:thumbsup:

Will never happen. EOI does not = numbers.

You keep beating that dead horse ... you'll end up beating your head against a wall. There is a new motorsport park in the works. In a few years we might have more opportunity. But right now? ... nope.

ok point taken sorry bout the thread. i promise it wont be talked about by me again :)

• Replies 100

first off, welcome mate.

It is a good idea you have........if you were in any other state than SA. Authorities here pretty much hate anything to do with imports/racing in this state. But hey, if youthink you can get something going, call some councils, tell them you have lots of interest, could help revenue blah blah and see how you go.

Oh and ignore the shit givers, they play nice most of the time :thumbsup:

omg i didnt know there where so many pussy's out there, you keep complaining about getting harrased by the police, well why dont we do something about it lets start a petition to show the support the import scene has and then we can go to the councils about the track idea and if they arnt interested we take our story to 60mins and today tonight etc because they have been calling for our side of the story for ages now. so if all your going to do is complain do it somewhere else and dont waste micks time!!. and by the way micks one of my groomsmen and also a best mate hes not a cop (he eats with cutlery)

ps im in mate lol.

ill give ya a call in about half an hour and we can start organising this.

feels similar to the situation a few years back! the reason why nothing is done about it is because let's see......... you're not the only person who thought about it and there were some people who tried to do something but guess what? shut down that's why i feel it's just a waste of time!

and for a note it's because of the idiots who give us import divers a bad name in the import scene which rubs off on the rest who don't do crazy shit in the suburbs and put innocent lives at risk! that's why the cops hassel us

and 60 mins wants our side of the story? oh please........ what do you think would make better head lines? import drivers want a safe environment to practice their motorsports on public roads or hoon trying to push council for hooning behaviour on public roads! or some shit like that

Edited by nos man

ah we can dream at the possibility of a NFSU2 style world but it's not going to happen. not anywhere near people who could get hurt. you want this you need to think country and mallala fits the description fairly well even though it's pretty masic and unexploratory but I guess that's what cruising is for

There is a big difference between complaining and stating facts.

All I keep hearing alot is "I want, I want, I want"

If you're going to go head on into such a petition without having hard facts to back it up, its just going to fall down.

The guys here are just tired of getting their hopes up and nothing comes out of it. So I wouldn't go calling people pussies ... what have you done about it?

Its simple economics, Clem keeps days limited to keep the demand high. Higher demand means a guarantee to fill spots when he does open his gates.

I'm a race official and I take part in some of the biggest events in Australia. There is alot of work that goes on behind the scenes of any big race day ... or even a small track day. If the support is not there, we don't open our gates. If you want more track/drift days at Mallala, then sign up to be a marshall or just a volunteer helping hand. Race officials are always looking for extra hands. You can't just expect the gates to be open when you want them to be, and not lift a finger to help the organisers get the manpower behind the event.

You're like a bunch of school kids playing cricket: everyone wants to bat, but no one wants to field. See what I'm getting at?

A petition does not equal manpower. Contact Clem and ask about what is required to get more days. Can you provide the manpower? Can you provide guaranteed numbers to make it worthwhile opening the gates? Instead of beating yourself or them over the head with a petition, just ask!

Edited by RubyRS4
feels similar to the situation a few years back! the reason why nothing is done about it is because let's see......... you're not the only person who thought about it and there were some people who tried to do something but guess what? shut down that's why i feel it's just a waste of time!

and for a note it's because of the idiots who give us import divers a bad name in the import scene which rubs off on the rest who don't do crazy shit in the suburbs and put innocent lives at risk! that's why the cops hassel us

and 60 mins wants our side of the story? oh please........ what do you think would make better head lines? import drivers want a safe environment to practice their motorsports on public roads or hoon trying to push council for hooning behaviour on public roads! or some shit like that

like i said if your not gonna be helpfull then shutup and go somewhere else hes trying to get intrest so that something gets done! and yes they do want our side of the story theres big public intrest in this topic. and the title would go something like this CAR ENTHUSIUSTS WANT TO MAKE THE STREETS SAFER. he has said nothing about taking this to the streets (wow not only are you thick but also illiterate) he wants there to be a safe (off the street) environment to enjoy the motorSPORT called drifting, just like how they have football fields for SPORT and etc. the cops can still go hastling hoons but if they sit outside a known safe spot to harrass you then the public would soon find out what adelaide cops are really all about (hence we win again). all the points aahh31 has made are valid and should be supported, otherwise i will lose my respect for the imort scene, i wont have anything to do with people that wont support there fellow enthusiusts. wow now im tierd lol think ill go give my hands a warm shower :). also sorry if i offended people but if your not going to do anything about it you have no right to complain.

