What Mods To Do In Order

I've got an exhaust and turbo timer & pod filter and rims for my r33..

I'm looking to do mods for PERFORMANCE,

i don't really wanna get a Front mount intercooler cos it'll be cop b8 as im driving gts-t on my red p's (Lol)

Whats the next mod i should do?

I wanna start modding my car heaps so can someone give me a list (in order) and the price range it'll set me back?

Edited by Luckieee

• Replies 76

Many start with a power-up first, but I would recommend suspension & braking first.

You will be amazed how much quicker a car feels & goes when it holds the road well.

Then remap or aftermarket ECU.

1/ Driver training days

2/ Good set of coil-overs

3/ Upgrade sway-bars and get adjustable Whiteline bushes, etc.

4/ More driver training

5/ Good quality tyres - No cheap shit $200ea tyres

6/ Slotted rotors, performance brake pads, braided brake lines, Motol brake fluid

7/ More driver training

You may think you know how to drive and how to control your car, but trust me you don't :thumbsup:

See... these guys know what they are talking about... you being on your red P's I don't imagine you know a hell of a lot about cars or skylines considering you've only been driving for a few months/years.

tyres do make a large difference in performance... things like wheel spin can slow your car a heap.... (you may not notice it yet because your car isn't really modded) so basiclly what they are saying is that these mods help keep your car stuck to the ground and deliver the power from the engine to the road better, not to mention possibly save your life if you put a lot into straight line performance over handling.

now as for your question, even though I think it is stupid of you asking consering you are on red p's...(i dont know parts prices really because of the exchange rates these days)

> Is your exhaust completly upgraded? turboback - tip? if not, make sure that's done first... things like dump/front pipe, metal cat are good upgrades... you may only have cat back.... so check they are all aftermarket parts...

>FMIC is normally next, but instead upgrade the sidemount to a 34gtt stock one as they are alot bigger and are good up to a certain amount of power.

>Fuel pump

>Upgraded clutch

then you can start going into more costly things...

>Electronic Boost controller

>Engine management (apexi powerfc, wolf 3d, haltech, etc)

>bigger flowing injectors

>air flow meter

>THEN once all this is done, the car will be ready to handle alot larger turbo.

Ofcourse you can wack on a bigger turbo before engine management and afm and stuff... but there wont be a great deal of extra power because you can't really go past 200rwkw on stock afm and fuel pump and other bits.....

>Finally.. depending on how crazy you go with the setup, you can go into forged internals...

Adam

You sound like an intellgent man.

Yeah, stay away from FMIC, will be real cop bait.

Instead get:

Turbo Smart Megasonic Blow Off Valve

Full 3.5" exhaust system with a cannon

External gate or just cut the stock 25 turbo's wastegate to stop it linking back into exhaust

and maybe a Nissan sticker for back window and some neons

that will give you about 76.35 more power (hp)

Oh sorry,

Get a 800hp China Monsta turbo, stick it on a ebay manifold, then get a manual bleed valve and crank the psi as high as you can and then go and do sick doughies at your local maccas.

Almost forgot; you also need to block the bov, because the dose is fully sick and adds another 60rwkw. Make sure you turn on the neons as the light heats up the air under the car, thus creating less drag, and a few stickers on the doors are great for another 20rwkws too.

Then you could paint the engine bay pink to match your frock, lippy and high heels.

Fully hektic bro!!

I've got an exhaust and turbo timer & pod filter and rims for my r33..

I'm looking to do mods for PERFORMANCE,

i don't really wanna get a Front mount intercooler cos it'll be cop b8 as im driving gts-t on my red p's (Lol)

Whats the next mod i should do?

I wanna start modding my car heaps so can someone give me a list (in order) and the price range it'll set me back?

Since you on your P's, get use to the stock power and upgrade your handling.

Full adjustable suspension then lower it.

Strut brace will help.

Performance brake pads and rotors like Al said. You might even want to upgrade to R33 GTR Brembos if you like, but not needed...

Driver training days help a lot too.

If you want to upgrade your intercooler, you can install a R34 GTT side mount intercooler as they have the capability to take up to 200kW.

Or you sheild off your pod and install a front mount intercooler.

Mods i'd do in order

1. Dan_the_man - cause he puts out

2. N1GTR - Cause his avatar shows he's nasty in bed

3. Sl!m - cause his avatar shows he likes to role play

4. R31Nismoid - Cause he don't take no shit

Absolute GOLD!!!! :blink:

Many start with a power-up first, but I would recommend suspension & braking first.

You will be amazed how much quicker a car feels & goes when it holds the road well.

Then remap or aftermarket ECU.

I second that.

You can then actually at least enjoy driving around without as much fear of getting done.

whats suspension and stuff got to do with performance.. ?

more than a few pissy engine mods... THINK about it... no THINK HARDER!...

and coil overs? arent they suspension ??????

yes, yes they are

and tyres dont make mch of a difference

the ability to get traction and actually stay ON THE ROAD when cornering probably makes a difference dont you think...

srsly, search around here a bit first mate :D

i go to calder park and i only do drags. :S and i dont corner @ high speed. and just cos im p plater doesnt mean i cant handle a pissy turbo, my mates non turbo xr6 is faster than my turbo.. turbo aint much difference, just a nice dose.. power wise its jackall to me.. i've driven a ferrrari.. thats real power. and i cant drive that. but turbo? please you guys make it sound like its the craziest shizz ever

Mods i'd do in order

1. Dan_the_man - cause he puts out

2. N1GTR - Cause his avatar shows he's nasty in bed

3. Sl!m - cause his avatar shows he likes to role play

4. R31Nismoid - Cause he don't take no shit

lol :(

a heap of subbies and a massive amp will get you bouncing all the way down calder park.or you could sell the skyline and get a stock VN

(hopefully the previous owner has drilled some holes in the muffler for better performance...) and do a monster 1wheel skid down calder

i go to calder park and i only do drags. :S and i dont corner @ high speed. and just cos im p plater doesnt mean i cant handle a pissy turbo, my mates non turbo xr6 is faster than my turbo.. turbo aint much difference, just a nice dose.. power wise its jackall to me.. i've driven a ferrrari.. thats real power. and i cant drive that. but turbo? please you guys make it sound like its the craziest shizz ever

are you f**king serious... you go to the drags and tyres dont make a difference...

ok so a 12 second run with 1 second of wheelspin = 13 second run yes?

12 second run with 0 seconds of wheelspin = 12 second run yes?

do the f**king maths...

not to mention ther are a heap of cars round sau that will smack down ferarri's.

Don't bother Hamish; As if suspension and tyres are important for drags. This kid knows it all man, he has driven a Ferarri, so he must be a race car driver!! WOW I just want his signature, he's sooooo cool!

Pffft...

You bring that Ferarri and a $1000 to the next Calder meet and we see who walks away with 2g's, but make sure you know how to drive, wouldn't want to damage the walls at Calder and delay other competitors from racing ;)