Is there anyone willing to look through some pics I have of the car, engine, parts etc that can maybe help me out and let me know what would need to be changed to pass over pits here in wa? If ur keen let me know and i can pm or email u pics and receipts of mods done cheers!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/243659-buying-modd-34-from-victoria/

dude just use your common sense...cos its really just a matter of the 'luck of the draw' when it comes to the pits...

car will have to be i good and tidy running order...no leaks, creaks or other shit...

basic factory things like windscreen sparyers, reverse lights etc. have to be working

basic mods like FMIC, strut braces, quite after market exhaust should be able to pass without to much of an issue..

but obviously screamer pipes, loud exhausts, 2 way lsds, coilovers etc will get you a big ass fail.

do a search cos im sue this has been covered heaps and yeh just use your brain...may have to put it over twice...but ull get there eventually

yeh i see what ur sayin but because there are mods etc such as FMIC being big i heard it wont pass? i duno about passin modd'd cars which is why im askin if anyone can help take a quick look, exhuast is loud i been told, previous owner got done for it once in victoria. Maybe borrow exhaust or stick silencer? i duno. But yeh ill search some pages also. cheers bud

just get a list of all the mods

coz its not as bad as everyone makes it out to be

fmic will pass

getting very expensive these days though

pit inspection is up to 83.50 now days and 13$ for temp permit

exhaust just throw in some fly screen and silencer (if the silencer alone wont suffice)

if the inspector ask, just say u got it like that lol

Julz talk to Phil from Phil's mechanical. He complied my car and thats all he does now. He is really helpful. When he complied my car he pulled off all aftermarket parts and chucked on stock ones. I passed no probs and i dont think anyone has failed under him. Then he just puts the parts back on. His number is 9250 3069

I got my 34 from VIC and was a simple easy task just make sure u ask for pic's everywhere under the cat egnine any dents

If you want call rac to go check it over their once done arrange to send it over

Make sure right a personal contract YOU to HIM

Stating u paided a deposit ur name his name the account the car engine number i mean everything writting on this contract fax / email to him to sign then u sign.

if u need help let me know :P

Coilovers isnt an instant fail..... Neither is a 2way lsd. Both are perfectly legal.

yes i know some ppl have passed with coilovers... but generally decent coilovers are very stiff and stiff suspension, with little give, will not pass (i know cos i've tried twice to get a car over running coilovers). And im pretty certain 2 ways are illegal, they're a pretty 'race spec' mod that can make a cars handling quite dangerous on the road, so i don't know why they would be legalised (but perhaps once again you could get away with it if the inspector didnt notice it was there :banana: )

I personally know one of the head inspectors at the pits and coilovers are not illegal. Most "decent" coilovers are damper adjustable (bump and rebound) and should be fine. As long as you have them set at legal limits when you go over the pits, thats 100mm from the lowest point of the car and i forget the exact measurement but i think its 600mm from the bottom of the headlights. If you have a super clunky 2 way then youll probably get picked up on it but having a 2 way in general isnt illegal. A locked diff is illegal obviously.

How you think a 2 way is dangerous on the road is beyond me, and what coilovers were you running?

Cheers everyone! Pat might be worth givin that bloke a call thanks buddy.

Na no coilvers just different springs etc but its not too low anyway, shouldnt be a problem.

Cheers ricca, racv did an inspection today ill find out shortly how that went. and yeh ill try sort out proper contract i have most pics of car already, just none underneath the car yet. ill organise them, car is being bought through a dealer but i managed to search and find the previous owners number and he told me pretty much everything about the car and couple things the dealer didnt. which was helpful. he just said if i could get it roadworthy without problems that i should buy it cos he was really confident about he condition etc. Sounded genuine and dont think he'd bullshet me cos he doesnt own it anymore.

Anyway pics and mod list still up for viewing if anyone is keen. thanks everyone!

Cheers everyone! Pat might be worth givin that bloke a call thanks buddy.

Na no coilvers just different springs etc but its not too low anyway, shouldnt be a problem.

Cheers ricca, racv did an inspection today ill find out shortly how that went. and yeh ill try sort out proper contract i have most pics of car already, just none underneath the car yet. ill organise them, car is being bought through a dealer but i managed to search and find the previous owners number and he told me pretty much everything about the car and couple things the dealer didnt. which was helpful. he just said if i could get it roadworthy without problems that i should buy it cos he was really confident about he condition etc. Sounded genuine and dont think he'd bullshet me cos he doesnt own it anymore.

Anyway pics and mod list still up for viewing if anyone is keen. thanks everyone!

Thats Good to hear mate i got mine over in DEC 07 lol brang it over the pits once didnt pass due to oil leak and no trend my bad!

havent been over since still got the VIC plates but rego finish's this month so bring it of as we speak! so might see you their ahah

my falcon still has tassie plates on it, I've had it here since january

I think they give you a month to change it but no one has said anything to me.

when i took my car over the pits in Tassie all the guy looked at was the lights and horn and wrote down Vin and engine numbers lol, My road bike was the same.

man i was expecting they dudes at the pits to massively fail my car coz basically everything in the car was aftermarket. just had to take off blow off valve (eventhough it was legal), take off racing pedals and increase the height!

By law they gave you 3 months but now you carnt drive at all really i ahve been pulled over i just bullshatted saying that its rego'd Pits said it was fine they check the rego still vaild 4 a yr did nt do anything BUT 2 be safe im getting it done asap!

I personally know one of the head inspectors at the pits and coilovers are not illegal. Most "decent" coilovers are damper adjustable (bump and rebound) and should be fine. As long as you have them set at legal limits when you go over the pits, thats 100mm from the lowest point of the car and i forget the exact measurement but i think its 600mm from the bottom of the headlights. If you have a super clunky 2 way then youll probably get picked up on it but having a 2 way in general isnt illegal. A locked diff is illegal obviously.

How you think a 2 way is dangerous on the road is beyond me, and what coilovers were you running?

was running GAB's (not the best coil overs i know) but they are height, damper and camber adjustable but the inspector (who was a prick) insisted that there wasnt enough give in them and that i needed to change suspension. A 2 way isnt dangerous in the hands of an experianced driver (which can be said for a lot of 'illegal' modifications) but ultimately it is a tool that is unnecassary for a car which is supposedly only used as a vehicle to transport one from A to B (which in the eyes of the govt is all cars should be used for). 2 ways get both wheels spinning under acceleration and decceleration which is great for drifting or track work but surley this could be percieved by authorities to be a dangerous item when used incorrectly, over zealously, irresponsibly or in inclement weather conditions (ie. rain). Your probably right, 2 ways probably are legal, and it would figure considering the vast inconsistancies in legislation regarding vehicle modification, but it just seems to me that when you go to the lengths of prohibiting things such as carbon fibre bonnets and roll cages becasue of their potential harm, it seems only logical that 2 ways would be banned as well??