Medium Compund Semi's

Snowman

Who has run the genuine medium semi's on a GT-R before?

As in either the dunlop mediums (propper mediums - not the hard mediums) or the RE55 TT's on a GT-R before?

I was just curious as to what kind of distances they gave before "going off". I've heard it is as little as 5km's but I don't know of anyone that has actually tried.

If you are thinking for Targa....the Medium/Hards are very close to the wear limit by the last day and its a 2min penalty per tyre you change. Not worth the chance unless you can get away with it like a wrx on softs.

I've run kumho soft/wets in the dry and they lasted about 250klm of mixed track and road. The grip was amazing on a single lap though.

Well remember for Targa I'm only doing Rookie (so 2 days - not 5).

So I'm not worried about lasting the distance but I am worried about them being actually worse than the hards on the longer stages. My biggest worry is Day 2 where there are 3 stages with basically no touring (35km's with less than 5kms touring in the middle).

But if they will get through a long run ok then they may be a good thing - especially if we get some wet.

Years ago we tried the medium 02G on an R33 GTS with similar grunt to your thing Snow. They were good for about three flying laps of QR club circuit before they stared to go off.

The 03G may be better?

I reckon the SR compound is the go, you'll overheat even those on the way down the Sideling, and thats a big money stage if you can get it all together. Not hard to gain 15 to 20 seconds on your rivals with a grunter like yours mate.

We had some D03 M1's we tried at Symmons, we found they build up pressure way to fast. I'd do a 5 lap's, come in and drop them to 32 psi, do 5 more laps and have to drop another 5-10psi out to bring it back down to 32 psi. and you could do that all day long, i'm surprised there was any air left in them.

I run D02 R1's on my R32, and they are much more stable. The RE55's SR on the Targa car are very stable too.

Edited by sav man

Right ok. Prob best sticking to the hards is what you are saying.

It's just that I can get 265/35/18 RE55's TT's for $300ea! Thats a bargin! lol

Snowy: Bargain 265's mate http://cgi.ebay.com.au/TYRES-NEW-BRIDGESTO...A1%7C240%3A1318

I bought 17's on the weekend and they cost a hell of a lot more than that!

Dane - that is the TT's I'm talking about :D Can buy them now for $600 / pair.

But I think unfortunately they aren't going to work at Targa and I don't do enough normal sprint days to justify getting them anyways.

Snowy we ran Medium 03G's back in the Rookie 2007 on an S15, came up to temp really good and the only issue I can think of was right towards the end of the sideling it got a bit taily (im trying to think though was it tyres going off or that the road had started to break up).

They still had heaps of tread left on them at the finish as they survived a Circuit Series round after that and a god almighty skid and ringies before it got sold.

Having said all that I just noticed Dunlop don't make a 265/18 in medium so scrap that, only make a H and an R comp (the SR that is being referred to by some).

If

Snowy we ran Medium 03G's back in the Rookie 2007 on an S15, came up to temp really good and the only issue I can think of was right towards the end of the sideling it got a bit taily (im trying to think though was it tyres going off or that the road had started to break up).

They still had heaps of tread left on them at the finish as they survived a Circuit Series round after that and a god almighty skid and ringies before it got sold.

Having said all that I just noticed Dunlop don't make a 265/18 in medium so scrap that, only make a H and an R comp (the SR that is being referred to by some).

Driving style, road temp, and car weight has more to do with this equation. I know guys who did the full TT last year on Dunlop M in evo.

The reason why they dont make M in that size is that those tyres are normally fitted to heavy cars.

Dunlop R, Bridgestone (wet not so good) seem to be the front runners unless your gt-r ends in "Thrty Five"... then you can use BJ all rounders.

TT

Edited by Targa Tom

If

the SR people refer to are a bridgestone compound. not dunlop R's. :wacko:

Yeah with SR standing for Seriously Rediculous in regards to price with the Dunlops.

In 265/35/18's the prices I can get are:

Bridgestone RE55 TT's - $300ea

Bridgestone RE55 SR2's - $550ea

Dunlop DZ03G R's - $655ea

You can see why I wanted to know if I could use the genuine mediums. I could get 2 sets for less than a set of Dunlops.

dunlop price varies dramatically with the size. eg:

225/45*17 $465 only about $30 more than most tyres up here.

245/40*17 $560 about $100 per tyre more than other brands (local Brisbane prices).