SLED Posted January 13, 2009 Share Posted January 13, 2009 I agree with you totally. Don't get me wrong. I see benefits in the govt assisting to get AIR back open. However, as far as the economy goes, its good to see the govt making money, not losing it. Otherwise we see more motorist-targetted revenue like rego increases and higher fines. The govt couldn't justify increases in rego for all motorists to cover an AIR project when barely 0.5% would actually use it. Investing in projects like Hindmarsh Stadium or Tour Down Under etc makes money, or at least better money than AIR, so I can understand why they never went thru with their interest in AIR. But at this time, they do not own or have anything to do with AIR, so saying the govt should do something about it is really quite pointless, when they have far better investments for the state to make. Thats what I mean about having to sell the interest to the government: AIR must look like an attractive investment (either monetary or community benefits) for them to do something about it. However I'm sure the govt see us as sulking children crying on about "we only have hoons because we do not have AIR", which is rubbish ... I remember clearly seeing far more hoons on the road than entrants at the drags, long before AIR became an issue. The death toll is lower this year, and the hoon drivers are adding revenue. Hence, its not the govt's problem, there are things far higher on the agenda. Yeah I agree, well said. I agree that the well being of the economy, education and health must come first.....I just wish they would take a good look and redirect some of the govt spending for trips, hotels, dining, etc.....not to mention the ridiculous super schemes & retirement plans these pollys have waiting for them! in saying that you are saying the state government should worry more about revenue and income than saving lives? harsh reality unfortunately.....in their defense though, I'm sure they think they're doing both. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4365441 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RubyRS4 Posted January 13, 2009 Share Posted January 13, 2009 Yeah I agree, well said. I agree that the well being of the economy, education and health must come first.....I just wish they would take a good look and redirect some of the govt spending for trips, hotels, dining, etc.....not to mention the ridiculous super schemes & retirement plans these pollys have waiting for them! harsh reality unfortunately.....in their defense though, I'm sure they think they're doing both. Thankfully some of us are educated enough to see the big picture. Economics was always one of my favourite subjects at Uni. And working where I do being involved in projects all over SA shows the benefits of proper urban/project planning and how it benefits the state. The government is interested in saving lives of course ... it looks good for re-election. The road toll is lower and the state infrastructure just got a big boost ... so whats the problem again? Oh, a car scene wants us to fund a venue? But what about the new hospital they're going to build? To stay in power, you satisfy the majority of the population, and frankly, a car club doesn't have the numbers to swing votes. Especially when they know that most of the people screaming for a venue will never use it. Our hospitals are not keeping up with demand. Our roads are not keeping up with demand and the growing population. Our schools are still poorly funded. But you want a drag strip? Leave it to small business. Target the current AIR owner. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4365779 Share on other sites More sharing options...
luke james Posted January 13, 2009 Share Posted January 13, 2009 in saying that you are saying the state government should worry more about revenue and income than saving lives? Yes they do just worry about revenue rather than educate young drivers, look at the speed cameras how much money they make and how much gets put back towards driver training/education and how come in every other state the govt have raceways and driver training is a big part of the save lives campaign this is the facts !! Sorry im not edumacated..... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4365937 Share on other sites More sharing options...
rhys5169 Posted January 13, 2009 Share Posted January 13, 2009 i for one cannot wait for a change in state gov! ranns backwards thinking spin doctor mentality is ruining this state Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4365968 Share on other sites More sharing options...
