Well I found one on carsales (see link):

What do you guys think? approach with caution?

It seems to look well maintained and clean, though I thought V spec II's went for at least 25k+????

http://www.carsales.com.au/pls/carsales/...icle_id=5620658

I have seen this car for sale on the site for many many months now, and I know you have to get it checked out in person but what do you guys think?

i am noob to skylines

Tom :banana:

Get everything checked out by a mechanic. If it passes then it might be a cheap vspec 2 but i wouldnt buy anything like that without getting everything checked over

^^so if i am interested in buying a GTR (I know you need to spend money and i do have a budget)

I shouldnt bother? it looks clean.... though who knows... arrrg.... what would you do? would you just say buy a standard 32 gtr?

well for me i wouldnt buy a vspec 2 unless you plan to keep it stock and look after it for a future money making endevour because as you mod it it isnt worth as much.

I was in your situation a few weeks ago between a vspec and a normal r32 gtr and chose the normal r32 gtr because its a cheaper base model for basically the same thing. In the end you will pretty much change everything that makes a vspec 2 a vspec 2.

I would alwasy buy a stock r32 gtr as that way you can build it up your way with all the parts you want and know the exact condition of everything

Just my 2 cents

Edited by babyskyline

hmmm true..... true....Though maybee thats why this is the way it is at this price? and it has been well looked after with modifications to wheels so he knows its lost face value and also the boost controller in cabin... hmmm its a really tough decision I know now babyskyline :banana:

Just go and have a look at it. Talk to the owner, see if hes got all the receipts etc and get a mechanic to inspect. At the end of the day the worst that can happen is its a lemon and you end up buying a stock gtr. Or you get a nice deal on a V Spec II. Really there isn't a whole lot of difference from the V Specs and the non v specs. I think you get upgraded brakes n steel wheeled turbos? and a few other goodies.

No point in sitting there wondering just go and have a look. :banana:

All you get between a r32 gtr and a vspec is brembo brakes, 17 inch bbs rims and faster 4wd system.

NO STEEL WHEEL TURBOS.

Edited by babyskyline

Personally, with a R32 and 33's now... better to buy a modified one.

Preferably with a built motor, and from a workshop thats reputable with RB's and so on.

Old RB26's don't take well to modification, motors are tired, turbos can let go (and kill the motor), everything is just about worn or in need of replacement.

So pickup a bargin by spending a few thousand more, and save your self 10's of thousands later

... check for rust?

You can do that whilst your mechanic goes over the engine and...

Your panelbeater friend checks for damage.

Logs?

Will the owner let you put it up on a hoist?

Cause its a 32 its pretty hard to tell even if it looks immaculate. Its quite easy to refabricate the seats or even strip seats from another well maintained GTR, dashes etc, theres plenty of parts for the 32 in circulation so its best to either take someone that knows skylines very well with you and have a look as well as mechiancs etc the whole shebang.

Or if you have a reputable mechanic or workshop you prefer and trust then some private sellers don't mind if you tell them to drop it off at a place (if your seriously intrested in purchasing it) Although im guessing you already would have thought of this?

Other than that, the only things you can do yourself, is check for rusting, paint peeling, seat wear, steering wheel wear, carpet wear etc. I'ts tough cause these cars arnt exactly new so even a well kept 32 can still look a bit shabby in stock form.

If you have test driven a few other GTR's before or seen a few other 32's in person that would be a good platform to judge the one you wish to purchase since it gives you an understanding to whats a model you stear clear of and whats one youd pick up.

As for my own exp i thought i was getting a good deal with my first black R34 until i bought my white R34 and drove plenty of others inbetween that time. The more i drove and saw etc, the more simple the choice was to pick out the better models in the crowd. Although i admit picking out a 34 would be much easier in general than a 32. Good luck.

That car has been for sale for a while.

Very first thing i would do is get the VIN and make sure it is a genuine V-Spec.

The thing you also need to keep in mind, is weather it's right ot not, alot of people look for the more limited versions of a car when it comes to buying, and a V-spec is definitely more limited. Something to note ehen it comes time to re-sell.

one of the most important things to look at when buying a car is the owner.

from looking at the mods and the ad I'd guess that car is owned by a fairly young guy with not too much cash and fairly questionable taste. and lives in a lets say 'less desirable' area. I mean he's fitted 19inch cheap chrome wheels to a 32 GTR. that kind of thing only appeals to the younger hektic crew. these are not the kind of guys you want to buy a GTR from.

I would be wanting to buy one from a slightly older guy (say 25+) who chose mods in keeping with the spirit of the car (like nice 17 or 18inch forged light weight wheels) and other quality parts. and had the money to be able to have the car really well looked after.

that car would not be at the top of my list if looking for a 32 GTR.

This car is parked 2 streets away from me all day every day, It looks very good just from walking past etc and seems to be well looked after.

The guy does not live in Lidcombe its just his work address. I would honestly say its worth a look well from the outside it is thats for sure.

Yes in general look at the person who is selling the car but not always, remember people of all ages can be an enthusiast not just a hoon. Im 21 and have a R34 GTR after just selling my fully stickered dead original Tommi Mak evo. Dont let anything else sway your decision except the car its self.

one of the most important things to look at when buying a car is the owner.

from looking at the mods and the ad I'd guess that car is owned by a fairly young guy with not too much cash and fairly questionable taste. and lives in a lets say 'less desirable' area. I mean he's fitted 19inch cheap chrome wheels to a 32 GTR. that kind of thing only appeals to the younger hektic crew. these are not the kind of guys you want to buy a GTR from.

I would be wanting to buy one from a slightly older guy (say 25+) who chose mods in keeping with the spirit of the car (like nice 17 or 18inch forged light weight wheels) and other quality parts. and had the money to be able to have the car really well looked after.

that car would not be at the top of my list if looking for a 32 GTR.

100% with Rich on this.....

Dont see how mate, Im 21 and have a R34 GTR. If im going to sell it am i supose to get me dad to do it?

Look at the car.

This guy could own his own company make heaps of money and love the car you never know.

He could also be an alien, you never know....

Never is a long time.

The 'age' of a person is worth noting, along with thier background. With a general line of questioning you can get a feel for people being false to you and also understand what sort of attitude they may have to the treatment of the car. It is the same as looking at the people who service the car.

I usually invite the owner to take me for a drive and I don't say anything but, just observe the driving behaviour. In many cases the younger blokes try to impress you with both thier driving skill and how fast the car can go. A good way to determine if the car is getting it's neck wrung.

Thorough testing of the mechanicals is a must for the purchase of an older GTR.

In terms of wanting a quicker sale for your GTR I would actually suggest having your dad sell it. People sadly do judge you by your age alone because of the other young people that aren't like you. An older seller will attract more inquiry.

Edited by rev210

Yeah i know what your saying but no one ever knows how old you are unitl they acutally come to your house, Who knows this guy could be 40!

End of the day judge the car, not the owner.

Sure ring and ask all the usual questions first, service, accidents, what needs doing etc etc but really the car is the determining factor not how old he is.