r33 vs. silvia w/rb20det

• Replies 43

Yeah Gerby the point you're MISSING is that most people who have done the conversion, either had a non turbo, ca18det or a stuffed engine. Not many people with a already fine sr20det do the conversion, unless they want to put in a rb26dett :/

I have no idea why you would replace an SR20 with an RB20 even if you blew it up. If you're going to go that far surely you may as well do the RB25? If you go the RB20 you're just adding weight and maintencance/upgrade costs (2 more cylinders to cater for) without any real advantage surely?

if u go the rb25, ur puttin heaps more weight on the front end of ur car, but, if u go for the rb20 ur gettin good bang for bucks and it dusnt weigh as much, basically NO-ONE!! would replace an sr20det for an rb20det, the performance is virtually the same...the only time u'd put in an rb20 is if u bought an older sil b4 the sr20's came out and it had a ca18de/ca18det engine in it....the only xception wuld probable be if ur sr20 blew up and u didnt hav the dosh too get another sr20 put in, bcoz the rb20 engine is a much cheaper engine to buy than the sr20........newai, imo u CANNOT deny a 6 ova a 4

guess so. Not really comparing apples with apples though. Like saying i bought a TE cortina and put an injected 5 litre out of an au flacon in there and i beat Xr8 au falcons......silvias with rb's in em are quick or there is potential there to be quick. I think when u race a car u should somehow find out or know what mods it has b4 baggin it out if u beat it or kept up with it. Not saying that u guys are baggin but thats just my 2 cents worth...goodday

I think a better comparison would be a stock s13 sr20det (silvia shape.. 20kw more power than the 180sx) with an r32 gtst.

Silvia does the 0-400 1.3 seconds faster in stock form.

I drove an r34 GTST and it still felt slow compared to mine.

All I have on my s13 Silvia K's is a 3" turbo to tip exhaust system.. that's it.

Soon to be added:

- Air Pod

- Oversized FMIC

- Apexi Super AVC-R Boost Controller/Management System

Overall Mod Cost: 3.3k

Chapman & Chapman, a highly respected performance shop in Brisbane says I should expect high 12's after these modifications.

How much money do you have to spend on a GTST to get it into the 12s?

Disclaimer: By NO MEANS am I coming in here on the SKYLINE discussion forum to bag the shit out of skylines.. I LOVE skylines. They are amazing machines.. the GTR keeps me up at night. All I am talking about is a comparison. At the end of the day the Skyline will still turn more heads, impress more girls and be a more practical point-to-point car. And at the end of the day, Skyline drivers love their cars just as much as I love mine. :)

But what I am saying is.. for boy-racer performance for dollars.. I am fairly confident the Sr20det Silvia is a better choice.

Originally posted by s13s15

plannin on droppin the rb in it, or gettin an rb conversion that's already dun...preferably i'd like to drop it in, with my mate whos a mechanic and specialises in jap imports

i would avoid this idea like the plague

everyone i konw that has had this done has got rid of their car lickety split due to the non stop problems since having it done

TT did all the conversions :)

bit of info for you...... when calling tt and asking them what they do to fit the swaybar under the rb20 engine they replied that they bash the sump in to fit the sway bar on properly. Big no no i reckon. My rb20det hasn't seen a good run yet, the cut i got had a buggered turbs and o2 sensor. Turbo is being replaced at the moment and o2 sensor next week as i've run out of cash. Then i'll give you all a good run down on it.

LOL nah forget TT, they are really DODGY. They really cut corners in doing their shit so they can save money. The end result = Heaps of issues. I've known some people that have had a lot of problems after getting conversions done with them. Anyway I just got a mate to do my conversion and yeah havent had any problems at all. Seriously though there really shouldn't be any problems if it's done properly. Just make sure you find a reputable place that does a trust worthy job.

To Quote Pentae

""I think a better comparison would be a stock s13 sr20det (silvia shape.. 20kw more power than the 180sx) with an r32 gtst.

Soon to be added:

- Air Pod

- Oversized FMIC

- Apexi Super AVC-R Boost Controller/Management System

Overall Mod Cost: 3.3k

Chapman & Chapman, a highly respected performance shop in Brisbane says I should expect high 12's after these modifications.

How much money do you have to spend on a GTST to get it into the 12s?""

##Sorry the quote thigo didnt work for some reason so i just edited it ##

The silvia has no more power what so ever than the 180!!! exactly the same motor, unless you have the slightly uprated blacktop 180sx

I wouldnt consider doing this to a car that already has an SR20 in it. It throws weight distribution out big time unless u have 60kg of stereo equip in the boot. Coilovers will help the prob but it will still be out with more weight over the front wheels than back.

Which is really not what a silvia needs as its tail happy as it is.

The sr is also cheaper maintanence wise (less cylinders) and has been supplied locally. Its also the same capacity as an RB20, but the downside is cost!! Add some really good tyres to you mods list and you may be able to get high 12's

pentae was probably referrring to the 180sx wen it originally came out only came with the 1.8l turbo (ca18det), hence the name "180sx" it was not until 1991 when the sr20det was put into the 180sx, although the silvia got the sr20det put into it in 89/90 (i think)...the 20kw difference being the extra displacement and bigger turbo on the sr20det, alongside the ca18det

sr20det (152kw) ca18det(131kw)

Originally posted by awill

The silvia has no more power what so ever than the 180!!! exactly the same motor, unless you have the slightly uprated blacktop 180sx

Hey Awill,

This is actually a common misconception that most 180SX owners carry with them. Most Silvia K's owners who have done their homework keep this secret well hidden so the 180sx crowd keep scratching their head and wondering why our cars are just that small amount faster.

I'll point you all over to the Nismo site which backs up my statement:

http://sr20det.nismo.org/nissanengines.htm

"Power: 205hp @ 6000rpm (180SX), 220hp @ 6000rpm (Silvia)"

There's also a few other sites out there that say this as well. I have ABSOLUTELY no idea why the engine performs better, as the car's are pretty much identical. Maybe it's a slightly different engine configuration due to the popup head lights on the 180? who the hell really knows.

I also understand that the 180SX weighs more due to the heavy coupe rear windscreen.

When I first bought my car and it was stock as a rock.. it even had the rattling exhaust tin can fresh from the compliance department complete with "exhaust socks".

I raced a guy in a 180SX with an sr20det, aftermarket exhaust system running 10psi.. I thought I was toast!

He started with a much more agressive and successful launch but I caught up with him and made it past him before we both reached about 80-90 and decided we'd had enough.

Nah i seriously doubt that that is anywhere near the truth have a look on any silvia website or forum and it has never been mentioned once (untill i mention it). The motors are identical the weight may be a lil different, supposedly the 180 has a slightly better weight distribution but both motors im sure are the same.