Well a little over 6mths ago I decided it was time to sell both my GTR Skylines (stockish weekender + circuit car that was still being built up after a blown engine) and go in a slightly different direction to get my trackday thrills.

I wanted something that was cheap to maintain, fairly fast and a whole lot of fun. Something that I could roll off the trailer, add fuel and hoon around all day then take it home and leave it in the garage for a month or 2 with absolute minimal maintenance and I think ive found the perfect answer.

The result was that I ordered 1 of these from USA through an Australian distributor (Aussie Racing Cars). It is basically the american version of a miniature Nascar powered by a motorbike engine (in this case a 1200cc Yamaha). Long story short is due to the USD crashing I ended up with buying the shop demo car (1 of 2 in the country) and it came in 100% ready to race condition.

I'll keep this thread updated with plenty of pictures of my own personal modifications, trackdays, supersprints, hillclimbs, skidpans etc etc. I'm not very mechanically minded so dont ask too many technical questions :P

Arriving home with it for the first time. Brand new 13ft tandem trailer and 4x new 2500kg hook n keeper ratchets.

nascup1.jpg

nascup2.jpg

nascup3.jpg

Bonnet off and sitting in the garage:

nascup4.jpg

Front right suspension setup:

nascup5.jpg

Uses Formula Ford tyres:

nascup6.jpg

Rear end, fuel cell, 500hp diff with interchangable ratios:

nascup8.jpg

Pitcrew:

nascup12.jpg

Took the shell off for the first time yesterday so I could give it a good clean and also get in closer to modify afew bits:

nascup13.jpg

nascup14.jpg

nascup15.jpg

nascup16.jpg

nascup17.jpg

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/259458-nascup-race-car-worklog/

• Replies 40

If you were to import 1 now with the USD down the drain and fit it out like mine you wouldn't get any change from $40k.

thats not the answer to my question Ben...c'mon...how much?

care to tell me to p1ss off and its none of my business if you wish...as long as you don't tell me that when i ask for a WSID weather forecast...hehe

thats pretty good considering it costs 40k to get into a raced aussie car. Im all for the purpose built track car Ben, no hassles with rego and the rest of the bullshit that comes with trying to race a street car. you will have plenty of fun in that thing, even though the yanks strugle in the pretty design stakes. The ass end is a little ugly lol. like you said, race, sleep, race next time without the hassle of repairing front diffs and blown rb26s. Well done. good choice.

About $30k

good to see it's made it home, and just in time for the season.

what are you aiming for as a first hit out, and what do you need to do first.

I like a lot of what they have done on the design of that. It does look more solid/heavy compared to neil's toy, what does it weigh in at?

I need to fit the harness (got the eyebolts yesterday), then adjust the seat slightly, I need to get the steering column shortened 10cm and the steering wheel + quick release need abit of work, umm then just give it a clean fill the tank to the brim and its ready to go.

As for first outing im not sure, I have 6wks to find a rental due to my parents selling this house on the weekend so that has priority at the moment so it will be atleast 2mths before it is on track.

Weight is about 540kg so 650kg with me in it. The 180hp Hayabusa definitely would have been the preferred choice but ill use the 125hp Yamaha to allow me to get used to how it handles etc then next year put a bigger motor in it.

• 5 weeks later...

Well after 6 long stressful weeks of looking for a rental im moving into a new place this weekend. Just a quiet 21 acres of flat green lawn with a nice 13x10m shed and a couple of horses/chickens/birds up the back. Have a servo + motorbike mechanic 300m up the road that knows the engine I have in this thing well so that suits me just fine.

The week after next i'll drop it off at my mechanics to get a kirkey seat fitted, quick release hub adaptor machined, harness mounted and a couple of other little things then i'll the motorbike mechanic to double check all the engine bits and then all it needs is a full tank of petrol and off to the track.

So have you decided Ben when will be your 1st outing?.

If Im not racing or helping Duncan I would be happy to help you out mate.

Neil.

spot on

I'd hit for that date,,,nice cruisy day with no pressure. I'll be there weather I gain entry or not.

State supersprints are on there Sunday.

Neil.

and again.

It will be a good day Ben. You won't get a day with more track time or more people who can help if you need a hand with anything