is it in the Sup Regs that the State Championship is only open to Types 1-4 & SV? Does this just exclude open wheelers from the championship making it a tin-top championship?

If so, I can understand that. Back when i used to do the QLD Supersprint Championship (2001-2004), there was a single Formula Holden (Derek Pingel) that would turn up and collect the title every year. He had no actual competition, so it sort of made a mockery of the Championship - there was only ever one bloke who was going to win it. I would have supported it if they had done this up here.

It may be a State Championship, but sprints are still grass roots level motorsport. Its not really the place for open wheelers. Hillclimbs are really all about Formula Libre. Supersprints are really for tin-tops. I don't see a problem with it if they want to make it a tin top championship. They 'd be perfectly within their rights to just exclude Formula Libre from the event all together. At least you get to run, and you get the FTD trophies.

• Replies 213

Well let me throw my 2cents in here.

I totally agree with Michele!!!.

Outright is OUTRIGHT!!! end of story. We are talking about a state comp here not a club round.

1/ Birol's car is on slicks and no chance of being road registed,,,he collects champ points,,,(8 actually) so that theory is out the window. Sorry Brian but I beleive somethings not right. It's ironic that you my good man are here on SAU and we are bitching about your dad's and others car. Please don't get me wrong this is not personal just not right and thanks for the pics mate,,,nice work. :D:D:D

2/ Noel "sore grapes" are you kidding me?. I came 2nd outright,,,yet I don't get outright points either,,,my cars no open wheeler. Why shouldn't a Radical SR?/West/Stohl be eligable for outright points as well?.

Why shouldn't Michele be awarded 1st place with champ points,,,she paid her money like everybody else and won outright.

3/ Harry I spent 2 hours searching cams regs today and more confused now than when I started.

4/ I had a great day and broke my own lap record,,,so I'm happy. Now give me my bloody champ points.

Neil.

OK OK! I surrender. Knock yaselves out. :)

is it in the Sup Regs that the State Championship is only open to Types 1-4 & SV? Does this just exclude open wheelers from the championship making it a tin-top championship?

If so, I can understand that. Back when i used to do the QLD Supersprint Championship (2001-2004), there was a single Formula Holden (Derek Pingel) that would turn up and collect the title every year. He had no actual competition, so it sort of made a mockery of the Championship - there was only ever one bloke who was going to win it. I would have supported it if they had done this up here.

It may be a State Championship, but sprints are still grass roots level motorsport. Its not really the place for open wheelers. Hillclimbs are really all about Formula Libre. Supersprints are really for tin-tops. I don't see a problem with it if they want to make it a tin top championship. They 'd be perfectly within their rights to just exclude Formula Libre from the event all together. At least you get to run, and you get the FTD trophies.

Get over here and sit in the corner with me Harry. We're wrong. :)

Without spending 17hrs reading the regs is their likely to be a category id fit into with my aussie/nascup car?

There was an Aussie type car there... but get Neil or the others to confirm. Its a lot of fun, hence why I am still running and the people are fantastic.

Looking at the running list for the Supersprints at Oran Park on Sunday and noticed a few GTR's... anyone from here?

Who's coming?

Can we find the time results from yesterday anywhere, I have searched Natsoft and nothing posted yet.

Congratulations to you Michele we saw you run yesterday and you were on fire.

Rgds,

Grippy..

haha I thought I was reading a thread of drag racers :) then I head over to the compaq attack thread and they are all being nice to each other! What is the world coming too?

Ben you are in as much trouble as these guys, maybe more. From a CAMS perspective there is no class for your car (you might fit in 2c, you will have to go through the rules and grab a tape measure). Aussie cars run in category 5 (the banned one these guys are having trouble with) but nascup won't exist - Aussie cars only got in there because Ward pushed it through for commerical gain. All the wierd stuff is in category 5 including utes. You need to talk to CAMS state office, get a scruitineer like old mate Butchers out to check out the car and see what they will allow (and get a log book for it or you will have to argue at every event). Most club stuff will be fine but state champs get a bit silly about rules.

Also AASA will happily welcome you to any event. They care about competitors not 30 year old rules that don't apply to modern cars. Don't get me started on class "SV" if we are talking about event fixing.....or about "Early Modern" at Targa.....or about "V8 Supercars" for that matter....or "floorplan sports sedans (4wd)" vs space frame sports sedans.....or about restrictors on turbo cars in IPRA....or etc etc

Its in the Supp Regs that state championship is open to all categories, types 1-5 & SV, however the small print says type 5 are now allowed to get 'outright'. Even CAMS had to get me to show them where it was written that type 5 couldn't get outright.

It may be a State Championship, but sprints are still grass roots level motorsport. Its not really the place for open wheelers.

