After living in Sydney for the last 18 months I get back here and its seriously a joke. I never noticed it before because i was so conditioned but after reading some of the posts and hearing some of the stories i really have to wonder what value for money i am getting for taxes.

Let me elaborate:

Going on a nite on the town in Melbourne: Every second time I go out there is some sort of fight brawl that i will witness during the night. Whether that is inside the club(s) or in the street. Some ppl here really have an attitude problem. What concerns me the most however is the lack or identifiable police foot presence in hotspots to prevent this sort of behaviour and even worse, the inadequate response time.

Meanwhile, for some reason which i cannot understand (other than it bringing in more revenue) Vic Police management thinks that resources are much better spent defecting cars / issuing speeding fines / patrolling for hoons.

Now don't get me wrong, I don't condone this sort of behaviour but where are the priorities? Sure it might make a good story on a current affair to impound 20 cars in a night but given the seriousness of Melbourne's street violence epidemic, I really have to question the competance of senior police members.

This compares to Sydney:

Street violence also occurs but is much less of a problem. I can walk safely in the CBD or through the cross and i wont feel unsafe. I wont see a brawl every time i go out clubbing. On the few occasions it did happen, police response was expediant (compared to VIC at least).

I drove around in my imported car and police wouldn't even look twice at me. I never got pulled over or ever got hasseled.

My point is this: Police would rather spend resources catching ppl with illegal mods on their car but otherwise law abiding citizens rather than concentrating their efforts/resources on cutting down street violence. Where are the priorities gone?

^^ here here, the past 6 months in Melb CBD has seen epic numbers of Police on the streets.

Im often passing through @ various times over the weekends and so on and see no less than triple figures of police... marked cars, unmarked, on foot, and so on. Massive presence.

Did you drive around on Vic plates? half the reason right there.

Also think about where the car problem lies in NSW, its not in the CBD or close to it, its much further out.

Different states, different problems, areas, issues.

i dont hit the clubs that often, but when i did it was just after they were talking about cracking down on street violence.

the time i went to the clubs before the crack down, be lucky to see 5cops in a 20mins walk back to crown carpark.

now last time i went to the clubs i was scared to sneeze. outside the club i was lined up there were 8cops standing there, across the road another 6-8 foot patrol, down the road the same again.

few hour's in the club, came out same again, cops are every where on foot, felt really safe, untill i jumped in my car and had to drive home was waiting for one to write up a epa for exhaust, but they

had better things to do that night, crack down on violence ......

After living in Sydney for the last 18 months I get back here and its seriously a joke. I never noticed it before because i was so conditioned but after reading some of the posts and hearing some of the stories i really have to wonder what value for money i am getting for taxes.

Let me elaborate:

Going on a nite on the town in Melbourne: Every second time I go out there is some sort of fight brawl that i will witness during the night. Whether that is inside the club(s) or in the street. Some ppl here really have an attitude problem. What concerns me the most however is the lack or identifiable police foot presence in hotspots to prevent this sort of behaviour and even worse, the inadequate response time.

Meanwhile, for some reason which i cannot understand (other than it bringing in more revenue) Vic Police management thinks that resources are much better spent defecting cars / issuing speeding fines / patrolling for hoons.

Now don't get me wrong, I don't condone this sort of behaviour but where are the priorities? Sure it might make a good story on a current affair to impound 20 cars in a night but given the seriousness of Melbourne's street violence epidemic, I really have to question the competance of senior police members.

This compares to Sydney:

Street violence also occurs but is much less of a problem. I can walk safely in the CBD or through the cross and i wont feel unsafe. I wont see a brawl every time i go out clubbing. On the few occasions it did happen, police response was expediant (compared to VIC at least).

I drove around in my imported car and police wouldn't even look twice at me. I never got pulled over or ever got hasseled.

My point is this: Police would rather spend resources catching ppl with illegal mods on their car but otherwise law abiding citizens rather than concentrating their efforts/resources on cutting down street violence. Where are the priorities gone?

You also have to remember that kings cross was a heap worse than us not all that long ago, then the cops cracked down and put an end to it, melbourne is just going through this phase now, personally though tax payers should not be paying for this, maybe every person caught fighting should be hit with a $5000 fine to cover the cost of the cops being there lets see how many fights we have then, i dont go to clubs any more but when i did i never once got into a fight, its also amazing how the same people are the ones getting into fights every weekend.

