hey there, just wondering if anybody can help me out ?? i have a series 2 rs4. Once the car reaches operating temp on my way to work, the malfunction light comes on, i give it a rev and the light goes off and stays off, approx 45 km's to work. Very rarely does this happen on the way home in arvo.. nissan checked the code and told me most likely a coil fault. Since then i have fitted splitfires and new sparkplugs but still no difference. The car seems to be running fine and i can't notice any misfiring ?? any ideas would be much appreciated !! THANX

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/255854-help-please/

hey there, just wondering if anybody can help me out ?? i have a series 2 rs4. Once the car reaches operating temp on my way to work, the malfunction light comes on, i give it a rev and the light goes off and stays off, approx 45 km's to work. Very rarely does this happen on the way home in arvo.. nissan checked the code and told me most likely a coil fault. Since then i have fitted splitfires and new sparkplugs but still no difference. The car seems to be running fine and i can't notice any misfiring ?? any ideas would be much appreciated !! THANX

check the codes yourself

this will show you which points to bridge

attached page will show you how to do it.

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/Ex...p;hl=paper+clip

Pages_from_R34_service_man.pdf

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/255854-help-please/#findComment-4412411

I have access to Nissan Data Scan and live nearby. If you're interested we can plug it in & see what comes up after a datalog.

This sounds great BensDR30, can you explain how the data loggin works ?? i am only new to imports as i have spent my years on old skool v8's..

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/255854-help-please/#findComment-4413171

check the codes yourself

this will show you which points to bridge

attached page will show you how to do it.

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/Ex...p;hl=paper+clip

Pages_from_R34_service_man.pdf

hey there, thanx for the link, but i still couldn't see ne-where that explained how to do this in detail ??

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/255854-help-please/#findComment-4413174

i had the same thing as you, check engine light flash up, give it a little rev and it would go away. when i checked the error codes it was the O2 sensor. but i would have thought nissan would have been able to give you a better idea of what it was when the checked the error codes. the error codes remain on the error code list until you reset them.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/255854-help-please/#findComment-4414720

i had the same thing as you, check engine light flash up, give it a little rev and it would go away. when i checked the error codes it was the O2 sensor. but i would have thought nissan would have been able to give you a better idea of what it was when the checked the error codes. the error codes remain on the error code list until you reset them.

Yeah, thats why i took it to nissan, but they admitted the had never worked on a stagea and didn't have any code lists to use as a reference... they somehow came up with a coil fault though ??? how would i change the 02 sensor ?? is there only one ??

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/255854-help-please/#findComment-4414781

i wouldn't jump to the conclusion that it is the O2 sensor, i was just saying that i had the same thing with the light flashing up and going away with a rev.

i'd see if someone on here that lives close to you has the consult/datascan software can check you error codes for you, or do the error code thing yourself by bridging the two pins on the consult plug. or just go back to nissan and get them to check the codes.

see what the problem is before spending anymore money replacing parts that may not have anything to do with the problem.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/255854-help-please/#findComment-4414795

The O2 sensor is located just behind the turbo. It's not a big job, 22mm open-ender (or vise grips) to get the original one out. That bit can take a while, but fitting a new one is only a 5-minute job. There are threads detailing the replacement, but it's a pretty simple task.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/255854-help-please/#findComment-4414797

The O2 sensor is located just behind the turbo. It's not a big job, 22mm open-ender (or vise grips) to get the original one out. That bit can take a while, but fitting a new one is only a 5-minute job. There are threads detailing the replacement, but it's a pretty simple task.

No worries, i have just read that nissan reccomends o2 sensors are replaced every 40,000km's anyway, so i will change the sensor and see how i go...

thanx heaps for the help guys, will post the result...

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/255854-help-please/#findComment-4414943