Woah, theres a lot of BS been written here so far.

Diesel mechs on 100k a year?? Yeah right, their working 12 hr shifts for 3 weeks on 1 off, how many people last doing that? Mining is dead. We will never have that boom again in our lives. Forget it.

I am yet to meet a mechanic who is proud to be one after any length in the trade....Im talking about those that have made a career of it, not do the apprenticeship and leave.

The automotive trade, cars especially, root your arms, back etc. Your playing in toxic chemicals all day. You have customers who follow you home to imitimidate you that think their right is to have things done for free. You work with noisy rattle guns, hammers, presses etc. Your playing in dust. Did you still know that only in the last couple of years has asbestos been banned in the automotive trade? Thats right, to pull a house down that has asbestos, you need a space suit, a license and get paid a fortune. A mechanic just scraps the gasket full of asbestos, or clutch or brakes and breathes that shit in with no protection.

One fella commented that cars seemed simple. WTF, spend a week with me friend, you will walk away saying "F#$K that shit".

Be aware that the MTA WILL NOT provide results for your work, unless you finish your apprenticeship. I know a bloke, who after three years, got his girlfriend pregnant, had to get a better paying job. He did not get any credit from the MTA, once things calmed down he restarted his apprenticeship from SCRATCH! You have been warned. Remember the MTA is privately owned, vs. TAFE being gov't owned, the difference this makes is significant.

I didn't care about money at first, but now my mates earn 2 or 3 or 4 times what I do. It f$%ks me off no end. I have to save up for a pair of tyres for weeks. They can pay for a killer clutch with one pay. I drive a 20 yr old car, they drive a car with factory warranty. My car breaks, I cry. If their car breaks, I have to fix it, so I still cry.

The pressure in a busy dealer workshop is horrendous. Mechanics have been institutionalised from the stress. Remember, one loose nut can kill a person or family. The mechanic who causes that WILL be charged with manslaughter.

If you want to seriously be a mechanic. Get onto your local member of parliament and pressure them for licensing for mechanics. Then our wages may be better.

Someone said mechanics wages are on the rise. In relation to what? Did you know some of the current diesels have 7 sensors around the DPF in the exhaust? Thats one part of the vehicle. The knowledge required for a mechanic is now bordering on rediculous, hence most mechanics leave the trade by 25yrs. The modern car is the most complecated item in production in the world. Mechanics are now expected to know about metals, fluids, airflow, body work, electrics, chemistry etc. Have our wages really risen? No way.

No one is interested in hiring ex-mechanics to work other jobs. I've tried. Hence most become couriers or truck drivers or farmers.

And all your mates expect you to fix their cars for free, but for some reason plummers and sparkys still get paid.

There are other stupid disadvantages to being a mechanic such as no super paid on over time. About the only job where this is true. Only 6 sick days a year, again almost all jobs allow 12. 15 years for long service, most is 10 some 7 years.

So, shit working conditions

shit wages

shit benefits

shit future prospects

shit jobs with out pay from friends/family

and shit respect from the public......You WILL NOT pull chicks by telling them your a grease monkey.

You will end up knowing heaps about cars if you apply yourself. But think about it, when was the last time you seen a car featured in a magazine that was owned by a mechanic? I've seen them owned by workshops, but never by an employed mechanic...so that knowledge is useless.

Ive done some dumb things in my time, but CHOOSING to be a mechanic sure as hell tops the list.

Well MYRB30 my name is Craig And I have been a Diesel mechanic for approx 13 yr now and I still love it. It has taken me to more than 30 countries through out the world and I have been making alot more than 100k a year for over 10 yrs now. In fact I cracked the 100k in my 3rd yr. Every day as a mechanic is a new day you never stop learning. I will agree with you, it is hard on the body and you work with some very crusty chemicals, nothing worse than what most kids do to them selves @ night clubs now adays. (Geez I'm starting to show my age) Being a diesel mechanic has now taken me to be part of a team that rebuilds gas turbines for power generations. In fact last week I finished a install on a 35,000hp (26,100kw) gas turbine. When things like that fire up it puts a smile on your face. Yes the mines and slowing in Oz, but there are still a huge amount of them booming all over the world. Oz is a very little place in the big scheme of things. I done all my time in the oil and gas industry and i know that they are screaming for good trade people world wide. This crap that you have to have uni degree has been the best thing for people who are willing to work and have a trade, as there is a huge shortage of qualified trades people. I was going to go to uni and do my degree in mechanical engineering, and looking back now I am so glad i got a trade. I was also going to do my trade as a car mechanic and also glad I didn't. Diesel mech are highly sort after. They are trained in a wide range of other trades. Welding, fitting & turning, auto elec, Refrigeration, and many more. Boiler maker and electricians are also very highly sort after.

