webng Posted December 15, 2008 Share Posted December 15, 2008 Had a run in with a very sturdy post yesterday whilst reversing out of the car wash place. Yes it was after I washed the car and dried it. Yes I have insurance. Yes, I'm an idiot. Just thought I'd share. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
iamhe77 Posted December 15, 2008 Share Posted December 15, 2008 (edited) Had a run in with a very sturdy post yesterday whilst reversing out of the car wash place. Yes it was after I washed the car and dried it. Yes I have insurance. Yes, I'm an idiot. Just thought I'd share. That'll buff right out. The rest of the car in that shot looks lovely and clean though! Edited December 15, 2008 by iamhe77 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4318038 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sl!m Posted December 15, 2008 Share Posted December 15, 2008 aww poor stagea Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4318048 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoldZilla Posted December 15, 2008 Share Posted December 15, 2008 Yeah, it sucks scratching or denting your car - it doesn't make you an idiot any more than the rest of us, but it does confirm you are human! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4318057 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stinky Rooster Posted December 15, 2008 Share Posted December 15, 2008 it doesn't make you an idiot any more than the rest of us, but it does confirm you are human! +11ty /pats GL with the repairs man. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4318093 Share on other sites More sharing options...
KiwiRS4T Posted December 15, 2008 Share Posted December 15, 2008 Had a run in with a very sturdy post yesterday whilst reversing out of the car wash place. Yes it was after I washed the car and dried it. Yes I have insurance. Yes, I'm an idiot. Just thought I'd share. Join the club. Very upsetting to see damage to your fine car and doubly upsetting when its self inflicted. Just had that very repair to my car...new guard and painting $700. If you can find a guard the right colour you could possibly do it yourself. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4318107 Share on other sites More sharing options...
webng Posted December 15, 2008 Author Share Posted December 15, 2008 (edited) Thanks fellas. I'm so pissed off as it's just bad timing with xmas/new year coming. I think I'd be better off paying my $500 excess and getting it all fixed schmick. Front guard alone is about $300-$350 from the wreckers. Hopefully they'll be able to repair the Dayz front bar, wouldn't want to think how much that would be new! Just when you think it won't happen to you... Edited December 15, 2008 by webng Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4318224 Share on other sites More sharing options...
ssshonky Posted December 15, 2008 Share Posted December 15, 2008 R34 front end conversion time!!! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4318287 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTS4WD Posted December 15, 2008 Share Posted December 15, 2008 hahaha.. dude.. dont stress. We all f*ck up! Anyone who sais they haven't reversed into anything/accidentally hit something silly is lieing! Its all part of being human.. We all make mistakes. Best of lick with the repairs! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4318432 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tangles Posted December 15, 2008 Share Posted December 15, 2008 yeah, I parked the old N15 Pulsar hatch in a tight spot, got parked around, and to get out had to scrape against the side of a wall. ended up pushing the passenger rear door skin right in, ppl pointing and laughing at me - bastards excess was $800 back then for me, so ended up doing a $200 cashy back yard job and got it reskinned and painted good luck mate, but backluck at same time hurts doesnt it Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4318453 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR-N1 Posted December 15, 2008 Share Posted December 15, 2008 Thanks to you for putting this thread up... It becomes a learning experience for all of us. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4318462 Share on other sites More sharing options...
webng Posted December 15, 2008 Author Share Posted December 15, 2008 R34 front end conversion time!!! haha! I wish! ...Best of lick with the repairs! Thanks mate. ...good luck mate, but backluck at same timehurts doesnt it Yup... it sure does... I couldn't even bare to photograph it till this morning. Thanks to you for putting this thread up...It becomes a learning experience for all of us. that's very zen... no probs. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4318498 Share on other sites More sharing options...
66yostagea Posted December 15, 2008 Share Posted December 15, 2008 Dont worry Nick, Mrs66 backed into a concrete water tank at the local Servo. She was worried cause she thought the Stagea iis my pride and joy. I assured her that she is, then went down the back yard and cried. $2500 and I supplied the new bumper. LOL LOL LOL. NOT. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4318526 Share on other sites More sharing options...
webng Posted December 15, 2008 Author Share Posted December 15, 2008 Dont worry Nick, Mrs66 backed into a concrete water tank at the local Servo. She was worried cause she thought the Stagea iis my pride and joy. I assured her that she is, then went down the back yard and cried. $2500 and I supplied the new bumper. LOL LOL LOL. NOT. jeez... ... this is what my mrs said "i'm sorry honey, but i'm so glad it wasn't me that did it!" Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4318587 Share on other sites More sharing options...
pixel8r Posted December 15, 2008 Share Posted December 15, 2008 I'm hearing ya buddy!! Picture this... I flew from Adelaide to the Gold Coast to pick up my previous stagea (s2) over 2.5 years ago. Everything went smooth, we paid for the car etc. then drove to brisbane and stayed at my parent's place that night - they live in brisbane - then we drove back to adelaide the next morning. Anyway, a family friend who lives in Dubbo wanted us to drop by on the way and show him the new car. So we did, and as I was backing out of there I somehow managed to back into the gate and put a scrape right down the rear quarter panel. It did polish out weeks later but yeah less than 2 days after we picked up the car and I put a major scratch on it. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4319288 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RRB20ASH Posted December 15, 2008 Share Posted December 15, 2008 ouchhhhhhhiessssss. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4319311 Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigDirtyJase Posted December 16, 2008 Share Posted December 16, 2008 you're an idiot....lol j/k (sorry I had to do it your topic heading said so) in all seriousness, don't strees mate...everyone has done it before...I had my dad back into my old car reversing out of the driveway...he didn't even tell me that he hit my car...I only found out when my brother called me and let me know...my dad blamed me because I parked my car in on a slight angle (it's only because he reverses using the mirrors only...no head check) For sure you'll find a front guard and wish you all the best in the repairs...it will come out good as new Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4319986 Share on other sites More sharing options...
webng Posted December 16, 2008 Author Share Posted December 16, 2008 you're an idiot....lol j/k (sorry I had to do it your topic heading said so) Yes! Yes I am! in all seriousness, don't strees mate...everyone has done it before...I had my dad back into my old car reversing out of the driveway...he didn't even tell me that he hit my car...I only found out when my brother called me and let me know...my dad blamed me because I parked my car in on a slight angle (it's only because he reverses using the mirrors only...no head check)For sure you'll find a front guard and wish you all the best in the repairs...it will come out good as new Thanks buddy. I reckon they'll be able to fix the front bar, so might be just front guard replacement. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4320851 Share on other sites More sharing options...
kidafa Posted December 16, 2008 Share Posted December 16, 2008 hi nick, just saw the mrs driving your car..... adam sent me the photo you sent him yesterday morning when i was at work and at first i thought it was his car. OUCH! Hope it goes ok! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4321053 Share on other sites More sharing options...
webng Posted December 16, 2008 Author Share Posted December 16, 2008 hi nick,just saw the mrs driving your car..... adam sent me the photo you sent him yesterday morning when i was at work and at first i thought it was his car. OUCH! Hope it goes ok! Thanks man, hopefully get it fixed soon. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/248949-so-i-am-an-idiot/#findComment-4321300 Share on other sites More sharing options...