circa 250 would be damn nice... but much nicer to have more torque on the way to 6,000 too :) Below 4-5,000 mine feels down on stock ( :) ) with the steel-wheeled hi-flow... but that is mainly because I am without a boost controller as yet. Are you worried about lag with something big-ish like a 30 series turbo? They are supposed to be gearbox breakers in Nissan autos (I have read that the flex plate becomes an issue at a little above 250rwkw in the tiptronic box) and you might soon be testing the capabilities of the driveshafts... sounds like a lot of fun! ;)

• Replies 58

Brendo, now that you've got the original cams out of the engine, is there any chance you could have them measured up for lift and duration? I've heard from a few different workshops that they think the Stagea cams are different to R33 Skyline ones, so I'd like to know if this is indeed true.

Nice work on getting the power and torque up to a very enjoyable level!

I would be looking at a 2871, phat midrange, and past 250 or so i recon the driveline will go BOOM, but there is no magical number is there? it will just be somewhere up that area?

Best to ask brad...

garrett like the gt2876r (aka hks 2835), most likely a gt3071r (aka hks 2540), or gt3076r. hks 2540 looks the goods TBH.

hi tangles

the turbo listings you have there aren't quite correct but in simple terms the HKS 2835 (ProS i am guessing you mean) has more in common with the GT3071 as they share the same compressor but the HKS version has a cropped 56mm turbine (vs 60mm turbine on the GT3071) and has a HKS designed internally gated turbine housing. both more or less are 450hp turbos.

the GT3076R has the same turbine as the GT3071 but a larger compressor ie 76mm compressor. more or less a 500hp turbo.

the GT2876 is something not worth looking at as the turbine is too small to flow enough for the compressor it is strapped to.

dave, there are heaps of garret turbos starting from 900USd for a gt3071r

also ebay greddy fmic 600x400 $350 new :)

always stuff around

get a quote from Slide, or have a look at croydons garrett turbo price update..

$1450 gt3071r http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/Ga...90#entry4374090

search around and do a deal with a 'dealer' :)

best with it ! ;)

cheers wolverine, I'll look towards a new Garrett GT3071r-IW BB

or for a little less $$ and lots of late night searchs perhaps a slightly used HKS GT2540

240awkw will be a nice mark, say around 250rwkw :)

all in good time tho.

feels awesome as is in 2nd and 3rd gear, auto is feeling strong, but 4th gear & Overdrive gear, turbo feels too small for the Head work

rpm low while the turbo is huffing... need a loooooooooooooong road to see. but no strip in adelaide. :)

head stuff;- yeah fully decked out ported etc. 2000$ installation job. plus my parts $3000

again, feels so amazing, the engine is topz!

very happy with the end result although I shouldnt have spent that money

never mind

anyway, stated out my plan to sell some parts & the slide turbo (all up at least $1300), grab a garrett and tune !!

happy dance ;)

have. from what I understand to GT3071R-IW BB is what Im after

however as far as I can tell the GT2876R is very similar to GT2540R....

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/REAL-GARRET...p4506.m20.l1116

wouldnt the cams/engine package help the gt2876R?

anyways, nevermind :angry:

there is a reason why there is no demand for 2540's and hence cheap...

when i was thinking of doing upgrades to the stag before deciding i would be better off just getting a 33gtr later in life, i decided 2871r would be the way to go, probably max out in the 220-250 region on 15-17psi with the auto, or if i was prepared to risk the driveline and sacrifice midrange for topend(stupid in a stagea) i would go 30 series... i will try and find the 2871 graphs i am thinking off and post back

edit: http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/Turbo-t196170.html couldnt find his follow up posts tho

Edited by Ryan1600

the issue is....you are strapping a 400hp turbine to a 500hp compressor. choking the exhaust side would be a tragedy with cams and a ported head.

a GT2871 is a closer match but you need to get a T3 flanged turbine housing (which garrett haven't made....unless there is one now?) so you need to have it shoehorned into a standard nissan housing OR buy the HKS version of the GT2871 the HKS GT-RS which has a specific HKS T3 housing.

having had both a GCG hi-flow and a HKS GT-RS on our stagea i can say there is not much between them in performance.

i think you should be looking at a GT3071 or the GT3076 both with the 60mm turbine in a 0.82 turbine housing. (don't choose the 0.63 housing).

with the cams and headwork the GT3076 will get you an easy 275rwkw without wringing its neck and personally that is what i would go for. if i could specify the 52trim compressor then that would be the icing on the cake (ie approx 475hp comp) which lowers it top end potential but should bring it on a whisker earlier than the 56trim version.

Edited by wolverine

this should be in forced induction peformance, not stag specific, some f**ken guru's in there.

HPinabox do a t3 rear for 28series, or you could prolly get it fitted to a VG30 rear? another search to come, hang on ---edit: cant find the graphs i was looking for of another persons car, but you could run a 56 trim .86housing, and depending on your dump pipe setup get a custom flanged dump or cut your dump/front in one in half, add flanges so you can switch out the custom T2 end with your current T3 end... would probably make it the easiest way to buy and sell turbos too, and get some braided lines made up, and you would be using a proven housing!!!

Slide or CRD would have them for a nice price. Either way you would need lines, but i think the custom dump is the way to go!

