The guys i'm talking about are:

Prestige Detailers

Unit 1/ 6 Armiger Crt Holden Hill SA 5088 - map

In Yellow pages, is a second detailer, maybe you used this one:

Prestige Car Care

Greenacres SA 5086

Yes its the second one

-D

SLED - I'd be interested to hear your honest feedback on Executive Shine Detailing - I've been thinking of using Steve (owner/operator) to detail my SP23 before sale :D

yeah no worries Lee, I'll try and remember to post something with a few pics

cheers pete, was a pleasure to detail it for you :) any feedback or if i missed a spot just let me know :P the photo's look good!

*edit - thought my username was nissy but obviously not lol. oh and thanks for the hospitality, appreciated the bbq! :(

Edited by stag98

I find the Meguiars stuff is great, but the Turtle Wax range also leaves an great shine on my car. This other SONEX? stuff i've got is good too, pretty happy with it.

I've used plenty of different polishes/wax's etc on previous cars, and you get to know which product does a better job after using so many!

As for buying this $200-300 stuff from america, unless you car is a trailer bi*ch/show car and doesn't see the road more than once a week lol, then go for it..... but if it's daily driven and you use it often then Meguiars stuff is more than great to keep your car looking sweet.

As for detailing professionally, i'm all for it & seen some great work come out of a few places......used to be one mobile guy umm think it was Paint Magic? not sure if he's around still but did a great job on an old car of mine

Edited by Murry33
cheers pete, was a pleasure to detail it for you :D any feedback or if i missed a spot just let me know :D the photo's look good!

*edit - thought my username was nissy but obviously not lol. oh and thanks for the hospitality, appreciated the bbq! ;)

thanks for the comments Jarrad & Craig and a big thanks to you Stephen for the love & care you showed my ride :(

I find the Meguiars stuff is great, but the Turtle Wax range also leaves an great shine on my car. This other SONEX? stuff i've got is good too, pretty happy with it.

I've used plenty of different polishes/wax's etc on previous cars, and you get to know which product does a better job after using so many!

As for buying this $200-300 stuff from america, unless you car is a trailer bi*ch/show car and doesn't see the road more than once a week lol, then go for it..... but if it's daily driven and you use it often then Meguiars stuff is more than great to keep your car looking sweet.

As for detailing professionally, i'm all for it & seen some great work come out of a few places......used to be one mobile guy umm think it was Paint Magic? not sure if he's around still but did a great job on an old car of mine

I use the Megs from USA and yes it does cost about 200-300 bucks to get the pro products without a discount for trade, and thats if you dont have any products to start with. you could do it for a lot less but over the long haul it works out cheaper to get more of the stuff to last a year.

there are lots of good products on the market not just megs. megs is just easier to find and results are easy to get. plus Mothers and Megs sponsor a lot of our car shows in OZ.

Last night my car wasnt washed , just a quick spray detail, and if you ask Sled-Pete and a few others i heard from last night, it was still farking shiny . the car is a daily driven , i live on the beach within feet of it. and the car sits outside gets shit on, salt , acid rain,pine trees, gum trees and wattle on it , so its not a trailer queen at all its driven over 15k + a year on country roads with trucks, dust etc.. just wish it was black to show how good it really looks. this week when i finish the detail out I'll take some proper photos and the you be the judge , Im not a pro detailer but looking into it. and setting up the detailing as part of a bigger plan.

so if you like my car shine , let me find a black car to try...lol saw a steg last night that could use it..lol swirlys

pete even came over to feel my car up...lol sorry pete ...lol

so if you like my car shine , let me find a black car to try...lol saw a stag last night that could use it..lol swirlys

pete even came over to feel my car up...lol sorry pete ...lol

yeah that would be Ruby's Stag, he never washes it, lol

and yes, your car felt like a baby's bum, haha

and thanks for the comments Lee

yeah car looks pretty clean pete,glad your happy with job,nothing worse than someone saying they can do it but just dont understand products/paint,and how to detail anything. would have liked to see a before shot as your car looks like it has never seen the sun etc

Used to do the same quality back when i had my car groomers franchise,these days when i can and get time, i go see my mate and grab some of the products,but settle for megs on regular basis cause can buy it at most places. If people looking at getting detailing done,best bet is to get someone you know to do it but if got no contacts, look into the company qouting the job and ask for photos,ask what they do,and dont go for these every six mths polish deals,anyone in the business knows that a proper polish with paint protection will last 12mths and longer before needing a touch up, i used to detail lambos,porches,bms etc of all colours and never found under 12mths had a need to do again,unless asked for as a regular thing. have heaps photos of cars we did to show the quality of the work i and mate used to do and can still do will try and post up when get time. the only thing i miss which i need to borrow from mate is his one of kind swirl remover polisher,its awesome

thanks Damo.............tell me more about this swirl remover cause some don't do what they say they can do and others are a heavy cut and way too harsh..........need something in between IMO

he uses products designed by scientists,that have no harse compounds in them,its all done by chemical reactions,the products basically go under the dirt and lift it up,then the polisher which is similar to the ones they use on aircrafts but 10 times smaller,with its two specially designed rotating heads works the polish in and takes away the crap off your paint,done heaps of dark cars with bad swirl marks and had awesome results,when i left he had interest from new car dealerships to do there cars, to fix up the after paint swirl marks that they get after one polish in the factory etc

used all the megs products available to get my car shiny as,but still doesnt compare to this system my mate has,looking at doing mine next couple weeks when get chance

It's one thing to have glossy paint, but to be swirl and scratch free, especially on darker colours, is alot harder to keep looking nice.