In my opinion DamageInc do a trade. You wont regret it. Car mech don't make good money and that is common knowledge. If you become a diesel mech you will still be able to fix your car. Having a trade opens your windows to alot of other opportunities it just comes down to you and if you want to do it enough. It would be good to get one of those prevoc courses, but most places that are taking apprentices on are looking for people that are confident well presented and will to have a real crack. don't go in half cocked and not sure if you want to do it as they will walk all over you. I never had any prevoc courses. in fact I was changing tyres in a servo so that I could save some money before I went to uni and was watching the diesel mechs working and said to my self, I want to do that and I started putting my name out there.

• Replies 74

if i could turn back time and actually listen to my old folks, i would have got into a trade, for sure!

i wouldnt be visiting 5 or more supermarkets a day listening to bitching managers while getting paid

nearly SFA!

cant afford to start a trade now but, need every $ i get.

so do it mitch, ''dont get into any more debt with cars''. (as spoken by my old man 5 years ago)

Haha and to think about it, supermarket managers and retail chain managers don't get paid much, either. I'm currently on more than my old boss at Kmart! But it depends on the 'ranks' too...

It also depends on what trade you wanted to get into... eg. Hairdressing... my ex was one, finished her apprenticeship, and still earned barely anything. Even opening your own salon is over-rated these days.

But this is all about being a mechanic, so I'll get back on topic!

Anyone know if there's much money to be made if you ended up opening your own workshop after you paid all the wages, leasing, etc etc?

agreed its good to have a trade to fall back on, its sort of like an insurance that you will always get employment.

ive been an automotive painter for 7 years now, and it has its good and bad points. its always rewarding to see a smashed up car roll in and have it looking like new again in a couple of days, it good to use the skills learned on my own cars too, and it keeps me active as opposed to sitting on my ass all day in an office.

chemicals arent so nice though, pay isnt great (our trade can thank insurance companys for that), does get a bit repedative after years of the same thing too. i made good money painting on the industrial side for a short time eg earthmovers, cranes, shipping containers and other massive shit. but thats far more enduring and messy (no-one i worked with was really in that for the long term).

but yeah if you are keen on the idea give it a go and see what you think, croydon tafe do good pre-voc courses that will almost guarantee you an apprenticeship somewhere and also give you an idea of whats involved with being a mechanic. and if you dont like it just leave and try something else.

• 7 months later...

do it.... IF.. you REALLY want to. MTA would be the best way to go around it. they give you tools and stuff which is all good. BUT

remember, MTA is a UNION for the MOTOR TRADERS. ie. dealerships and workshops.

there the union for your boss. MTA train apprentices because there union members want it.

so note. that not only are you your bosses bitch, your their unions bitch as well.

i work for BEA motors. or shall i say HOSTED by bea motors. so yes, i get to work on mercedes all day. which means im one of the lucky ones that got a decent placement (compared to some guys working at profix...)

if your keen, you can and will learn a TONNE. BUT> the money is pathetic, and always will be. so become a mechanic IF you just want to get a trade under your belt and then move on. OR own your own business... or i guess if your contempt with working in a harsh environment and earning near F&%^ all.

that said, it does have its perks. IE> cheap car parts, free hoist useage and the skills to fix ya own stuff. not to mention start your own business or just do cashies on the weekend. (thats where you earn $50 a hour)

ohh, and i was talking to a diesel fitter working up at mount prominant earning a bucket load. he was saying that a qualified light vehicle mechanic can go over there and get a job on 100k a year easy.

granted you need to adapt to that way of living (which is why i recon mine people get paid so much. 2 weeks on, 1 off etc. etc.)

well , ive applied for Tafe doing Cert 2 in Automotive Mechanics starting next year which im pretty keen on.

thats a 6 months course and 2 of my mates just finished it and said good things about it , having said that , they said that ive done more work to my car then Tafe will teach me.

end of the day all i want is to earn enough money to supply my hobby (drifting) with enough money for parts n stuff and still have a little bit on the side to take my friend out for dinner etc etc.

i love working on cars and have worked on other peoples cars before so ive gotten over that "hurdle" .

ill guess i will go to tafe , do the work experience and see if its for me.

but seeing as ive just landed a job doing stuff all hours and earning decent cash, if that eventuates i might stick to that for a few years till im out of debt

and you'll never get to your apprenticeship mitch, don't take the easy way out, do the hard yards whilst your young and can afford it! I so wish i did a trade when i was young

I have a good mate whos a mechanic. Fulltime.

Works like a dog without much cash flow. He finds it hard to work on his own projects, Its like being at work.