nos man Posted January 13, 2009 Share Posted January 13, 2009 Thankfully some of us are educated enough to see the big picture. Economics was always one of my favourite subjects at Uni. And working where I do being involved in projects all over SA shows the benefits of proper urban/project planning and how it benefits the state. The government is interested in saving lives of course ... it looks good for re-election. The road toll is lower and the state infrastructure just got a big boost ... so whats the problem again? Oh, a car scene wants us to fund a venue? But what about the new hospital they're going to build? To stay in power, you satisfy the majority of the population, and frankly, a car club doesn't have the numbers to swing votes. Especially when they know that most of the people screaming for a venue will never use it. Our hospitals are not keeping up with demand. Our roads are not keeping up with demand and the growing population. Our schools are still poorly funded. But you want a drag strip? Leave it to small business. Target the current AIR owner. that's right! i did tourism for a bit and tourism makes up a big part of the economy e.g. hotels, resturants etc etc! that's why it seems like people not from here get taken care of more than people who do live here! could be exaggerating a bit but you's get my drift Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4365996 Share on other sites More sharing options...
savage GTR Posted January 13, 2009 Share Posted January 13, 2009 Maybe the answer to AIR would be to petition the local council for some action. They would get a positve spin for getting onto the owner and getting it open again ( they can get more council rates out of him cause the property would be worth more as a bonus.) On another note , Martin Hamilton Smith is more usless than Rann anyway . We havent got a great choice when it comes to leaders in this state. All a bunch of all talk and no brains . Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4366094 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RubyRS4 Posted January 13, 2009 Share Posted January 13, 2009 (edited) Maybe the answer to AIR would be to petition the local council for some action. They would get a positve spin for getting onto the owner and getting it open again ( they can get more council rates out of him cause the property would be worth more as a bonus.) On another note , Martin Hamilton Smith is more usless than Rann anyway . We havent got a great choice when it comes to leaders in this state. All a bunch of all talk and no brains . Not sure if the Council can entice the owner of AIR to re-open it soon. The owner of AIR also owns another drag strip interstate, and thats where all the money is going, so AIR is becoming derelict. Petitioning the owner of AIR to re-open it isn't working ... we've tried that. We'd have to convince him somehow that AIR can get the numbers up to make the revenue he is looking for, but unfortunately from the years I entered and spectated the numbers were not that great. The leaders and opposition in this State are media junkies for sure. But there are alot of people down the ranks in administration (private and public) who are doing the better work for the State. You'd be surprised how many projects/proposals get held back by the media junkies (Media Mike in particular) because its not great publicity for them. Remember the submarine and war destroyer contract? My mate was a project officer for that proposal and worked hard for the companies Ratheon and AWD to make the project fit the State budget. Everytime he got it within budget, Rann would push for a lower budget. Ratheon won the contract over some Spanish company and my mate was brushed aside as Rann stood in front of the media taking all the glory, making it look like he did something for the State. It was the private sector, not the public sector, that made the deal. My mate lost sleep, his social life and his marriage to make this work! Yet Rann was the one who almost jeopardised the project's success. Media Mike is a tosser for sure. btw when I say "educated" I mean there are some of us who can see the underlying factors behind what influences what and why things get done in the state. Keep an open mind is all I'm saying Edited January 13, 2009 by RubyRS4 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4366376 Share on other sites More sharing options...
luke james Posted January 14, 2009 Share Posted January 14, 2009 Not sure if the Council can entice the owner of AIR to re-open it soon. The owner of AIR also owns another drag strip interstate, and thats where all the money is going, so AIR is becoming derelict. Petitioning the owner of AIR to re-open it isn't working ... we've tried that. We'd have to convince him somehow that AIR can get the numbers up to make the revenue he is looking for, but unfortunately from the years I entered and spectated the numbers were not that great. The leaders and opposition in this State are media junkies for sure. But there are alot of people down the ranks in administration (private and public) who are doing the better work for the State. You'd be surprised how many projects/proposals get held back by the media junkies (Media Mike in particular) because its not great publicity for them. Remember the submarine and war destroyer contract? My mate was a project officer for that proposal and worked hard for the companies Ratheon and AWD to make the project fit the State budget. Everytime he got it within budget, Rann would push for a lower budget. Ratheon won the contract over some Spanish company and my mate was brushed aside as Rann stood in front of the media taking all the glory, making it look like he did something for the State. It was the private sector, not the public sector, that made the deal. My mate lost sleep, his social life and his marriage to make this work! Yet Rann was the one who almost jeopardised the project's success. Media Mike is a tosser for sure. btw when I say "educated" I mean there are some of us who can see the underlying factors behind what influences what and why things get done in the state. Keep an open mind is all I'm saying Totally agree media Mike is a TOOL you only see him when somthing has gone right for the state and chances are he had nothing to do with it but will take all the credit..... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4366953 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RubyRS4 Posted January 14, 2009 Share Posted January 14, 2009 Totally agree media Mike is a TOOL you only see him when somthing has gone right for the state and chances are he had nothing to do with it but will take all the credit..... He has nothing to do with alot around here. Nick Xenophon does more for the State than Media Mike. Its funny that Media Mike is running scared at the moment due to the Freedom club Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4367246 Share on other sites More sharing options...