Define grass roots... I can spend 200k on a GTR R35, or on a Porsche, or on a Lotus and get Outright - Or I can spend a 1/4 of what some have spent in Red Group and not be considered grass roots. One particular Clubbie was ostracised because he was considered too quick.

I wouldn't have a problem with this if it were club level, but this is not club level, its a State Championship and listed as State Level in the CAMS event - therefore, no longer 'grass roots'.

There was a rule imposed for the 2008 Nationals that said you had to do 3 supersprints before being allowed to enter (the Nationals). So in order to run, Type 5 had to do 3 supersprints throughout the year... however, they were not allowed to win Outright. As I said before, there is a disconnect.

Can we find the time results from yesterday anywhere, I have searched Natsoft and nothing posted yet.

Congratulations to you Michele we saw you run yesterday and you were on fire.

Rgds,

Grippy..

Awww thanks Grippy :)

Results are here

R1_Results.pdf

IRACE would be good to talk to as well - They are fantastic to get a licence with and logbooks etc - They will even accept your CAMS & AASA licence.

Edit: I should mention, IRACE is full on racing (grid start)

Awww thanks Grippy :verymad:

Results are here

R1_Results.pdf

Thanks Michele,

This is great, I have an issue though, my brother ran yesterday and was on the time sheets posted at time control yesterday, last we checked he was in 43rd position in a Nissan S13 Silvia running about 1.24.7 He does not appear on the results you have posted at all??

Any ideas why this may be so?

Will the results be on Natsoft later?

He will be spewing if he can't see his final best lap.

Good to see you kept the Radical at bay!!

Rgds,

Grippy

Its not really the place for open wheelers. Hillclimbs are really all about Formula Libre. Supersprints are really for tin-tops. I don't see a problem with it if they want to make it a tin top championship. They 'd be perfectly within their rights to just exclude Formula Libre from the event all together. At least you get to run, and you get the FTD trophies.

My car is a circuit car... its not a hillclimb car. Not to be confused with complaining about a "pig" or anything, but I have 40mm clearance and scrape getting out of the pit garage and belly out on most hillclimb tracks. I can't do the full state hillclimb series because my car won't get through the pinch at King Edward Park. My car cannot be raised much further. All supersprints are on circuit tracks, perfect for my circuit car.

This is a CAMS State Level Championship which leads into the Nationals, not the State Tin Top Championships (Clubbies need to be included too). I don't want to leave anyone out... and nor should they, not at State Level.

Lets have the Australian Open again, but not let Nadal or Federer play, because they might win.

PS: I won't get an FTD trophy, I'm not eligible

He does not appear on the results you have posted at all??

Any ideas why this may be so?

Will the results be on Natsoft later?

He will be spewing if he can't see his final best lap.

Good to see you kept the Radical at bay!!

Rgds,

Grippy

I will see what I can find when I get back home

My car is a circuit car... its not a hillclimb car. Not to be confused with complaining about a "pig" or anything, but I have 40mm clearance and scrape getting out of the pit garage and belly out on most hillclimb tracks. I can't do the full state hillclimb series because my car won't get through the pinch at King Edward Park. My car cannot be raised much further. All supersprints are on circuit tracks, perfect for my circuit car.

This is a CAMS State Level Championship which leads into the Nationals, not the State Tin Top Championships (Clubbies need to be included too). I don't want to leave anyone out... and nor should they, not at State Level.

Lets have the Australian Open again, but not let Nadal or Federer play, because they might win.

I know - it was built for a national circuit racing category designed to give people a stepping stone to Europe. It was the category that decided the Australian Drivers Championship. Not a club level car in any way, shape or form.

Its a State Supersprint Championship. Supersprints are designed as a stepping stone into circuit racing. Its for grass roots competitors. You won't see Kimi Raikonnen (the equivalent of Federer & I should have picked a name I could spell!) turning up in his F1 car. And yes i would agree to not letting him play if he did turn up. And you won't see many other National open wheel category cars (F3 or whatever the latest flavour is now) bothering with a supersprint either - its like swatting flies

Edited by hrd-hr30
I will see what I can find when I get back home

Thanks heaps, He is not too happy about being dropped from the results.

He may have even scored some points.

I saw you at the Bathurst Hillclimb the weekend before also, how did you do there? I could only stay a few hrs.

Rgds,

Grippy

CAMS do not hold any other events that I am able to compete in. Hillclimbs and Supersprints are all I have open to me from CAMS. OzBOSS are no longer.

Street cars have a sh!t load more options to compete than I ever will. So don't be so defensive about it.

I saw you at the Bathurst Hillclimb the weekend before also, how did you do there? I could only stay a few hrs.

Rgds,

Grippy

2nd in class both days and I think I was 6th outright on Saturday and 5th on Sunday.