Sounds like fun but its hard. He always complains about simple mechanic things like bolts that wont come off. Customers talking crap. etc etc.

its a thankless job and i only work as a mech part time nowdays and i will tell you why

1 shit money

2 customers that want there car fixed then whinge about the bill ie your ripping them off

3 customers that bring shit parts from the wreckers ive had people bring 2nd hand brake pads so they they dont have too pay for new ones and get shitty cause you wont fit them if you did and there brakes failed your the one in the shit

4 the customer why tries to fix his own car and f**ks it up gets it towed to the shop and are 2 embarresed too say what they have played with then whinge cause it took a hr to fig out what they had f**ked and it;s usually not anything to do with the original problem.

5 f**ked back shoulders and elbows after a few yrs

6 after 5 days work you cant be f**ked working on ya own cars and projects so they go down hill and then ya mates get shitty cause ya cant be f**ked working on there cars for f**k all on a sunday arvo .

7 if you work in a workshop or dealership they bust ya arse for the crap money they pay you

8 i could go on but you get the message 30 yrs ive been at it and should have quit after the first

I have 2 mates who are mechanics.

Ones a 4th year, the other is fully qualified.

Both find it hard to get the motivation to work on their own cars since they're working on customer cars all day. The pay is also beyond shit. One of them works at a large Toyota dealership and the other works at a Holden dealership, but will soon move onto a custom engine building workshop.

For the shit pay you get once you're qualified, and the amount of work you have to put in just to make a decent buck, it's put me off becoming one. I'd rather be a weekend mechanic and actually enjoy working on my car, rather than making a career out of it.

In theory it sounds fantastic, and the first few weeks might seem all roses and cup cakes... but after a few years, like my mates, they all want to get out of the industry and into something better paying.

And at the end of the day, you're either a mechanic for someone or you have your own workshop. There's no real... working your way up.

I remember back in year 6 where I would rather draw a car, then do any other work... they weren't the most nicest things, very plain but hey it was something.. Well least I thought so, lol.

Never did get into cars til I got my license, but never knew what I wanted to do when I left school.

But lucky for me, my dad owns his own business, general building/renovations etc, and I was put straight to work the day after my year 12 graduation. lol. So I learnt a lot from the last 4 years or so, no apprenticeship, no certificates.. I didnt want to do that kind of work, but at least I had something. Ive learnt most things from, gyprocking, plumbing, tiling, 1st and 2nd fix carpentry, cornice, flushing, roofing, concreting, rendering.. You name it, if its in a renovation Ive done it time and time again... Part of me now wishes that I did something with auto mechanics, mainly the cost of labour really.. But, doing all this building work, when it comes time to do work on our own house, or when eventually I get my own, I'm not going to want to do that all the time. So rather then do the thing I enjoy the most, and burn myself out on that, keep it as a hobby and not a career, so I can still enjoy it. :P

Noone in my family, apart from my dad... did anything with cars, my dad played with his cars when he was 16. Was only a 120y datsun which looked like ass but he enjoyed it. Unfortunately, all the time he spent on them burnt him out. I dont even bother trying to ask him to lend a hand, cos I already know the answer.. he might tell me what to do or what I can do to make it a little easier. But thats it... Get a little disappointed sometimes, as I'm at work with him helping him with his stuff out, and just shows no interest in the thing I like to do as a hobby. (Not saying hes a bad father lol).

Was looking at a mechanics course to get my head around things a bit better. I've pretty much learnt through youtube and other peoples stories/instructions. Good common sense is a must for cars, I get really shitty really quickly. But feel 100 times better after completeing something myself. :D

Cost me a bit over 3 grand when my Cefiro got defected, take out the suspension, few electrical problems, general crap really.. And it opened my eyes to see that I dont need to pay someone else to do it for me. Take the time, learn the best way possible and just have a crack at it. :domokun:

In the last few months, (yes months, I dont get a lot of free time, when I do I just wanna sit down and relax). Ive been doin my own stuff on my car. Defected again (hopefully not much longer!) Ive done no mechanical course, had noone to really show me what to do, I just observed through the net and put it into practice. :) Recently done the suspension myself, bled the brakes, changed pads, spark plugs, general maintenance stuff, and I feel better for it. Plus saving myself around the $700 mark. :D

Well that was probably the longest thing Ive wrote since about high school sometime lol... I apologise if that bored anyone, if it did, then why did you read it for. :blush:

Good luck mate!

hi guys, just wanna ask is there anywhere i could get mechanic apprenticeship in Victoria(Melbourne or somewhere not too far), im a undergradurate student from mechanical engin. degree which i hope to learn more bout mechanics stuff. Thanks, hope anyone could help.

Jeff