rhys5169 Posted January 14, 2009 Share Posted January 14, 2009 have they been officially approved yet? i really do hope they keep these polies in check and dont get caught up in it all Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4367529 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RB PWR Posted January 14, 2009 Share Posted January 14, 2009 i don't see how i was being a idiot, when i was merely voicing my opinion. i am not the only person crying out for a drag strip in SA, so don't just point the finger at me please. im not going to get uptight about it but i think being called names was unwarranted and is a bit childish don't you agree? never once did i say that other people haven't tried or are trying to get AIR up and running, so i am not sure why people are saying i think nothing is being done? what hope do we have trying to sell the idea to the SA government if they continue to stick their heads in the sand? how many petitions do we need to have until the SA government listens? im getting told that i, myself has to sell the idea to the SA government, but i cant be a one man band. if the SA government had half a brain it would see the spin-off benefits a legal race track will have. how many years has the Clipsal 500 been in adelaide? surely some of the profits from hosting the event can go towards a long awaited drag strip or put back into grass root motor sport activities? i am not blaming the SA government but do you agree with me that AIR doesn't have the facilities to hold international events? therefore if the facilities were upgraded it would gain recognition from visiting international drivers and riders? big blob janes fault here lets not forget about the proposed motor sport complex in the port area, anyone heard anymore about that? was the petition just a waste of time? I totally agree that health, education and our roads are more important than a drag strip, but what is rann doing about it? our roads have more patches and variations than a patch work quilt. all talk and not much action. anyway ruby at least we agree on one thing, that media mike is a tosser! just my 2c from the unedukated person. cheers. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4367806 Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLED Posted January 14, 2009 Share Posted January 14, 2009 Its funny that Media Mike is running scared at the moment due to the Freedom club the Freedom campaign is a can of worms that he probably wishes never reared it's 4 ugly heads..........I've got no idea how Rann's new laws will finish up or how they will be able to effectively enforce them..........I'll sit back and watch me thinks. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4368168 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RubyRS4 Posted January 14, 2009 Share Posted January 14, 2009 the Freedom campaign is a can of worms that he probably wishes never reared it's 4 ugly heads..........I've got no idea how Rann's new laws will finish up or how they will be able to effectively enforce them..........I'll sit back and watch me thinks. Yeah, me too. $5 says Rann sits idle for a while hoping the Freedom campaign will fade into the background. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4368455 Share on other sites More sharing options...