Best way to remove swirl marks is with an orbital buff. They cost about $250 for a good one, I think mine was around 230. They oscilate instead of spin.

And there's no point in spending hundreds on polishes and crap. If you know how to use products and equipment properly it's fairly cheap. I'd probably use about $100 in consumables in a year (not that i pay for it... thanks to my work :banana:)

It's one thing to have glossy paint, but to be swirl and scratch free, especially on darker colours, is alot harder to keep looking nice.

Best way to remove swirl marks is with an orbital buff. They cost about $250 for a good one, I think mine was around 230. They oscilate instead of spin.

And there's no point in spending hundreds on polishes and crap. If you know how to use products and equipment properly it's fairly cheap. I'd probably use about $100 in consumables in a year (not that i pay for it... thanks to my work :banana: )

not doubting you do a good job,although to say that a buff doesnt leave a spin mark is a bit of a stretch,ive been detailing professionally for over 10 years and ive tried every buff/polisher on most markets,and i used to think that they removed swirls too. Any machine that spins one way leaves light marks no matter what products you use.

Good luck with these guys at Holden Hill, i wouldnt trust them with my car. My dad was getting his new Ford Focus detailed, i picked him up and dropped him off that day. When we picked up the car, they hadnt finished it, and the bits they had done were piss poor. They had the car mats on top of the bin, had been raining and they were soaked. They put them in the car, and they tried to say they were wet because of the steam cleaning, and it was normal. I was wringing the water out of them, but they still wouldnt admit it, and continued to lie. The manager kept blaming the poor job on his new employees who didnt know what they were doing yet, more pathetic excuses.

I know its not good to judge people by appearances, but by the looks of the guys working there, i'd be using the powerfc controller to limit the revs to 3k and then remove hand controller, and write down the odometer in front of them, so they dont joyride your car.

just adding to this, theyve apparently had a jeep cherokee stolen in the middle of the day from there aswell.

apparently ownership of the place has changed hands since then though?

Pete dont be afraid of a minor cut from a pro product (not kitten paste of old days...lol)on your paint it wont kill it. a good detailer will normally have a paint thickness gauge to test it before cutting ? just looking at it it needs a mild cut on the bonnet/nose, to remove the swirls/haze and spiderwebs . your car looks pretty good but could be like "glass" with ease. the megs m105 I used with a buffer on mine, to remove the same issues only a bit worse. the stuff works miracles, and isnt like a heavy cut like you would find from someone elses product. its lubricated and gets finer while cutting not hard and scratchy, not harsher as it drys. if you want to ask Mike Phillips from Megs USA anything even if its about other companies products he answers within 24hrs normally. a fantastic resource. the guys in america are used to detailing a lot of hi end cars. a lot more then we could even imagine in oz.

and remember a lot of the hi end supercars dont use the same paint systems as jap cars. you get what you pay for in the paint department when it comes to those cars versus a jap daily driver? a lot of those paints are super hard ... and Ive never seen a polish on a car last a year from anyone .. even a show car sitting in the shed needs it a few times a year, my step dad used to have a lot of show cars trailer queens, he used a product on them called "Liquid glass" and it worked really really good. not sure if you can even get it here, maybe online. it looked like wet glass after a few treatments. Id say you could prob order it from eastwood company in USA. they have all the fancy car toys ,tools etc. great company even the guys here recommend them for special stuff.

warning to others in this thread dont use a buffer unless you know how to use it, a 25 dollar orbital buffer works just as quick as a 400 dollar porter cable one in destroying paintjobs

a lot of product arent used with buffers, or a dual action buffer

oh and the plastic polishing stuff I've used on airplanes before and it works a treat on supra,skyline headlights etc.you should be able to find it in town, its used to polish windshields and windows on planes, you can do your own its not hard just go slow.

just watch out not all plastic is just plexiglass, some is lexan, ABS etc. and will haze up if done with the wrong product. the megs plastX doesnt work on headlights for shit. in comparison to the aircraft stuff.

read about eveything you can imagine detailing here, a better resource then the oz forum for megs. more info and better response direct from the source

http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/index.php

in case people didnt know Megs was purchased by the 3M group recently, they make a lot of the paint products, and paints used in automotive and aircraft anyways. and about eveything else too...lol

in the states I used Zymoil products on my black car, but let me tell you the cost is crazy and i really dont its all that good compared to the hype. didnt last any longer then the 30 buck stuff. from megs