Here's my brothers APS kitted twin turbo VZ running just under 8 psi (no boost controller) - showing before and after turbo power and torque figures. Please ignore the hand drawn lines - we were comparing another motor.

If you really don't like the alloy block you can get the LSX block.

twinturboLS2.jpg

Edited by juggernaut1
  • Replies 131

the driver was an 88 year old granny? :)

this statement though....

"A VE HSV Maloo R8 Ute (317kw) has around 220kw at the wheels and weighs 1700kg"

Really??? they loose that much through the gearbox/drivetrain/etc? I thought they were meant to be like the super ute....

power is qouted without any engine accesories (alt, a/c idlers etc....)

BMW seems to be the closest with realistic fly power claims ive noticed of late 335i is rated at 225fwkw = 190rwkw

as far as V8's go i get a fair few through here, here are a few examples that would trump just about any other street import and one looks totally std and runs stupid 1/4 numbers.

there is no replacement for displacement. (epecially charged)

post-34927-1228174090_thumb.jpg

post-34927-1228174295_thumb.jpg

Edited by URAS
depends how you get off the line, my mates line has 220rwkw and a r8 couldn't reel us in.. things get off the line damn quick though, it'd chew the gtst off the line, wouldnt be able to catch one b4 speed limiter.. in the gtr i don't catch 5 litres before around 100 and 6's can usually get up to 80 before i hit 80 if i take off with only like 2k revs up.. need to dump it to get it moving which sucks.. especially when ur trying to change lanes and the person your trying to get in front of has their foot flat while i'm lagging my way to 4k

Relatively speaking they are 'slow' off the line as they are a little harder to hook up with the torque of the V8 (great for burnouts though).

You are having some issues getting off the line there. I mean the GTR you are driving really badly mate to get beaten to 100 like that. I would suggest that you are a super granny driver, no offence intended.

I am also assuming that by 'changing lanes' you are reffering to a private race track?

My old mans CV8 Monaro has just under 400rwkw with a 11psi manifold blower, water-air cooler, cam etc etc. There really isnt much that can keep up with it on the street. I was amazed how well it hooks up off the line aswell (it does have a lot of suspension work and decent tyres though), we beat a EVO X off the line which i was absolutely amazed by. Maybe the dude in the Evo didn't know how to launch it properly but still. But yeah, a LS series engine with a form of forced induction really does have the best of both worlds, big displacement and plenty of airflow.

Edited by PM-R33
My old mans CV8 Monaro has just under 400rwkw with a 11psi manifold blower, water-air cooler, cam etc etc. There really isnt much that can keep up with it on the street. I was amazed how well it hooks up off the line aswell (it does have a lot of suspension work and decent tyres though), we beat a EVO X off the line which i was absolutely amazed by. Maybe the dude in the Evo didn't know how to launch it properly but still. But yeah, a LS series engine with a form of forced induction really does have the best of both worlds, big displacement and plenty of airflow.

I agree, my brothers twin turbo VZ hooks up increadibly well even with coilovers all round.....and the broad spread of power and torque is fantastic.

seriously.. the whole alloy block v iron block is useless in this topic.

LS1 engines seem to weork really well with the TT kits.

making over 450rwkw with waves of torque that you could NEVER see from an RB of any kind.

I was saying that if the LS1 was fitted to an R32.

even in NA form with the usual NA upgrades of cams, extractors tuning etc, these motors spin up over 300rwkw.

1290kg 89 model R32 with RB20 making what 200rwkw with usual mods?

or

1240kg 89 model R32 with LS1 making over 300rwkw.

so more power, more torque, less weight and better distributed weight.

and you would prefer to keep the RB20 because it has an iron block?

lol..

THis whole post is useless and so is the whole oh if a ls1/2 was fitted to a r32 and the a tt ls1/2 would eat the r32. Not what he is asking is it. He asked if a r32 running 220-230rwkw would beat the stockish commos and the answer is Yes if you can drive it should beat it. Simple as that.

If you did not beat a r32 with 400ish rwkw in a tt ls1/2 then there is something wrong with you. There is no excuse for cubes that is a fact unless you get a 2j that is.

