I think Japan has a higher tax for older cars (paid with each rego) Someone who knows more about that can possibly explain??.

God help us if Rudd wants to bring that one in.

Edited by MintR33
  • Replies 58

"the trick is that you car has to be worth at least the price you would get if you traded it"

This already implies that unless you want a new car then trade price is always less then selling private.. so private sale = more money for your shit box.. and then go buy a new car lol

edit: just read ABC and their story implies any value car qualifys for full $3000 LOL.. conflicting stories ^^^ ignore above if ABC is correct, add above comment if telegraph is correct

Also they have so many car that unless there is a massive turn around i can still see lay-offs cause the car production isn't going to pick up a mass amount again.. this will just allow owners/stockholders/CEO's to get more money for themselves.. rich get richer scheme.. instead they should just lower the profits they make on the cars so it's more tempting to buy a new car.. they make billions of dollars profit..

i also heard about the higher tax.. anyone confirm this?

wondering also.. would there be a stae the car has to be in to get the rebate.. could you perhaps strip the car of valuable parts LOL and trade in the car, then sell the extra parts you removed to others LOL

Or is it just one of those controversial things that gets tabled before parliment every so often and then gets thrown out? TBH I didn't really look it up before posting ITT, like someone else has mentioned in another topic at some point in this forum, our car industry would already be kaput if it wasn't for import tariffs anyway.

I do find it worrying that the entire GM empire is suddenly going broke though.

Yeah im pretty sure in the Japland they cant register cars older then 10 years. due to carbon emissions or something. but is that the same reason why K-Rud wants to bring it in??...

Also 3k for a new car... I believe and indian car company have brought out the worlds cheapest, brand new car, the TaTa or something its called.... 3K... brand new... cheap labour maybe.... looks terrible though

Lol yeah I heard that too... would hardly be stimluating the local car industry

well yeah thats what i thought.... but apparently are in high demand ..

but anywayz a lil off topic i thinks. :(

can't be impossible to register - there are vintage car clubs in Japan where ppl still have their C210 skylines or KPGC10 GTRs still driving around. I'm sure it can be done but the "shaken" or rego inspection that happened every 3 years is just getting tougher and tougher to register an old car.

I heard that Singapore has been doing it so basically registering any old cars in Singapore are not economically (plus there's no point buying a car in Singapore unless you're very rich - due to their excellent public transport system) and therefore keep car pollution relatively low there, and most old cars from Singapore are being 'dumped' for cheap price in neighbouring Indonesian tax-free island, Batam.

I kind of agree that certain old cars should be somewhat limited, and only a handful of pristine condition classics can be kept on the road and get rid of the smoky rusty old ones that would give people tubercoulosis as they drive by with the billowing smoke out of the exhaust... but how they are going to implement it is not an easy thing to do... I don't think it will be too successful here... aussies love their XY GT falcons, there are grandpas who love their mustangs, and SAUers who love their R31s...

Dumbest idea ever - it's false economy - it takes more energy/fuel and resources to produce new cars (mine the new material, produce plastics, process everything etc.), even if they recycle cars for the steel, the amount of coal/oil required will be quite large.

Putting performance aside. Age does not always play a role in regards to emissions, eg R34 N/A RB25 NEO engine is an LEV engine with only 1/10 of Japan's emission laws - which i would imagine will be much stricter than here - that's from a 10 year old engine (actually older if you want to trace its roots).

Since there is no more leaded fuel being sold - it would make sense for all older cars pre 1986 to have a high flow cat installed (for the performance inclined) engines well maintained.

A "work around" would be to retrofit a modern engine and environmentally friendly to an older car who's engine is totally beyond repair - only if the owner is willing to pay or the government has some incentive.

However in saying that - I agree bombs/death traps (basically any car not worth repairing) should be taken off the road.

*end rant*

It's not "impossible" to register old cars in japan, it just costs a shitload.

any car over 5 years old gets lumped with a huge amount of rego tax, and it keeps on going up every year.

Thats why at auctions last year the majority of cars you saw were 2003 models, and this year they'll be 2004 models.

The idea is that newer cars release less emissions, so therefore don't get taxed as much.

HYPOTHETICAL Q

If my car were stolen and then it ended up in the crusher, do I still get $3K on top of my insurance payout?

Absolutely. But I don't think you can get access to the $3k until after the car has been crushed. Same same for cars crushed under the Hoon law.

Another HYPOTHETICAL QUESTION

If Tata have just released the worlds cheapest car, selling for less than $3000 can I drive one of those from the dealership straight down to centrelink & then pocket the difference between $3k & the purchase price?

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2009/03...?section=justin

So potentially anyone can go into a used car yard, get 10 shitboxes worth $700 each, even if he had to register them for $500 a car, at $1200 he will make $1800 each x 10 shitboxes = $18,000 when he surrendered them to government to be squashed...

what an awesome idea...

That's such an awesome idea, I think you should quit your job and start gearing up for it.

You surrender the old banger for a $3000 rebate when you're purchasing a new car. With stamp duty + orc and the depreciation your new car incurs as soon as it's registered there's no profit for enterprising people in there. You'd lose money hand over fist.

I wish you could just load a flatbed full of shitters @ 3k a piece and dump em off for $$$, life would be easy.

It's a good 2 pronged initiative, good for the environment and good for those poor buggers in the car industry.

I'll give em a shoe box of old parts for 3k, to get my old girls "they'll have the pry them from my cold dead hands" or maybe add a couple of zero's :(

Absolutely. But I don't think you can get access to the $3k until after the car has been crushed. Same same for cars crushed under the Hoon law.

If Tata have just released the worlds cheapest car, selling for less than $3000 can I drive one of those from the dealership straight down to centrelink & then pocket the difference between $3k & the purchase price?

:(

Crappy 'Trade-Ins' won't traded in any more eh?

The Car Park outside the Crusher will be jam-packed.

And the road into the Crusher will be a Traffic Jam!

That's such an awesome idea, I think you should quit your job and start gearing up for it.

You surrender the old banger for a $3000 rebate when you're purchasing a new car. With stamp duty + orc and the depreciation your new car incurs as soon as it's registered there's no profit for enterprising people in there. You'd lose money hand over fist.

I wish you could just load a flatbed full of shitters @ 3k a piece and dump em off for $$$, life would be easy.

It's a good 2 pronged initiative, good for the environment and good for those poor buggers in the car industry.

I'll give em a shoe box of old parts for 3k, to get my old girls "they'll have the pry them from my cold dead hands" or maybe add a couple of zero's :(

I'm thinking about it. absolutely awesome idea.

I think it is the only respectful way to treat a brand new TATA out of dealership - straight to the crusher.

i paid $300 for my shitter... $600 to rego it.. have been driving it everyday for over a year now.. have checked tyre pressures and oil in that time... and washed it twice.. its 3 years older than my 32 and has not given me a single problem.. the 32 has given me shitloads of problems..

i wouldnt part with my shitter for $6000.

this will make it in because its a dumb scheme... like the baby bonus... any normal person can see it wont work.. and its the idiots who reckon it will work that are the majority.. lets have a kid to get $3000, dont worry that it costs $50000 a year to support it... and now lets scrap our car to get $3000 and go buy booze and just walk around.

What a great idea lols. Just go out and buy a new car with a big fat loan and get a $3000 rebate. Hasn't the MTAA heard of the credit crisis, people losing their jobs etc. Would be enough to push most people to the wall, ffs I work a good paying job in the gas industry and I can't afford a new car. Idiots