Being a nice warm day/night decided to go down to lapa with a few friends in our cars, and on the way there we see a fairly heavy police presence on the roads, (fair enough) as where approaching the shipping wards we see half a dozen cars pulled over by highway patrol, so we slow down and continue maybe 50m down the road i see the lights turn on behind me. i immediately stop and the cop comes out asking me why i had my fog lights on? (behind me to the right a corolla and crv both having fog lights on and they just drove past. just before they pulled me over), dats f*&ken fair. You all know foreshore rd/botany rd no lights nothing and now with roads works the road is worse than ever, the stock s2 fog lights are far from strong and on a road that has no lighting and such a shit surface i dont see the problem do you? Its getting to the point where we cant even drive our cars on the roads without the fear getting hassled by cops for sumtimes f*^k all reason just for the fact of having a performance car.(not condoning being di%ks on the roads) i copped a $81 fine for it lucky ive got a clear record or who knows what they could have added to the list swirving around pot holes. its just a F&^ken joke. i think we should do sumtin about this and set sum clear guide lines to what is legal anymore one set of rule for your camry driver and a complete other for skylines etc.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/241843-its-becoming-a-f-joke/

• Replies 56

Would you rather pull over a 45 year old guy in a CRV, and have to deal with the disapproving glare when you hand over the meagre fine for a stupid offence - or would you rather pull over a young bloke who you know wont look at you the wrong way for fear of his car being defected. He gets to feel like a big man that way.

You should know better than to drive around that area in a skyline anyway. I'm from sydney, and even I know that its not a good idea!

If it's not foggy then you should not be using your fog lights. PERIOD.

I hate SS Commodore drivers who are notorious for turning on there fog lamps in perfectly clear weather conditions.

If you give the Police a reason to pull you over they will. Don't bring it upon yourself

Edited by Jpower
Would you rather pull over a 45 year old guy in a CRV, and have to deal with the disapproving glare when you hand over the meagre fine for a stupid offence - or would you rather pull over a young bloke who you know wont look at you the wrong way for fear of his car being defected. He gets to feel like a big man that way.

You should know better than to drive around that area in a skyline anyway. I'm from sydney, and even I know that its not a good idea!

that's exactly my point because of my car im restricted to where i should and shouldn't drive my car! that's f*&ken bullshit. i wasnt doing anything wrong and i still get F&^ked over then they wonder where all the frustration comes from heres a perfect example.

They are keeping cars like ours away from the area for a reason - whether it be a valid or reasonable reason, thats another question. Most of the time it's because of tossers playing into the stereotype that the police love to hate. I reckon your anger is best directed towards the people that cause imports to be looked at badly in the first place, rather than at the cops trying to keep you away for whatever reason :(

At the end of the day, it's only an $80 fine. You've still got your licence and a roadworthy car!

If you have a look at siddr20's avatar (a few posts up), fog lights are the clear lights next to the indicator.

On other cars, you could say that fog lights are any light other than the headlight cluster that shine from the front of the car. They can be yellow green or multicoloured, doesnt matter.

i don't know this bullshit about where we should and shouldn't drive our cars at certain times and so on is just aggravating the problem and making the whole import/performance car scene worse for everyone i don't condone breaking the law by any means but i don't see why we cant gather as car enthusiasts and enjoy each others car without doing anything wrong. this seems to be wrong now with the cops making it fu$ked for us to even be on the roads anymore.

I am about to say something that you might not agree with. Believe me when I say that it is not a personal attack against you, but rather, I've owned performance cars for a while and I wish that someone could have told me these sorts of things so that I could have avoided some of the things I've come across.

You've said that you weren't doing anything wrong. Fact of the matter is according to the law, you were. Whether you call them fog lights or driving lights, they should not have been on. I beleive that the law on fog lights is fair if you actually understood the physical light properties of a fog light. If you notice, fog lights do not really have much of a cut off - as such, from a distance, at night, they are at least as glary or suprisingly glarier than your normal headlights. BUT, even though they are glary, they have bugger all useable light output since they are basically so low and aimed at the ground. Try going onto a pitch black private racetrack or airstrip (off road) at night with your head lights off and see how far you can see - now start driving, bit faster, bit faster - as you reach about 20-30 ks, you realise you can't see far enough ahead to be able to see anything.

Fog lights are really only effective where fog is that heavy that you have your fog lights on and drive about 10km/hr. They do not supplement your vision at all in clear weather, and they do glare other drivers.

Whenever I drive my skyline, I try not to give people a reason to pull me over - i.e. not using fog lights, not honking excessively, not swerving around, not accelerating quickly WHEN PEOPLE CAN SEE ME. What you do when people can't see you is another matter.

Also, if you want to drive around to a place where people can see you and your car, that's fair enough. There are plenty of those places around. Pick one where other modified cars don't go - not only will it make your car cooler, you won't get targeted by the cops.

You've said that you were swerving around and driving with foglights on - unfortunately, driving this sort of car, it's asking for the cops to get ya.

Lastly, how you act when you get pulled over makes all the difference in the world. I drove through an RBT on a saturday night in the city in my skyline (for those that have know me, you'll know I have a few interesting parts on my car). I had come from work so i was still in my suit, I was polite, went straight through, no questions. Right in front of me was another car - being inspected and the works. As I drive past, I see some bogan wigger with his cap on.....

Edited by MANWHORE

"You've said that you were swerving around and driving with fog lights on - unfortunately, driving this sort of car, it's asking for the cops to get ya."

i was just trying to avoid the pot holes just moving slightly within my lane and that was well before i got to them but i understand your point and agree. i was polite referring to him as sir and no back talk and so on and there was just zero understanding when i told him why i had them on due to no street lights whatsoever and shocking road surface. having owned a few performance cars i wonder if its worth it anymore i mean unless your a millionaire with your own track and don't wont to thrash your car at wsid there is no more room for you in society anymore its gotten to the point where you drive around like a criminal watching your back all the time just in case there up your ass with there lights on. its just not enjoyable anymore. i think that's what they want to do but it will cause a lot of anger if it gets any worse.

I do feel for ya matey and I understand that you'd probably be feeling angry/upset and probably some combination inbetween. I definitely get what you are saying about cops being more strick with modified cars. I mean the cops are definitely about 10 times more strict with performance car owners and 'standard' cars will get away with doing a lot more.

But you get what I was trying to say about trying to at least minimise the reasons they have to target you. There is a reasonable possibility that you wouldn't have been pulled over if you didn't have your fogs on.

I'm sure you were being polite. i've been pulled over and defected for everything under the sun before while being probably more polite than i've ever been in my life.

All you can do is try and minimise the number of reasons that a cop has to target you and you will be done a lot less and enjoy your car more. On the plus side, you weren't defected.

I personally feel that it is worth owning a performance car for me. For me, I enjoy cars - I will probably keep driving a modified car - possibly the car I have now for a long long time.

One of the best things i've done so far is gotten a daily driver. It's made me appreciate my car so much more - when I get into my car on the weekend, I feel like i'm driving a supercar. it's suprisingly not really any more expensive. What ever money rego and insurance costs, is most likely saved in less fuel consumption in the daily. Plus, it's just good driving that to work and to the shops knowing that I'm not going to get door dented by some granny or keyed, or broken into, or more importantly, defected if i'm in the city on a weekend night.

Edited by MANWHORE