Hey Everyone,

I just saw this article on news.com.au and think as a responsible enthusiast club we should be on the lookout for the hoons that give us all a bad name. I'm all for naming and shaming these tools for what they do and i have no hesitation for letting the authorities know. Anything to releive the pressure of the police upon us law abiding car people........ :P

FURIOUS police are scouring the internet for the irresponsible antics of local hoon drivers and have vowed to use covert sting operations to catch them.

The warning to exhibitionists who post videos of their potentially deadly stunts on website YouTube has been issued by police Traffic Support Branch Superintendent Mark Fairney.

"We're not taking it, we've had enough," he said.

A series of hoon videos made in SA has been posted on YouTube in the past six months. The footage outraged police and the RAA, with both saying innocent motorists were at risk from the stunts.

In one video clip, a motor-cyclist was filmed from different angles and can be seen reaching a speed of 210km/h at Eagle on the Hill. The white-knuckle ride was filmed by a bike-mounted camera and several roadside positions.

The title of the clip boasts that the rider hit 215km/h.

The video, posted in July, included a Google Earth map following the route.

Another video clip shows two cars travelling at night, with one constantly crossing to the wrong side of the road, while a female passenger screams "crazy driver".

And a video posted last month shows a motorcyclist travelling along winding Gorge Rd in the Hills at speeds of up to 183km/h.

The rider comments that he broke both legs at one of Gorge Rd's bends six months earlier.

A fourth video captured a cat-and-mouse game between a high-powered Mazda RX7 and a motorbike in the Hills.

Supt Fairney said: "Police scan YouTube and any other medium for examples of idiotic behaviour and 2009 will certainly be a year when we will be taking those reckless individuals out of the picture as best we can."

He described the videos as "reckless", saying police were already using covert investigations to combat hoons risking the lives of other motorists on Adelaide Hills roads.

"These are the very idiots that education and media campaigns do not change," he said.

"Enforcement and covert camera use is the only answer for these people.

"While we can't identify the faces in these videos we can identify the location, the time of day and the traffic, so we have an idea of where to apply covert policing measures."

RAA road traffic and safety manager Rita Excell said she was "appalled" by the videos and said the hoons could kill innocent motorists.

"It's reckless endangerment of their own lives and also that of unsuspecting oncoming traffic," she said.

"These are public roads, where anybody can be driving, and this sort of behaviour is abhorrent to law-abiding road users." RAA members have raised their concerns about poor driver behaviour on Hills roads, she said.

Acting Road Safety Minister Michael Atkinson's spokeswoman, Jayne Stinson, said hoon drivers risked losing their vehicles.

"More than 3000 drivers have had their cars impounded or clamped since we introduced tough hoon-driving laws in 2005.

What are all your thoughts?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/

• Replies 193

What are all your thoughts?

I'm not going to do someone elses job for them, basically. That, and the fact that if I reported something/someone and they came out, they would probably scrutinize my car for the simple fact it has a skyline badge.

-D

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346315

how bout the dickheads use some of this speeding fine money to subsidise a local race track like other states have, give these people and closer, cheaper, less risk free alternative....... you cant sit there and complain when you are doing nuthing to curve the problem

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346379

how bout the dickheads use some of this speeding fine money to subsidise a local race track like other states have

most have private funding.

give these people and closer, cheaper, less risk free alternative....... you cant sit there and complain when you are doing nuthing to curve the problem

actually, they can, and well, they are.

besides that, some people simply wouldnt take it to the track, prefer the thrill on the street.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346405

I'm not going to do someone elses job for them, basically. That, and the fact that if I reported something/someone and they came out, they would probably scrutinize my car for the simple fact it has a skyline badge.

-D

This is why you help..... do you want to be put in the same category as these idiots that ruin it all for the rest of us? Do you want to be continually scrutinized because it has a skyline badge? If you want things to change then we (everyone) hold the power, we can get rid of these that make it bad for the rest of us. Hell i have chuck a burnout or 2 and even drove a little quicker than the speed limit (210 pffft) but there is a time and a place for it, and definitely not filming it and putting it on you tube.

