ok guys its time to get serious, i really wanna get my car on the track but am a little scared :( (yes i am a sook haha) , just not sure what i need to be prepared for something like this. im hoping to get to phillip island on the 4th (but possibly could be at GOR "maybe ash maybe :D" ) so worst case Sandown on the 19th i think,

anyway the car is in RWC condition and im chasing tyres at the moment but not sure whether to go all out on a RE55 semi slick or something more better value for money and also good on the track. obviously im not going to be flat out racing like some but more just getting a feel for the car and the whole racing experience. i have done a track days in the "v8 super car experience thingy" but those cars were fully dect out with all the race stuff and i had the dude with me the whole day anyway i also need to get a blue triangle and stick it on my boot where my battery is and bonnet strap and so on. im just worried that ill fill in the entry form and pay , to find i get there and am told "na sorry champ cant put the car on the track missing the flux capacitor................... blah blah blah"???

any help encouragement?

thank you newbie track user

(where are the sad faces in these emotion sections) :)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260491-track-day/

• Replies 65

I'm in the same boat, was looking at the CAMS website which has some info but like you I'm not 100% sure, I think a L2S licence is the way to go for licencing though.

Haven't found where to get the triangles from yet but Ive only really just started to get serious about it.

12 months of should i use my streeter which has brake-suspension and power up mods or buy a dedicated car which will be basically stock (maybe a AW11 MR2 as they are cheap, reliable and handle OK when standard)

MLR

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260491-track-day/#findComment-4469358

For starters, you don't need to go out there and prove how awesome you are. Take it easy and learn your car first before trying to get a lap time that'll make peoples jaws drop. Work up to that point, don't start there.

A decent street tyre is adequate to learn your car. They are nice and progressive and give you a heap of feedback as to when they will let go. Scrub out, squealing, screeching, etc Some will tell you to go for RE55 straight from the get go. But semi comps are a very different tyre in comparison to the streets you're probably used to. Streets will add a few seconds to your times, but again work up to it.

A fire extinguisher is a necessity. This will need to be solid mounted to the car. Best choice for fitting is the lower rear seat bolts. Make sure it has a metal bracket and that you don't tech screw it to the floor.

THe blue triangle is easy. Head down to your local Jaycar, Autobarn, Dick Smith, etc and pick up some blue electrical tape. The triangle needs to be 100 x 100 x 100mm.

Bonnet restraint is also a nice 15 minute job. Head down to bunnings and pick yourself up some plastic coated decking wire. You'll need about 60mm. Cut it in half, get hold of some of the wire straps to suit. Loop it around your radiator support panel and one of the holes in the bonnet bracing. Get yourself a loop clip and it's sorted and only cost you about 30 bucks.

THe other thing to get onto before you venture out, is maintenance. Most scrutineers will not look favorably on a car that has oil leaks, dripping coolant, etc. So clean that shit up. While you're at it, doing a fluid and filter change.

Get yourself an ADR approved helmet. They are not cheap. $150 will get you a new helmet. Don't get an ebay helmet. Cheap, but mostly out of Taiwan. No approval stickers, means you cant run with your nice looking helmet that cost you $35 delivered.

Other than that, get out there and have fun :D

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260491-track-day/#findComment-4469378

As above :D

But just to add to that. I would seriously consider starting with a Driver Dynamics track day, at Sandown. It's like a beginners track day and they have about 4-5 professional instructors to jump in the car with you should you need some advise.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260491-track-day/#findComment-4469410

Ye i reckon go the beginner days first Lee, same as Al said. Best to have a instructor in the seat especially considering the car you are driving...

I'd also be putting RE55's on there from the start, again, 400rwkw+ = not street rubber IMO...

So again, instructors come in there too... cause your gonna be all over the place :)

Otherwise i mirror what the others have said except on the helmet...

IMO spent a bit more on the helmet, you'll have the thing on your head for a couple of hours, not like 10x 1/4 mile passes.

So the added lightness/comfort/cooling of a 350-500 helmet can go good lengths for the extra $100-150 or so over the "base" cheaper ones.