I've never felt unsafe walking through the CBD at any time of the night/early hours of the morning...

I'm not sure what kind of clubs you're hanging out at...

same everytime Stace and i come down there we always go out till the small hours in the city....much safer in our opinion than Sydney.

Should watch a tv show set in the UK about drunken violence, they have it tough there; plenty of police numbers but no guns so alot of the time its the cops getting messed up.

To be a cop in the UK, you need to be at least 6'2 and 130kg..........nucking futzzzz

i think they have seriously dropped the entry requirements for vicpol recruits.... regularly see cops learning traffic management at intersections in the cbd - some of them are only 5'5" !

Baddzzzz bro, i think it used to be a 50pushup requirement, now its probably a 50 jerk-off's of the hand to get in the police force; i mean wanker seems to reflect the reputation of the police today!!

Cheers to people who drive beige cars!

as of recenetly the police in the cbd has got alot better, u do feel safe...i have noticed not sure if anyone else has...the security at clubs are getting a little bit better..to the clubs ive been too they used to just have small 5'5 uni students looking for a part time job, but since all the violence is getting worse they are starting to employee big 6 foot massive guys...im still not conviced however that the police priorites are in the right place...catching people street racing, burn outs, drifting all good but getting pulled over for doing the speed limit just because your car is modified is a joke

just did a day trip to warrnambool today, from South eat melbourne through geelong and into the center of Warrn'

saw only 1 marked ford outside a chicken shop. so 720k's travelled and one cop getting lunch ... feel a bit more at ease now :angry:

visited sydney, and i didn't feel safe in Cross, even though the cop station is right there, but the Cbd was very safe...

what is a joke about Victoria police is them fining people for having their Foglights on, i mean common, that is revenue raising at its best...

its like they have to find a reason to fine you,

visited sydney, and i didn't feel safe in Cross, even though the cop station is right there, but the Cbd was very safe...

what is a joke about Victoria police is them fining people for having their Foglights on, i mean common, that is revenue raising at its best...

I think fog lights are as annoying as f**k, they are not needed and are purely a "look at me" factor and idiots that use them should be fined for it.

look up the term police in the dictionary you might be suprirsed of its meaning

it means to police a situation before something bad happens

so police an environment to deter people from doing bad things

police doesnt mean, solve a crime after it has occured, thats a detective

i think they have seriously dropped the entry requirements for vicpol recruits.... regularly see cops learning traffic management at intersections in the cbd - some of them are only 5'5" !

My mrs wants to be a cop, she is 5'2"ish, 50ishkg... You can see why i am against it, I'm 6'2" 85kg and if i wanted to not have handcuffs put on, there would be no chance.

So this is BS: Weight / Height - There is no minimum or maximum height requirement. from http://www.police.vic.gov.au/content.asp?Document_ID=14447

for people with certain eye-conditions, the way the beam is thrown up is an issue

Edited by Ryan1600
A bit of pepper spray and a baton will level the playing field a bit

Not always.....i know an big mouri guy that copped a party pack king size is the mooshky and he kept going....it took about 10 piglets to stop the guy :D

I think fog lights are as annoying as f**k, they are not needed and are purely a "look at me" factor and idiots that use them should be fined for it.

i use my foglights for the looks at me factor, so people see me and dont cut me off in traffic. my headlights are on auto sensor, but its not dark enough at times, just chuck the fog lights on, and do the switch when the headlights come on. that way i dont leave my head lights on when i get out of the car. have not been fined for it, drive past plenty of cops.

they tend to work better for oncoming traffic who have the sun in there eyes.

maybe every person caught fighting should be hit with a $5000 fine to cover the cost of the cops being there lets see how many fights we have then

I think they did something similar to this in Munich, Germany, and funnily enough I think it was $5000 euros if involved, not even the instigator, so that anytime a fight would break out there was a minimum of $10000 euros in fines. They have record low street violence. Nuff said?

I never actually read the law myself, but it was one of the first things my mate told me and Joeyjoejoe when we arrived, and it certainly stopped us from king hitting anyone. So even if he was making it up, it was effective at stoppping my friend and I from getting into any mischief.