About 7 or so years ago, motorcyclists using the roads at Eagle on the Hill had a bad rep. Residents were calling the cops onto us every bloody night. But we were persistent and remained "cruising" (not racing) that stretch of road (especially when it was 80kph limited) and the cops kept a close eye on us. In the end, the cops were tired of being called out onyl to find us obeying the law and using area for its intended purpose.

Residents took matters into their own hands can started putting fish hooks into the guard rail (where we sat), throwing rocks at our bikes, gathering a posse and blocking the exits to the carpark while they verbally abused us, even pouring oil on sections of the roads. One night two riders got attacked. We took to the media to give our side of the story. I gave a story to the local Messenger and it was big talk on the radio the next day. The MRA and Police stepped in and did a joint investigation and (shock) it was found over a 2 month period that only 1 motorcyclists committed an offence, yet the residents (and cars in general) were the primary traffic offenders.

The positive image only lasted about 6 months (you might remember those motorcycle safety ads) but it was better than being seen as an outlaw 24/7.

I say go for it. Get your story into the media, but try to present it meaningfully. Don't go pointing the finger saying "the cops pick on us" etc etc, because you'll only look like cry babies. Be constructive in presenting us as any regular road user.

OK OK OK. when i started thi topic i did so to get a better feel for ppls attitudes towards it... there is a lot of tempers flaring up about it and it tells me there is intrest but ppl today are either just complaining with no intention of doing any thing, or dont care...

what ever happend to the doers out there.. in another thred i said im going to be a dad, part of the reoson behind this thread is that i want my kids to be safe on the streets, but to do yhis we need to be more like the other states and give the scene a bit of a shake up.. a few years back i did th ewrong thing on the street in my car, i got busted by the fuzz and lost my licence for a while, i was pissed off about it. the point im trying to make is , yes it has been tried befor and yes it failed. but if we keep trying we may end up like the other states and have a bit more of a choice where we go. as RUBY_RS4 put it we can do something it just has to be presented the right way.. im not blaming any one group for any thing and i dont want to argue about it with ppl i dont know but i am going to look for a way to set up ( or at least try) some thing that shows the general public that not all import drivers want to be idiots and that we dont think the streets arre like the games out there..

i will do some more reserch and get back to you all

WATCH THIS SPACE

Hey mate welcome first...

We are all on the same team here.

This is nothing new in our scene.... approx ten years ago a large number of us including SMASA and import clubs got together with police and tried to involve the minister for transport etc to get answers on track facilities and defect laws aswell. Due to typical beurocratic bollox we got nowhere.

All the best, and if you can get this up and running I am sure you will have all our support. peace.

Hey mate welcome first...

We are all on the same team here.

This is nothing new in our scene.... approx ten years ago a large number of us including SMASA and import clubs got together with police and tried to involve the minister for transport etc to get answers on track facilities and defect laws aswell. Due to typical beurocratic bollox we got nowhere.

All the best, and if you can get this up and running I am sure you will have all our support. peace.

now we are getting some where :( ten years ago you say?........well maybe we should try again? there is a lot of thing against the idea but there is alot of stuff for it as well. i am going to go to my local council member for advice about how to set up a hearing for a proposal and find out what needs to be put on the table for them to say yes to it... a few ppls support in it would be needed and then we can get the ball rolling

thanks for your time to every one!

There is a big difference between complaining and stating facts.

All I keep hearing alot is "I want, I want, I want"

If you're going to go head on into such a petition without having hard facts to back it up, its just going to fall down.

The guys here are just tired of getting their hopes up and nothing comes out of it. So I wouldn't go calling people pussies ... what have you done about it?

Its simple economics, Clem keeps days limited to keep the demand high. Higher demand means a guarantee to fill spots when he does open his gates.

