ok so last night i had a white 4wd up my ass driving through mullaloo. i was going over some speed bumps and the 4wd would not pull back so i sped up a bit next thing i know lights and sirens come on. its a frigin unmarked cop car. i had only been talking about unmarked 4wds that arvo. so i hand my licence over straight away and they said any reason you were doing 72km in a 50 zone. i was in shock/pissed off so i didn't really know what to say. they started checking my car out and p plates etc. i ended up with a $300 fine and lost 6 demerits. is there any way i can argue this because i only sped up because they wer up my ass. i know this is very unlikely and they would probably not belive me anyway or just not care but this is f**ked.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/254059-question-about-double-demerits/

Unlucky, thats about the only thing to say about it. Even though it's technically dangerous driving from them you're not meant to speed away from tailgaters.... When I have a 4wd up my ass I go slower (without braking) :D

i dont think you can argue your way out of this :D

cops have been known to pull this kinda shit which is unfortunate for some people :cheers:

if it happens again next time, just drive slower and let them overtake you, remember if someone runs up your ass...its their fault.

Cops usually tailgate when they are interested in your car, they claim it is to match their speedometer with your vehicle's speed but that's a load of BS. They can do that from a safer distance. They tailgate to intimidate and hopefully (from their perspective) make you go over the speed limit so they can write you a ticket. Bad luck on your part though because I'm sure anybody else would have thought it was just some asshole in a 4wd and may have done the same thing.

I'm willing to bet if a cop was tailgating you and you braked and they slammed into the back of you, they would sting you for dangerous driving.

Funniest time I got pulled over I was (not extremely) tailgating a 4wd along hepburn ave (part where it is one lane) as it was doing 30km/h... undercover cop was behind me tailgating me too and as soon as I could legally overtake (without going over the speed limit) I did... cop did the same thing then pulled me over for tailgating. Thought that was ironic :D Got away with a warning since I just shut my mouth and resisted the urge to say "well you were tailgating me too... why don't you write yourself a ticket". He should have pulled the 4wd over for dangerous driving.

Edited by big col

If you're running low on points, or cbf losing the 6 points fight the fine in court. You will probably pay a bit more than the fine you were given when they find you guilty ($450-600 + court costs), however I'm very sure you don't lose any points as your traffic infrindgement becomes a traffic conviction.

i had that happen to me once before (tailgating cop car) unmarked btw ...... when they eventually decided to throw the party lights on i pulled over :)

i knew at the time my rear tyres were bald and my tail light was out so when he questioned about my speed i replied with if its anything to do with the tail light it just happened :P

he asked about the tyres i opened my boot :) there were two new tyres in there to his amazement...

he then went back onto the speed issue .... to that i replied some idiot in a silver commodore was behind me really really close and seeing it wasnt a police car i believed someone was following me and i was "scared" for my life ........ It was the undercover cop car and he waved the fine under that condition .....

if this ever happens to anyone from a undercover i'd be pulling that one out quick as :) WITHOUT naming them specifically say it was just a car following u for "some time" :)

I hope this helps..... not much u can do in your situtation atm except for fighting it in court..

and no i wasnt speeding and i was driving the old commodore at the time ....

goodluck

They've done the same to me a few times. You just have to drive slower and ignore them. Thats what I do. Eventually they get bored and piss off. They shouldn't be allowd to do it, but lets face it... the law is on their side.

Thankfully I've never been tailgated by a cop, marked or unmarked. They seem to pull me over as soon as they see me...

I have been tailgated by dickheads though, so I generally just sit 10kms under the limit. Nice as safe, but it pisses them off which makes them want to overtake you. Soonest possible oppertunity they will, and you're free again. Speeding up is the WORST thing to do, you've just seen the result.

I personally wouldnt fight it in court because I cannot see anyone siding with the "hoon" who was still doing 202ms over the limit. However, I'm only an 18 year old mechanic with very little life experience, so I'm not the best person to listen too.

Good luck though, double demerits suck. AS a general rule of thumb, I just dont drive. And if I have to, I'll drive mum's protege. Slow, inconspicuous, and without P-plates NO ONE is going to pull you over!

Yeah you can fight it in court. My boss recently won a case where he was accused of doing 25kms over the limit on a double demerits weekend.

He was in and out of court for a year. Expensive and risky.

Also ryse made a good point, When I was on my P's I simply wouldn't drive on double demerit weekends because I know crap like this happens.

Also (again) most cops tailgate, I overtook a truck on son of rajab st north once, I didn't break after to get back down to the speed limit I just stopped accelerating I ended up about a kilometer away from the truck. I looked in the mirror and I saw a patty wagon over take the truck (dangerously I might add, double white lines and on coming cars) he over takes and comes screaming towards me and sits about 1m from my back bumper. I could tell he wanted to get me for speeding.

for the whole length of son of rajab st I sat 5kms under the speed limit and right down in the road works 60 and 40 zones. I could see the copper going red in the face and the steam coming out of his ears, lol. and the whole way he was 1m away from me.

remember the plates and report the incident to the hoon hotline ;)

otherwise just don't take the bait, whether it's a cop or not I just let it go. You know you're car can smoke theirs but you don't have to prove it on the road. Just feel better knowing you could if you wanted to.

yeh dont think i'll fight it in court. dont have the money and don't think i'd have the guts to do it. plus i probably wouldnt have a chance anyway. thanks guys

it sucks but i'll get over it. would rather be spending that good money on my cars but o well.

remember the plates and report the incident to the hoon hotline :P

otherwise just don't take the bait, whether it's a cop or not I just let it go. You know you're car can smoke theirs but you don't have to prove it on the road. Just feel better knowing you could if you wanted to.

YEH very comon ive had it done - 1st time on my Ps in my work ute !! tailgated me 4 miles past the casino , making me go faster- i just had my lice - new nothing-thought it was a hoon looking u/m crumydore -i took a corner fast to get away from them then the lites came out - i stoped and they did me 4 dangerouse - got caneled 4 9 mths 4 it - never ever had respect for cops ever since !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

it will affect your insurance the year after, but i dontknow if they automatically know or you have to tell them

You're supposed to tell them, if you don't they will try to weasel out of any claims.

r u sure it affects ur insurance?

When i got my insurance with just cars they didnt even ask for me about past / current dermints / speeding fines.

I even asked them if they needed to know about them and the guy said that he didnt need to know.

So that would lead me to assume that they dont need to know.