yeh but i hurt my shoulder at work and cant do any heavy lifting...

they cant make you open the bonnet or hold it. if they want to have a look then they can do so all by themself. last time i popped it, but the cop actually went to the front and lifted it i think.

next time im going to flat out refuse. i figure they cant actually forcibly open your bonnet without a warrant, and i can easily say, "do you do this to everyone you pull over? no? well, ive got more important things to do, you can admire my car another time. good day officer."

You'll get reamed!! :P

Seriously just try to be nice and you should be sweet. Also not having 5 million defects helps too :D

That actually worked for my wife, she was coming back from work in the 33 and got pulled over. Knowing that since she was driving a "pick me" car much like the harassment we got when whenever we drove the Torana around.

But this time since she'd never popped the hood, she didn't actually know where the release leaver was. (albeit she didn't open her eyes to look for it). The nice Mr Plod, got annoyed with her and just let her go with a few words of advice about modifications.

OK! This is the tangent I've been after!

And the Hypothetical Q is this...

What if Mr Plod in QLD (where you are) and NSW (where I am) are wanting to investigate mods (and not drugs)?

And what if Mr Plod asks you to pop the bonnet, and you don't know where it is? Does Mr Plod have the right to reach into your car and release that bonnet in QLD & NSW (or for that matter, WA, SA, TAS)?

Johnny in VIC says "NO", they are not permitted to touch a Spec item of the car in that state. Clothing and loose items Yes but a mechanical/spec item No.

Is there a definitive answer (without being too silly)???

That actually worked for my wife, she was coming back from work in the 33 and got pulled over. Knowing that since she was driving a "pick me" car much like the harassment we got when whenever we drove the Torana around.

But this time since she'd never popped the hood, she didn't actually know where the release leaver was. (albeit she didn't open her eyes to look for it). The nice Mr Plod, got annoyed with her and just let her go with a few words of advice about modifications.

Me playing ignorant ta Ms Keystone, saved me from sweating all the way to the front of the car. It annoyed the crap outta her.

they cant make you open the bonnet or hold it. if they want to have a look then they can do so all by themself. last time i popped it, but the cop actually went to the front and lifted it i think.

next time im going to flat out refuse. i figure they cant actually forcibly open your bonnet without a warrant, and i can easily say, "do you do this to everyone you pull over? no? well, ive got more important things to do, you can admire my car another time. good day officer."

Lets see how all this would pan out.

As for the securing of the bonnet so they can't look. This would earn you a red label and a tow truck ride home for a dangerous defect.

So far as refusing to let them look they have the power under to act to enter into any vehicle to inspect it for defects. You would get locked up for hindering a police officer then the defect would not seem so bad.

ok then buddy u try that and just see what happens.....

my bro is a cop and deals with smartasses like this all the time and trust it is not going to work. the more u try n be a dick or smartass to them the worse they are going to treat u.. just my freindly advice

Yeah, then they'll just send you away for a full EPA inspection and you'll get reamed 10x harder. Smart thinking... ;)

ok then buddy u try that and just see what happens.....

my bro is a cop and deals with smartasses like this all the time and trust it is not going to work. the more u try n be a dick or smartass to them the worse they are going to treat u.. just my freindly advice

that is a fair call. i always make a point of being civil. but lets say they had already made it quite clear you were in for a reaming, i was just considering the idea that if you agitate them sufficiently, they will slip up and do/say something silly. remembering everything is recorded, getting them to admit they are harassing/discriminating could make things interesting. and of course, it may betray that they arent acting objectively.

you are right though, best to avoid trouble where possible.

my bonnet release doesnt work as the cable broke.. be nice to the cops they leave it be... dont drive in the cop magnet area's and you'll be rite even drove past cops with my exhourst hanging with just extractors on they smiled and drove off.. might be just luck i havent got done by anything... defect wise... bolt on flares big wheels and a intercooler is all they care about

pritty dumb to run from a cop... they get ur rego there's no need for a chase

if they dont pin you when your behind the wheel, then they *cant* fine you, unless you get scared and fess up. just dump the car and get back to your house, wait for em to rock up. play dumb. easy

**they can do whatever they want but you should be able to get out of it easy enough**

as for not being able to open the bonnet, i heard of a story from a mate who knows a bloke with something a little bit hardcore. think it was an old commie with a pretty serious 26 in it, and he rigged up some special way to open his bonnet so that he could say the bonnet release wasnt working. the cop spent an hour and a half going over it till he worked it out lol. needless to say there was a pretty serious reeming after that

you just gotta hope you get a good copper pullin you over, if they dont like you, your gonna get a canary no matter what. i one for a blown headlight globe....

haha the best way to avoid defects in VIC is to drive my NSW registered VN around when the cops are doing a blitz - straight through exhaust on a V8 = no worries, but pod filters and blow off valves are a menace to society har har har. At least they divert their attention from other things more complicated to replace to clear a roadworthy!

if they dont pin you when your behind the wheel, then they *cant* fine you, unless you get scared and fess up. just dump the car and get back to your house, wait for em to rock up. play dumb. easy

that was my understanding also. they cant prove who was driving the vehicle at the time.

that said, its not exactly a responsible course of action. too bad if you stacked it in the process, or they got the chopper out after you. could escalate pretty quickly... youd want to be well practiced in your need for speed skills.

a better option would perhaps be to carry a wad of cash in your pocket. how many police, or anyone for that matter, would knock back $5k? JUST KIDDING.

if only life were so simple/i had that much money.

PS: the above is intended to be non-serious.

By my understanding of the law/s currently in play - the police could pull you over, do the RBT thing, and dismantle your car piece by piece right there and then if they wanted to. And yes I did use the word "dismantle".

What most people forget is that the reaches of the law do not end when you get into / get out of your car. Anti-drug, Anti-terrorism, Anti-whatever laws can all be rolled into one to suit their purposes at that present time. If I was a cop and came across a complete smartass - I'd start with the drug search before having the car stripped on the suspicion that it was housing a weapon that 'may' be used in an act of terrorism.