So maybe drop the whole tt ls1 in a r32 would kill all cos it dont mean shit.

for all the v8 lovers here is Rattler a local car in Darwin built by i think APS he is running close to 520rwkw and runs low 11's

Power does not mean you car will be the be all and end all of everything as this car proves.

for all the v8 lovers here is Rattler a local car in Darwin built by i think APS he is running close to 520rwkw and runs low 11's

Power does not mean you car will be the be all and end all of everything as this car proves.

11's just means its poorly built / setup..... theres plenty running 10's here in melb

i remmember nathan higgins NA (no nos) 346ci running 11.4 (122.4mph) with his ute in 2004 with way less power..... oh and he gauranteed customers 11's for $5600 drive in drive out..... :wave:

i would be pissed if i owned rattler >_<

Edited by URAS
11's just means its poorly built / setup..... theres plenty running 10's here in melb

i remmember nathan higgins NA (no nos) 346ci running 11.4 (122.4mph) with his ute in 2004 with way less power..... oh and he gauranteed customers 11's for $5600 drive in drive out..... :D

i would be pissed if i owned rattler :thumbsup:

Yeah i would be to considering the car owes him nearly 150k.

Mini tubs rims and tiens cost him almost 30k alone all fitted. And it only allows him to run 10'' rubber. Supra can run that stock.

All i am saying is to compare a tt ls anything to a rb20 is pointless.

Relatively speaking they are 'slow' off the line as they are a little harder to hook up with the torque of the V8 (great for burnouts though).

You are having some issues getting off the line there. I mean the GTR you are driving really badly mate to get beaten to 100 like that. I would suggest that you are a super granny driver, no offence intended.

I am also assuming that by 'changing lanes' you are reffering to a private race track?

Not really, just taking off with like 2k revs like u would normally then flat footing it, just saying that if u take off without revving it up heaps it takes ages to get moving.. and most lagless cars will chew u.. i used to beat my mates s13 to 70 in my old rolla if he took off soft

And nah not on a private track, on the street, didn't say anything about speeding though, speed limit is 100 on loads of roads

Not really, just taking off with like 2k revs like u would normally then flat footing it, just saying that if u take off without revving it up heaps it takes ages to get moving.. and most lagless cars will chew u.. i used to beat my mates s13 to 70 in my old rolla if he took off soft

And nah not on a private track, on the street, didn't say anything about speeding though, speed limit is 100 on loads of roads

Might be that your GTR needs a tune. Mine if left in 2wd will fog the 255's when planted in 1st. In 4wd it loses no traction and thats a big reason why it leaves rwd cars for dust even to 100.

Limiter launch FTW!

I don't mind an SS or HSV gettin me of the line, cause I am still goin past them when i'm on boost in second and I've only got 167rwkw in my R32.

Used to sell HSV and yes they are 6spd, but will decelerate in 6th at 120kph unless your goin down a hill. 300+kw but too many gear changes spoil a great torque curve by my reckoning & most importantly it's a Holden so who cares anyhow

Moral of story is so what if they get you off the line, any decent drag race goes a little longer than 50m

my 2c

but will decelerate in 6th at 120kph unless your goin down a hill.

Am i the only one not understanding what that means or its relevance?

300+kw but too many gear changes spoil a great torque curve by my reckoning

Too many gear changes? It's got one extra gear that isn't used until they are hitting over 200km/h.

Technically you will find that skylines have closer gearing in the gearbox and final diff ratio compared to a LS1/LS2 holden. So a skyline will actually go through the first few gears quicker than a holden, so no idea what your on about there.

Edited by PM-R33
Might be that your GTR needs a tune. Mine if left in 2wd will fog the 255's when planted in 1st. In 4wd it loses no traction and thats a big reason why it leaves rwd cars for dust even to 100.

Limiter launch FTW!

yeh she fries em coming onto boost in 1st if it's in rwd mode, it's just that i cant ride my clutch at all and i need to dump it to get off the line, and 2k dump = way too low to get movin.. but i mean 6k clutch dumps in peak hour are a bit wack so i'll have to just learn to put up with being stuck behind buses hehe.. My val absolutely rules for getting up to 60/80 quickly, bit of squeal off the line and 1 gear, guess that's mainly what i'm comparing it to

Used to sell HSV and yes they are 6spd, but will decelerate in 6th at 120kph unless your goin down a hill. 300+kw but too many gear changes spoil a great torque curve by my reckoning & most importantly it's a Holden so who cares anyhow

Must have been some lame HSV's you drove.