We should change the mentality of all the bogans who buy skylines just to drive fast and and do burnouts just to impress their friends in the wrong place.... Anzac Speedway is a prime example, most sensible people know its a stupid place to speed and yet a few still do it and wonder why we all get picked on.

This is a South Australian Problem, and burying our heads in the sand wont make it go away, it will get progressively worse until we all drive bog standard commodores. Do you want that? All of us should promote ourselves as a club that respects what goes on, im not talking about Mods etc because thats a different story all together, im talking about speeding, Sliding around corners, burnouts, weaving in and out of traffic. We should shun those who do that, not congratulate them on breaking the 250km/h mark, or chasing each other through traffic, make it uncool.

^^ +1

My thoughts, Car: Dodge Caliber, wtf

Only kidding....or am I :P

Couldnt give a rats arse...... I had a 34, sold it to buy a house, i had the caliber before i sold the line, im looking for a Stagea at the moment.

your an idiot

Only Kidding .... or am I :P

how bout the dick heads use some of this speeding fine money to subsidies a local race track like other states have, give these people and closer, cheaper, less risk free alternative....... you cant sit there and complain when you are doing nothing to curve the problem

Never happen, SA - the retirement state, this place is going no-where until we can sway politicians to our way of thinking. Why do these pollies do the things they do? because you have a group of old biddies that sit around drinking tea and a Hyundai Getz drives past with a hole in its muffler, then off they go hoon drivers, they write to their local MP in bucket loads to get things done, and next thing you know the MP's are going to Rann with all these issues and away it goes from there. When was the last time any of us made a noise? i mean we all complain about Regency, Police, roads etc but thats as far as it goes, i bet noone has done squat.

AIR wont go ahead anytime soon, My brother is on the committee trying to get a drag strip built in the Riverland, they have been waiting a year for reports from the government on what changes should be made for the submission, expect a resulting drag strip in 10-15 years......

I couldn't give a toss if i get flamed etc, have your say, but if noone wants to make a stand then don't make threads to complain about police problems.

If you want to post whore though, go to the wasteland.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346416

yeah covert meaning joining car forums,acting like they own a nice import,organise a cruise and then get all the cops down there to the meet spot. It's happend before.

If you post up stupid driving antics on youtube,you're a knob. Anyone remember a article on today tonight ages ago,where they showed a video of a sprinter sliding through the hills in japan? And the cops thought it was the adelaide hills? And then they were saying the cops are going to find the road, what a adelaide hoon, he's probably a p plater, blah blah blah but they didn't even know that it was in japan!! That's a big fail.

There's a video on youtube named "gouger st drifting" or "grenfell st drifting" but the actual video was shot in japan. Those types of video's should be removed!! Because cops actually think it's shot in adelaide!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346481

yeah it wouldnt suprise me in 3/4 of those vids are elsewhere, do other states get this youtube media stuff or is it just our cops that like to surf youtube and assume any vid described as adelaide is deffinately adelaide.

how blindingly obvious was the jap vid was not in adelaide and it was never back tracked on the news the marks on the road looked nothing like ours not to mention i seen that vid when i was like 10years old

trouble with reporting them is they may have your plate as well and do the same. and a increase in hoon driver phone calls might also not have a desired effect. also remember its like 1% of calls result in a fine.

Edited by Inline 6
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346527

yeah so true,Dan. They showed the video with a cop watching it and the cop was like "we have no idea what road he's travelling on,but we'll find out". Yeah,right on!! Fly to japan and you'll find it. Just cos the description says Adelaide doesn't mean it's actually in Adelaide!!

Don't cops have anything better to do than troll youtube and search for "adelaide hoon","burnout" and "adelaide drift"? You never know... We might have a paul walker tagging along in our cruises now! Lol. This 'covert' crap is becoming a joke.

And +1 to the comment about Adelaide being a retirement state! We have too many people being keyboard warriors on adelaidenow website,commenting every hoon story with useless shit like "lock him up for life" and "crush his car and the family car". It just adds fuel to the advertisers brainless editors who froth off hoon stories.