Edited by Ryan1600

ECC on Ns.com Has these: http://www.nissansilvia.com/forums/index.p...howtopic=297156

T3 FLANGED TURBOS

GT3076R

.6ar comp, turbine housing not included list - but choice of .64, .86 or 1.00ar rear to suit ext gate. 450- 500hp. has 4" inlet with anti surge comp cover

(this is the new flavour of the month turbo on this site apparently. the one everyone is talking about lately)

GT3076/3037R

.7ar comp, .82ar rear 500hp (4" inlet, suit ext gate)

GT3082R aka GT30 aka GT3040

.7ar comp, .82ar rear 600hp (4" inlet, internal wastegate)

.7ar comp, .63ar rear 500hp (4" inlet, internal wastegate)

GT3582R aka GT35 aka GT3540

.7ar comp, .86ar rear 700hp (4" inlet, internal wastegate)

.7ar comp, .63ar rear 700hp (4" inlet, internal wastegate)

.7ar comp, 1.06ar rear 700hp (4" inlet, internal wastegate)

have. from what I understand to GT3071R-IW BB is what Im after

however as far as I can tell the GT2876R is very similar to GT2540R....

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/REAL-GARRET...p4506.m20.l1116

anyways, nevermind :angry:

While I am very happy with my GCG Hi-flow (plenty of boost from 2,500 on with my Jaycar EIBC Dave) I have heard good things from users of these two (quote):

i think you should be looking at a GT3071 or the GT3076 both with the 60mm turbine in a 0.82 turbine housing. (don't choose the 0.63 housing).

with the cams and headwork the GT3076 will get you an easy 275rwkw without wringing its neck and personally that is what i would go for. if i could specify the 52trim compressor then that would be the icing on the cake (ie approx 475hp comp) which lowers it top end potential but should bring it on a whisker earlier than the 56trim version (end quote)

However while you car is going so well I would save up for a brand new (or known near new) one rather than looking for a bargain on ebay. That way you shouldn't have to touch it for years (apart from the odd tune).

While I am very happy with my GCG Hi-flow (plenty of boost from 2,500 on with my Jaycar EIBC Dave)

awesome, awesome... I will get around to fitting mine *soon*!

I am a little concerned my GCG hi-flow may be running out of puff already... at ~185rwkw I am wondering if I have maxed out the turbo or fuel. Tangles I reckon the autos are eating a lot of power... the same setup on mine on a manual is a proven ~240rwkw, sometimes over 250rwkw, and I'm guessing that yours would be the same? Therefore I reckon if you want any appreciable amount more top-end, go for a bigger turbo than what is shown to give say 240-250rwkw 'cause those figures are almost always from a rwd manual chassis (yeah I know you would know this better than me... this is just for my own thinking/realisation really :()... auto + awd seems to chew up a fair bit more than that. De-rate it and go for a 275-300rwkw turbo ;) you will probably end up with "only" 240-250rwkw...? I swear my auto is eating more than 70kw.

Edited by DaveB

Auto is the only option for Brendo, so no more talk of them soaking up power... and f**k a manual stagea would shit me!

Search on the poster name URAS and the keyword AUTO in the forced induction section, interesting thread!

nice work Brendan, she come along nicely since u bought it all that time ago :P I thought u were keeping it basic mod wise and had a budget, sounds like u got the bug and its bitten hard lol :blink:

i have a gt3076r on my new engine (rb30 bottom end, 26 head) and it spools soo damn quick its not funny, i wouldnt go any smaller personally, i am used to a t04z though so yer, i still am not happy with the current power levels mine is making, but i have a few similiar issues with blocked cat etc and the 3076r should go 400rwhp pretty easily if u want to push it. Dont go too small or u might as well keep what u currently have! I wished i went the gt3582r now on mine, the early spool is rather annoying as cruising around town and its whistling and spooling at 2000rpm, not my cup of tea. I would think it would be a perfect match for the rb25 engine though, i just hope the old auto can handle it thats the main hold back for you i think.

good luck with it mate

thanks heaps mate !

yeah really happy with it atm, next route whenever that is will be a GT30 for sure

all the advice (ta peeps!) is for the 3076r so thats the go. unless I find a 3071r for half price new :P

feels / sounds / goes well as-is atm so gotta be smiley with that :P done 3 night hills runs, hasnt missed a beat at all

hard on boost thru corners 2x posted recommended speed 2or3rd gear its really really fun! nicely sorted and doesnt get out of line (ie in my lane the whole time on runs, as a exbiker I know how important it is for cars to stay on their side of the road thru corners), but feel the attessa doing its thing.

oh and re the auto, with the mv auto shift kit and full service from mike at MV auto's, the auto really is matching up very well, atm, to the engine package. only "hold" off the gearing is a 3rd to 4th flare, takes a little while to change over but then again the ecu redline rpm limiter is set to 7000 and derestricted, so thinking its just how it is, not an issue just takes 2sec to flick over, above speed limit tho... so again around town lower rpm isnt an issue. drives awesome :banana:

(ie in my lane the whole time on runs, as a exbiker I know how important it is for cars to stay on their side of the road thru corners),

i hate people who use both lanes... :)

Well keep me posted on how the 3076 goes!!!