r30 skylines

rsx84

Mate you should try getting a straight answer from our wankers at regency, depending on what time and who u speak to you will get a different answer both times...They have NO idea!!!   :bs!:

thats what i figured so i was checking to see if anyone has ever got a REAL answer and then passed at a later date

• Replies 2k

What colour is your R30 Mike??? Its not Nissankings old R30 is it?? I've sen that thing getting round heaps lately, still looking tough as :)

thats what i figured so i was checking to see if anyone has ever got a REAL answer and then passed at a later date

Sorry Guys, As I am in NSW I can only give their regs, but as a thought, maybe speak to the guys at Jaustech or Japanese Motorsport.

As they are into modified cars, Jaustech in particular doe a few R30's, they might be more up to speed.

Good luck,

Dennis

I bought a GT30 turbo,turbosmart wastegate,s/hand mazda injectors,hybrid intercooler and Wolf ecu.Thats it.

Standard manifolds,head,cams,throttle body...all stock.It runs 18psi boost and BP98 fuel and is a rocket!

I cant wait to fit my Tomei 272 cams and put 25psi into it!

If thats all i have to do than im off to the wreckers to look for an fj20det, should of done it earlier.

What colour is your R30 Mike???  Its not Nissankings old R30 is it??  I've sen that thing getting round heaps lately, still looking tough as :)

nah i dont think it was, mine is the blue/silver color but at the moment it has alot of base coat on it as its almost ready for the resray...

hey guys, got an update. i put r31 shocks in the rear and new r30 ones in the front, and lowerd it on corbra's springs. not superlows just low. and well the front didnt even change at all hight. 10mm max!. even knowing these springs are rated to 20-30mm :P. and do i overcome the fact i only have 7cm of travel in my shocks.?

im confused

hey guys, got an update. i put r31 shocks in the rear and new r30 ones in the front, and lowerd it on corbra's springs. not superlows just low. and well the front didnt even change at all hight. 10mm max!. even knowing these springs are rated to 20-30mm :(. and do i overcome the fact i only have 7cm of travel in my shocks.?  

im confused

Ive got the same trouble.I converted my R30 struts to a height adjustible coilover setup and found when i lowered it to where i wanted it i would lose all my shock travel.(so now its jacked up like a landcruiser).

But i went to the susp shop for advice and he said he will replace the top mount(thick rubber housing the bearing) with a thin metal plate(my understanding) that will allow me to lower it and keep the travel. :looney:

Ive got the same trouble.I converted my R30 struts to a height adjustible coilover setup and found when i lowered it to where i wanted it i would lose all my shock travel.(so now its jacked up like a landcruiser).

But i went to the susp shop for advice and he said he will replace the top mount(thick rubber housing the bearing) with a thin metal plate(my understanding) that will allow me to lower it and keep the travel.  :looney:

Hey!!! Didn't anybody read my earlier post on lowering, #351?????

Due to the lack of travel in the damper, to lower an R30 front and rear, it is necessary to use R31 Strut inserts because they have a 42mm shorter travel and R31 rear shocks have a 32mm shorter travel in the damper.

But if you use good springs, like I have 250 lb/in front & 200 lb/in rear the travel nearly is obliterated, the springs hardly move.

My Hr30 has JIC coilovers from Japan and are physically 50mm shorter than the corresponding front or rear strut / shock assembly and the fronts have camber tops on them.

Hey guys, i have an MR30 sedan, currently installing an RB20DET, looks like a nighmare to wire up, apparently the g/box mounts should bolt up... Its bolted in, but still not wired up.

I ve painted the car in 2pak, gold and put R33 disks and 4 piston calipers on front, std rear disks, adj. coilovers, fibreglass front bar, strut brace, nolathane bushes, series 1 dr30 tail lights, 16x8 watanabe's (no rubbing problems running 245/45/16), bolton 20mm spacers and a few other things. Im sure i'll run into some problems while hooking up the RB20 tho

pictures - http://www.pbase.com/crimmo

dr30turbo - if you get 2 front struts with your HR30 from paul, they will bolt in no worries, i bought the koni shocks brand new and the springs are heavy duty pedders, all came out of my car when i converted to big brakes and coilovers, they handle very well.

Hey, Crimmo about those konies... are they red or yellow? i got those off paul but like a day after paul gave them to me they leaked oil on the ground. i wasn't sure weather to put them in or not it seemed a bit dodgey. i don't know what to do i mean are they sealed or could i get more fluid for them or something.

Hey R30_Turbo, the leak is nothing to worry about, the koni insert slides into the strut case, and the koni insert itself is sealed and thats not what is leaking, all struts have a small amount of oil in the bottom of them to lubricate the shock absober insert, they are adjustable koni red's 'special' :)

Try to leave them sitting upright and they wont leak. The sleave that screws into the top may need tightening, by when they are in the car they never leak, unless you roll the car! :D

hey guys can u get aftermarket pulleys for FJ20ET's? the main crank pulley on mine i think is ok but the other 2 behind for alternator and a/c move up and down on the crank shaft heaps more than they should.

is there any like aftermarket pulleys of some sort you can get? or better to replace with originals? (ne1 got any spare? haha)

Hey Stu,

have you wired up your RB20 yet. I sat down last night and tried to figure out the RB25. and i came to a conclusion. i know nothing about EFI cars. for example what does an ECCS relay do. question is are you doing yours yourself or are you using a conversion shop. :Bang:

got it all wired up bar the rpm...

my dad knows whats goin on so hes helping me (read : doing most of it) to wire it up

what do u need to know about the 25 i may be of assistance....or hinderance.

what has everyone done in respect to cooler piping?? i mean if your using a f*ck off big frontmont then are u running the "cooler to TB" pipe over the radiator or under?

if u get what i mean? maybe not.