Best example of that: adelaidenow had a poll saying: should p platers be banned from high performance cars? They had no 'no' option!! How bad is that!! Someone commented on that too,saying 'typical adelaidenow poll...'

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346560

Couldnt give a rats arse...... I had a 34, sold it to buy a house, i had the caliber before i sold the line, im looking for a Stagea at the moment.

your an idiot

Only Kidding .... or am I :)

Sorry lady, I didn't mean to offend your delicate sensibilities.

Oh no people don't agree with me....

Get over yourself.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346551

it doesnt matter if u got a P plate or not. i was on my full licence and still defected and have been targetted in the past without driving in a stupid manner.

-apart from the time i lost my licence to drink driving, that was one occasion out of 8 times being pulled over.

Edited by Pauly33GTS-t
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346609

at times tho, it is infact the individual driving the car, most times when a cop is tailing you its because they are pulling up your details from the rookie in the passenger seat.

my cousin has been pulled over once for suspected hoon driving (he screeched wheels over tram tracks at glenelg), ever since then, he has been targetted countless times in his stock commodore VY SS, and was defected in it, for having stock suspension, and being too low (wtf). regency re-wrote the books so that he would pass because they admitted they were wrong, but still made him pay $$ for 2 visits. and this is less than a year ago.

when will the little things these wankers running the state do = one big thing that pisses us off? or are we too docile to do anything?

Edited by Pauly33GTS-t
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346620

This is why you help..... do you want to be put in the same category as these idiots that ruin it all for the rest of us? Do you want to be continually scrutinized because it has a skyline badge? If you want things to change then we (everyone) hold the power, we can get rid of these that make it bad for the rest of us. Hell i have chuck a burnout or 2 and even drove a little quicker than the speed limit (210 pffft) but there is a time and a place for it, and definitely not filming it and putting it on you tube.

Tell him he's dreamin...

No seriously. I know it sounds nice, but the reality of the police in this state is that they are here to make money for the government. NOT to promote justice. Sounds sad, but theres no way in hell that things are going to change.

-D

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346654

most have private funding.

actually, they can, and well, they are.

besides that, some people simply wouldnt take it to the track, prefer the thrill on the street.

dont get me wrong, the tracks are there to make a profit for private investors but several prominent ones do have financial and community support from the government/police

yes there is always going to be a street racing bunch, there always has ever since car modifying was around, but providing an alternative that dosent cost you $150 dollars and a 2 hour drive will see some of the smarter guys avoid street antics....

friday night street drags, like the good ol days or AIR would be perfect i would have my car out there every single friday, its all i wanted to do when i was younger, then i got my licence, got a car worthy of the track and the thing closes never to be opened

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346719

I read this in the Mail this morning, just means smart people will avoid all the known spots.

Shit isn't going to change in Adelaide any time soon, as someone said this is the retirement state. Hell the Mail even had a story on Rann sporting a bit of a the sphincter of the universe neck :(

Not only that they reckon he could stay on as Premier for another decade, imagine what we have now but worse. Soon enough there'll be fines for listening to anything but 103.9 :)

Anyway I don't care about defects/blitzes/hoon laws, I have a 100% stock car that I drive like a pensioner ;)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346776

I read this in the Mail this morning, just means smart people will avoid all the known spots.

Shit isn't going to change in Adelaide any time soon, as someone said this is the retirement state. Hell the Mail even had a story on Rann sporting a bit of a the sphincter of the universe neck :(

Not only that they reckon he could stay on as Premier for another decade, imagine what we have now but worse. Soon enough there'll be fines for listening to anything but 103.9 :)

Anyway I don't care about defects/blitzes/hoon laws, I have a 100% stock car that I drive like a pensioner ;)

Yeah but with that story on rann, they ran another web based poll and 9/10's said he'd be out next election - disatisfaction with the Rann govt is widespread at the moment, so again, 'tell him he's dreamin'

-D

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/#findComment-4346840