup:

Your tuner would know how far to push it. And definitely wouldnt be anywhere near the point of needing octane booster.

from what ive seen E85 is on par with racefuel up to 30psi...its beyond this that the racefuel takes the lead in the power stakes.

Can you guys confirm if E85 meets this definition? At the moment I think not due to the number of sites:

Pump Fuel: A commercial fuel (as defined above) available for sale on demand from a roadside retail bowser

outlet at each of at least five separate service stations in each of at least three Australian States.

Duncan, is my understanding correct that for CAMS purposes, "available for sale from a roadside retail bowser outlet" just means that the outlet has to be able to offer it for sale? I.e. that it doesn't have to be in a bowser?

Hmm I think I may be on the threshold of detonation as the tuner backed some timing off slightly as it pinged a bit

therefore detonation could occur with me that's why I just need to know if it would harm anything if I added some octane booster for track work. Whether I need it or not.

I like my car pinging sometimes it sounds cool, especially when I run bout 50psi

FFS I asked a simple question and wanted a yes no answer, instead of "you don't need it" can a just get an answer without having to sit here and bullshit and make stories up to fish an answer? Lol fffuuuuuuu

and yes e85 can detonate, anything can detonate it's still a fuel in the end, it still has a limit and it's only 110 octane max not 4 gazzilion octane

So it wont harm afrs or anything

lol thanks that wasnt that hard was it? Faaaarrrk

Unigroup wont answer their fone, and sau sux

i seriously dont know what everyones problem is

If it harmed afrs then noone could use it.

You havent specified what octane booster you are talking about. If it is 108 octane booster then adding 108 into 110 octane fuel is not going to help is it.

If you take the time to spell out your scenario people will take the time to help you out.

Reason i ask is because E85 has a less tolerance to contamination so iv heard. What i think is by adding anything to E85 it could slightly change the ratio of ethanol:petrol hence change the way it burns, it doesnt affect regular fuel as much as it would on E85

Anyway something to think about i hate typing on the iphone so apologies if im not clear.

Also the E85 that u buy in drums of 200L is apparently different and has a higher octane rating than the stuff from the pump as drum fuel is blended with 98octane fuel, pump E85 is blended with 91 unleaded