I drove a run of the mill VS Commodore from Perth to Sydney in sixth gear virtually all the way with the cruise control set at 117klm's/h last year with no deceleration you speak of.

Am i the only one not understanding what that means or its relevance?

Too many gear changes? It's got one extra gear that isn't used until they are hitting over 200km/h.

Technically you will find that skylines have closer gearing in the gearbox and final diff ratio compared to a LS1/LS2 holden. So a skyline will actually go through the first few gears quicker than a holden, so no idea what your on about there.

Go take one for a drive then & don't be afraid to open it up everywhere-not just the motorway, report back what you reckon.

I will admit on the highway it was pretty good, around town it suk'd bigtime, gearing seemed to not quite fit anything, either too short for open corners, or too long for tight city streets, and with regard to 6th for over 200k' I could see that on an autobahn, but our roads???????

I am not that phased whether you agree with what I say or not. but there is a big difference between reading a spec's sheet and real world experience.

The greatest thing about this forum is you can express an opinion-others may flame you for it but who cares

After working at the dealership, I went looking & it was for an import-bought R32- (this was against getting a special staff price on Hsv to sweeten the deal) , and to this day don't regret buying what I did.

Hsv's are a pretty special beast when viewed by the prefered holden customer and for what they are I can be impressed, but the best I've been in have been worked to the rediculous, and can't be classed as stock so meh

Well regarding the gearing, manual LS1's in Holdens (SS, CV8 etc) run 3.46 final gear ratio's (5 speed skylines run 4.11), therefore yes the gearing is pretty long. In HSV's they run 3.73 so slightly closer (not sure about the new VE's).

As regarding to "real world experiences", there is a 400rwkw monaro in my garage, therefore i think thats good enough. Obviously not stock, but it was bought brand new so i have personally seen the difference between a stock LS1, a LS1 with basic bolt ons and a cam and then a supercharger added into the equation. It does however have 3.73 gearing in the diff now which has definetely made it better to drive in day to day traffic yet still has good enough top speed when needed...

Honestly with the 3.73 gearing in the back i find it perfect. 1st gear stretches out nicely unlike a skyline where 1st gear is over by the time you blink and the rest seem fine. Obviously 6th is never used unless your out on the highway doing 100 but it sits at a nice low rpm level unlike in the skyline at 100 in 5th its a bit higher then i would prefer. If i could have a getrag 6 speed in my skyline i would, wouldn't you?

Well regarding the gearing, manual LS1's in Holdens (SS, CV8 etc) run 3.46 final gear ratio's (5 speed skylines run 4.11), therefore yes the gearing is pretty long. In HSV's they run 3.73 so slightly closer (not sure about the new VE's).

As regarding to "real world experiences", there is a 400rwkw monaro in my garage, therefore i think thats good enough. Obviously not stock, but it was bought brand new so i have personally seen the difference between a stock LS1, a LS1 with basic bolt ons and a cam and then a supercharger added into the equation. It does however have 3.73 gearing in the diff now which has definetely made it better to drive in day to day traffic yet still has good enough top speed when needed...

Honestly with the 3.73 gearing in the back i find it perfect. 1st gear stretches out nicely unlike a skyline where 1st gear is over by the time you blink and the rest seem fine. Obviously 6th is never used unless your out on the highway doing 100 but it sits at a nice low rpm level unlike in the skyline at 100 in 5th its a bit higher then i would prefer. If i could have a getrag 6 speed in my skyline i would, wouldn't you?

Hell yeah,

Well put by the way, As far as an 8 goes they 'are' a great car & the Monaro is even better.

400+ is an awesome figure too, well done on that-hmmmm supercharger- (Homer like drool Aarrgghhll)

Another valid point is the Highway gear-6th- The only thing i seriously want to put in mine, but not sure whether my RB will have the serious torque required to use it- may have to look at a 25/26 conversion