Getting A Total Reach Around Over Race/rally Rego (qld)

After an insightful conversation with Queensland transport I was finally forwarded on to a Peter Austin:

Assistant Policy Officer

Vehicle Modifications and Identity

Land & Transport Safety

In regards to issuing race/rally rego in Queensland. Now, after chatting for awhile and answering all his questions, he then tells me Queensland doesn’t issue race rego for cars that aren’t a “rally car” I asked him to define rally; I was put on hold so he could ask his supervisor. Anyway, the reply was “dirt road racing”.

After some colourful words this Peter guy emailed me a list of approved Mech Engineers, however said at the end of the day as I don’t intend on doing motor sports on the dirt I’d never be approved for race rego, as technically the wording is “rally rego” and rally means on the dirt according to his supervisor.

Have any of you other Queensland guys had this issue?

Haha yeh, I brought up tarmac rally – Targa Taz to be exact, the guy was a total Muppet and who ever his supervisor was is obviously trying to limit race rego on tarmac cars.

Hopefully a few QLD skyliner’s poke their heads in here, so I have a bit more to compile a case against this stupidity for when I call back.. Again.

I won’t even venture into the conversation with his supervisors views of issuing race/rally rego on cars that have been imported for race use only..

Is Race/Rally rego cheaper than the normal rego?

I only drive my car between home, track and workshop. I may follow your foot steps if this is feasible.

Is there any advantages regard to modification for a race/rally rego?

Is Race/Rally rego cheaper than the normal rego?

I only drive my car between home, track and workshop. I may follow your foot steps if this is feasible.

Is there any advantages regard to modification for a race/rally rego?

You need a minimum of a Circuit Racing/Level 3 CAMS license…

The rego is cheaper and the cars are exempt from things like being too loud, low, cage etc.

However, technically the only time the car is allowed on the street is for “testing” and being driven to and from events – Which there is a distance limit.

The definition of “testing” opens up a whole new kittle of fish if you were pulled over going to Woolies for some milk and bread.. Theoretically you could pull the testing card as long as you weren’t out side the distance limit.

I vaguely remember reading Beer Baron or Duncan having problems with race rego in NSW due to the RTA clamping down on people abusing the meaning of testing and using race rego cars on the street pretty often.

Yep that was me. I was the lucky first to apply for rally rego under the NSW rules (in practice the only change was I have special plates not normal ones). It was a real stuff around but 100% worth it, but since its state based what I did is probably no use to you.

For what its worth I know Tony Alford's R35 is based up there but he registered it in Tassie because QLD transport were being too difficult.

THe best suggestion I can give you is to work with your state CAMS office on this. I had to deal with the CAMS NSW boss and he did all the talking with NSW RTA. I found no-one anywhere in the RTA knew what this was about....

Dead set f**kwits. This makes my blood boil. Keen to know how you go as I will be doing this in the future, along with a mate.

What if you have a AASA license instead of a CAMS license would also make things harder.

Did you walking into a local QLD transport and ask about it out of interest? Wishful thinking that they would know anything about it......

Edited by aleks

I only ever drive our race car to the workshop-home-to events(sometimes)-and to be tuned. The car is an ANDRA log booked racecar, i hold an ANDRA UDL (unlimited drag racing licence) and there is no provision in any legislation to road register this car as a race-rego only. So i must fully register and insure the vehicle...karnts!

sucks arse.

Edited by DiRTgarage

yeah ANDRA are an even bigger issue because they are not a part of cams. as such they just dont get in the various govt's way enough. ANd unfortunately since CAMS and ANDRA have totally different ideas on roll cage design you don't have much chance convincing anyone your car is a miss-understood rally car either.

BTW rally rego is NSW is $80 per year including greenslip.

Thanks for the info Nismo Boy and Duncan. I will investigate this option and hopefully the administrator doesn't get confuse and want to regulate the established rule like you described :( I would hate to get a defect again for using semi slick tyres on the road and have to constantly tell the inspector that my car is a GTR and has a few things that he doesnt see on the gtst :sick:

yeah ANDRA are an even bigger issue because they are not a part of cams. as such they just dont get in the various govt's way enough. ANd unfortunately since CAMS and ANDRA have totally different ideas on roll cage design you don't have much chance convincing anyone your car is a miss-understood rally car either.

BTW rally rego is NSW is $80 per year including greenslip.

how much to join CAMS and does the car need log booking? whats required...in sick of the RTA ass raping and would rather make a donation to CAMS...link to roll cage regs please?