luke james Posted January 14, 2009 Share Posted January 14, 2009 i don't see how i was being a idiot, when i was merely voicing my opinion. i am not the only person crying out for a drag strip in SA, so don't just point the finger at me please. im not going to get uptight about it but i think being called names was unwarranted and is a bit childish don't you agree? never once did i say that other people haven't tried or are trying to get AIR up and running, so i am not sure why people are saying i think nothing is being done? what hope do we have trying to sell the idea to the SA government if they continue to stick their heads in the sand? how many petitions do we need to have until the SA government listens? im getting told that i, myself has to sell the idea to the SA government, but i cant be a one man band. if the SA government had half a brain it would see the spin-off benefits a legal race track will have. how many years has the Clipsal 500 been in adelaide? surely some of the profits from hosting the event can go towards a long awaited drag strip or put back into grass root motor sport activities? i am not blaming the SA government but do you agree with me that AIR doesn't have the facilities to hold international events? therefore if the facilities were upgraded it would gain recognition from visiting international drivers and riders? big blob janes fault here lets not forget about the proposed motor sport complex in the port area, anyone heard anymore about that? was the petition just a waste of time? I totally agree that health, education and our roads are more important than a drag strip, but what is rann doing about it? our roads have more patches and variations than a patch work quilt. all talk and not much action. anyway ruby at least we agree on one thing, that media mike is a tosser! just my 2c from the unedukated person. cheers. I totally agree with you lets stop all fighting/disagreeing with each other it will get us no where lets stick together and get this shit happning any1 have suggestions on gettin the ball rolling? im sick of this state being without a facility to drift/drag /sprint or train young drivers in road etiquette and im sure if they build somthing decent the v8s will be more than happy to use it and it wont disrupt Adelaide traffic.......It may even keep hoons of the streets and maybe lower the road toll even by 1 or 2 its worth it PS: the govt have a duty of care ........ Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4368489 Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLED Posted January 14, 2009 Share Posted January 14, 2009 Problem is Roo, his biggest nightmare may become a reality.....rather than splitting these gangs up and sending them interstate, clubs that hated each other are now joining forces......who would've ever thought?! Another outcome he'd be dreading would be if they started to turn their focus on the public when they used to war amongst each other.......if they all join forces, we could see another Chicago of 80 years ago, lol Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4368500 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RubyRS4 Posted January 14, 2009 Share Posted January 14, 2009 (edited) Problem is Roo, his biggest nightmare may become a reality.....rather than splitting these gangs up and sending them interstate, clubs that hated each other are now joining forces......who would've ever thought?!Another outcome he'd be dreading would be if they started to turn their focus on the public when they used to war amongst each other.......if they all join forces, we could see another Chicago of 80 years ago, lol I don't think the general public would be in any danger (thanks for scaring them all Pete ), rather they'd run down the line of who they deal with. A bit like Underbelly. It'll prob spill out into the public more (like Gouger St) and innocents will witness bad things, but not sure there's a big risk of the public being casualties. I know the clubs were not happy about the attention Gouger St got, so I'm sure they'd try to avoid that. Dunno. Who knows. Sit back and watch, as said. Hell, if that happened, it'd give Rann more power. I'm sure they wouldn't want that. Edited January 14, 2009 by RubyRS4 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4368520 Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLED Posted January 14, 2009 Share Posted January 14, 2009 haha, the Chicago bit was a bit tongue in cheek, hence the "lol" at the end Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4368547 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RubyRS4 Posted January 14, 2009 Share Posted January 14, 2009 Less Chicago ... more Underbelly Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4368551 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dohmar Posted January 14, 2009 Share Posted January 14, 2009 Problem is Roo, his biggest nightmare may become a reality.....rather than splitting these gangs up and sending them interstate, clubs that hated each other are now joining forces......who would've ever thought?! I'm no psychologist, but its frigging obvious. The old saying 'the enemy of my enemy is my friend' is the overruling creed, and whomever is the bigger threat, is bound to face people who otherwise would be diametrically opposed.... The victorian police chief (Christine Nixon) predicted this would happen and now that it has, we hear sod all about it on the news... The sad thing is our media are the most complicit in whitewashing. If there was a single objective "journalist" worth his/her salt, they would expose this crap. But sadly theyre more interested in who paris hilton is f**king. -D Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4368607 Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLED Posted January 14, 2009 Share Posted January 14, 2009 haha, too true Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/250995-hoons-targeted/page/9/#findComment-4368619 Share on other sites More sharing options...