So now you can GOR and Track day :D

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260491-track-day/#findComment-4469458

I'm in the same boat... Will definitely be aiming to get into track work starting with a DD day at Sandown, but it'll have to be the next one AFTER the GP weekend...

http://www.88speed.com/catalog/product_inf...b8cc7b726a74aed

I got one of those...$10 and has TOW, battery etc....I only put the battery sticker on, but for $10, you can't really go wrong :(

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260491-track-day/#findComment-4469762

i got to take my car out on track for a corporate day. they werent strick at all which was good. i didnt need any of that. all i had to do was remove any loose items in the cabin and boot. i did, however, had to put tape on my bonnet to stop one side lifting after i made a mesh headlight intake! might need to put the bonnet pins in after all!

Word of warning, if you are bedding your brakes in on track....bed them in! Dont try and chase down the other cars lol Lesson learnt :(

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260491-track-day/#findComment-4469811

Flip side of the coin here...

I am all for easing into things and i do believe that a DD day is a great place to start, but in saying that dont think track days are going to be insanely intense. Its all about self control. If you understand the basics, ie, what an apex is, brake then turn - dont do both together yet, keeping everything smooth etc you can work your way into it quite easily. Another great option is to do a DECA. This is a great way to learn what your car will do to you when you pass the limit in a slower safer scene...

As for tyres, if you can even get your hands on some second hand semis you will be better for it. (look for flat spots though) Your car will be a completely different beast between the two. the myth that semis will let go a lot harder isnt true either. yes it takes more speed for them to let go, but when they do you still have a much grippier slide. its all relative.

If you do decide that you are going to go straight to the track a few pointers.

1: make sure everything is tight on your car, especially wheel nuts.

2: warm everything up first. Make sure your tyres are set to the right pressures and that you get some temp into them in the first couple of laps. Same with your brakes, they will warp if you dont bring them up to temp slowly.

3: dont be intimidated by or try to keep up with faster cars.

4: keep an eye on your mirrors.

5: the smoother you are the more constant grip you have making it easier to drive.

Look forward to seeing more people out there!

btw... if you bin your car dont blame me. as i said, self control.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260491-track-day/#findComment-4472408

Semis for first time track goers are a no no! I will argue until i am blue in the face. :)

Well I sort of agree.

BUT

If you are even having half a go then you will quickly destroy road tyres on the track. In fact their life expenctancy is often worse than a proper R compound. When you add in the fact that they are utterly hopeless on a circuit I would advocate changing them out as soon as you are even half competent.

There are a few points I would like to emphasise:

1. Irrespective of how long you have been driving on the road you still need to learn to drive on a track. One of the fundamental problems is that very few people have the knowledge to understand or the vocabulary to articulate what is happening to their car through a corner. To help fix this I would recommend reading some books on the basics of car handling, setup, tyre behaviour & driver inputs. Carroll Smiths stuff is good if somewhat complicated but htere are plenty of alternatives.

2. Get some training.

3 Please understand that your car will not be set up & you will not be quick when you start. So be polite to other track goers. They will understand you are learning & accomodate you in doing so. But only up to a certain point.

4. One of the fundaments of improving on the track is to get sorted in your head such things as braking markers, turn in points, cornering lines etc etc. If you are not lapping consistantly it is very hard to improve. So set some markers etc then, as your confidence grows, move them forward slowly. This will help avoid you spinning/binning your car.

5. Don't turn up to the track needing to heat cycle tyres, bed in pads, run in your motor, test the new radiator etc etc. Equally don't front with tyres out gear eg worn brakes/rotors, sloppy bushes etc etc. There isn't much excuse for it & it can put your car & your fun track day at risk. Being prepared also has the added benefit of reducing stress.

6. Cooling stuff down is just as important as warming things up.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260491-track-day/#findComment-4472803

Semis for first time track goers are a no no! I will argue until i am blue in the face. :)

what about if he's running over 400rwkw and traction is an issue at the best of times?

i wouldnt be surprised if he shread a full good set of street tyres in one outing... pretty expensive

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260491-track-day/#findComment-4472888