Well for NSW you need CAMs logbook and a scruitineer who is willing to say it meets tarmac rally regulations (M2 class for R32 gtr). In the case of your car I think that will be difficult because M2 allows few mods, but you may be able to work through it. Greg at Autosport Engineering scruitineered my car and may be able to help. Tarmac rally regs are here http://www.camsmanual.com.au/pdf/04_rally_...Modern_Q109.pdf

Also yo uwill have trouble with your cage. CAMS require steel (CDS) cage in a certain design, if you don't meet this you need a race engineer to do a full model of the cage to confirm it's strength. ANDRA cages probably pass but it is 4-5k for the modelling which will kill any benefit on rego costs. Full regs are here. http://www.camsmanual.com.au/pdf/10_gen_re...dule_J_Q109.pdf

The big benefit is that the car does not have to meet ADRs. My car was imported as race/rally and has never been complied in any way. No high mounted stop light. No indicator repeaters cut into the guards. No child restraints. All 4 stop lights work. Still have the concave side mirrors too. And all the other stuff is legal - 4" straight thru exhaust, cage, seats and harness etc etc without engineer's cert. Of course every time I get pulled over I need to pull out all the paperwork to prove the rules, but once the cops understand its a real rego they have always been OK with it.

Well for NSW you need CAMs logbook and a scruitineer who is willing to say it meets tarmac rally regulations (M2 class for R32 gtr). In the case of your car I think that will be difficult because M2 allows few mods, but you may be able to work through it. Greg at Autosport Engineering scruitineered my car and may be able to help. Tarmac rally regs are here http://www.camsmanual.com.au/pdf/04_rally_...Modern_Q109.pdf

Also yo uwill have trouble with your cage. CAMS require steel (CDS) cage in a certain design, if you don't meet this you need a race engineer to do a full model of the cage to confirm it's strength. ANDRA cages probably pass but it is 4-5k for the modelling which will kill any benefit on rego costs. Full regs are here. http://www.camsmanual.com.au/pdf/10_gen_re...dule_J_Q109.pdf

The big benefit is that the car does not have to meet ADRs. My car was imported as race/rally and has never been complied in any way. No high mounted stop light. No indicator repeaters cut into the guards. No child restraints. All 4 stop lights work. Still have the concave side mirrors too. And all the other stuff is legal - 4" straight thru exhaust, cage, seats and harness etc etc without engineer's cert. Of course every time I get pulled over I need to pull out all the paperwork to prove the rules, but once the cops understand its a real rego they have always been OK with it.

my cage is the same as 253-7 except it does not have the angled bar tying the rear legs together...which would be easy tp instal. Its a Bond kit and its full cro-moly.

thanks for the links...ill have a read

very interesting - so no diagonal brace at all on your car? I would think even for drag the diagonal is important to keep the car straight. Adding the diagonals create the much stronger triangles instead of the far weaker squares. Mine cage has the parts from 253-7 + the brace from 253-5. Also the issue with chromolly and CAMS is that it won't meet the minimum thicknesses as specified (because it is about stronger you can go smaller and therefore lighter). That is where the structural model cost comes in.

Yep that was me. I was the lucky first to apply for rally rego under the NSW rules (in practice the only change was I have special plates not normal ones). It was a real stuff around but 100% worth it, but since its state based what I did is probably no use to you.

For what its worth I know Tony Alford's R35 is based up there but he registered it in Tassie because QLD transport were being too difficult.

THe best suggestion I can give you is to work with your state CAMS office on this. I had to deal with the CAMS NSW boss and he did all the talking with NSW RTA. I found no-one anywhere in the RTA knew what this was about....

Thanks Duncan, I'll give CAMS a call and see what light they can shed on this for me. There is an STi that's always at Mt Cotton on race rego, so they're issuing them which is a hopeful sign, just seems like a wild goose chase to get it done :sick:

My car was imported as race/rally and has never been complied in any way.

This was another problem that came up in conversation with Peter Austin and his “supervisor”. If the car was imported under the race/rally scheme it wasn’t eligible, which I thought was odd.

I questioned why as this is race rego after all and not normal rego. Never was able to get a straight answer.

In Tassie they accept AASA licences for SI rego.

you guys really have a kick arse little island. to think I wasted the first 30 years of my life bagging the place :(

so all you guys need is to give ben your rego papers and he can register them in tassie for you :sick:

Josh....sounds like you have the same sort of idiots we do in our RTA. WTF is the point of rally import if you cannot register a rally imported car. Because you can't rally an unregistered car either.

you guys really have a kick arse little island. to think I wasted the first 30 years of my life bagging the place :(

so all you guys need is to give ben your rego papers and he can register them in tassie for you :sick:

Josh....sounds like you have the same sort of idiots we do in our RTA. WTF is the point of rally import if you cannot register a rally imported car. Because you can't rally an unregistered car either.

Does Greg at Autosport like cheap hookers ?