I'm a race official and I take part in some of the biggest events in Australia. There is alot of work that goes on behind the scenes of any big race day ... or even a small track day. If the support is not there, we don't open our gates. If you want more track/drift days at Mallala, then sign up to be a marshall or just a volunteer helping hand. Race officials are always looking for extra hands. You can't just expect the gates to be open when you want them to be, and not lift a finger to help the organisers get the manpower behind the event.

You're like a bunch of school kids playing cricket: everyone wants to bat, but no one wants to field. See what I'm getting at?

A petition does not equal manpower. Contact Clem and ask about what is required to get more days. Can you provide the manpower? Can you provide guaranteed numbers to make it worthwhile opening the gates? Instead of beating yourself or them over the head with a petition, just ask!

:(

i have tried this all before and i was turned away and told that 1 or 2 people cant change the world i needed to come back with a petition with more backing to show my support, so im all for it if this time we can atleast get support unlike other car scenes eg(domestics), and as for mallalah i dont really like the joint i would rather a purpose built track and practice area. and as aahh31 said at the beginning charging an entrace fee would cover the supervision and upkeep, it just needs to be a place thats open for drifters more than once a month even just once a week would be enough maybee on a saturday? or sunday?. and sorry for getting pissed of and calling people pussies but thats how they come accross sitting behind there computers and complaining, at least ive gone out and tried and now im gonna help aahh31 do the same but properly this time.

and as for the cricket comment i would be more than happy to help build and upkeep the track as long as we were able to use it on a regular basis. otherwise you sound like a pretty smart bloke maybe we could get more advice from you as your in the motorsport industy.

All you really need to do is organise using an existing venue (like Mallala). Get in contact with Clem and just ask him what he requires (number of volunteers, supporting body/club to run the event, and most importantly numbers of drivers) to get the gates open. Ask him if he'd be willing to try a once-off 'extra' drift/track day to see what numbers it would generate, to see if its worth his time (and money really ... he pays insurance and land taxes etc ... and organise an ambulance). He may ask you to firstly, get a group together and pay a hire fee for the whole day (and split it among those who turn up ... the more the cheaper) and you organise your own marshalls and ambulance for the day. If he can see a good number to warrant trial running a few extra days/nights, then he may just do that. Taking a petition in hand while asking for a trial would go a long way.

When you prove yourself with an existing venue (when the new venue planned opens next year or year after), that would look good for you to secure dates at the new venue.

If you have any questions along the way of getting an "SAU track day" happening, just ask me or anyone here. By now, if you look at the posts of some members, you'd work out who the helpful guys and gals are.

:(

A purpose built track at torrens island has been rumoured, which sparked a bit of interest, but nothing concrete yet.

and as for "i would be more than happy to help build and upkeep the track as long as we were able to use it on a regular basis", it is far far more complex than that, your looking at state government funding, qualified people to design and build the track, insurance costs, etc etc. I see your drive, but i the stadium cash is going into the new oval at this stage, if you wanted to put in a proposal youd be waiting until at least 2012 before you could even drive on the new track. Best outcome in my opinion is to get more frequent use out of either Port Gawler or Mallala.

As already mentioned (and also now by Damo), seek to use existing venues like Mallala. But don't approach it in an "I want (track days)" fashion, rather ask what the venue owners want from us in order to open their gates.

how many ppl would be up for that. from what i understand most track days have limits on the amount of cars, and they book out really quick. if there were more days open would it minimise the dick heads on the streets .... i think it would, that may cause less police fines for all of us!!

Every one knows (or should know) that no matter how many tracks the gov builds/opens, nothings going to stop the 'hoons' from 'hooning' on the streets. Track = no adrenaline rush (sorry, but for me, driving/drifting around and around and around in a big circle just isnt for me), and theres no thrill of getting caught by the popo, in the end u dont havta pay to drag, drift or race on the street, so u will always have hoons and dick heads!

My 2c.

like i said if your not gonna be helpfull then shutup and go somewhere else

(wow not only are you thick but also illiterate)

otherwise i will lose my respect for the imort scene, i wont have anything to do with people that wont support there fellow enthusiusts.

lol at Bib & Bub coming on here and alienating our regulars...........you don't get that privilege until you've clocked up a few posts mate otherwise you'll feel like a dick if you attend any of our cruises/events...............and it's not very wise to go alienating people you've never met