camsdialeddyno.pdf

Had the cams dialed in yesterday and another couple of hours tune as well as the warranty EVC6 installed.

Attached is comparison of before and after graphs showing power, torque, boost and afrs. Blue is yesterdays one, red was the last tune which really was a very good tune but with cams set on 0,0.

For recap of parts the car has that are relevant:

Stock bottom RB26.

tomei pon B's

GTSS's

EVC6

mines stainless pro front pipes, 3.5 inch kakimoto mega N1 rear, tomei manifolds

HKS extension kit,

PFC djetro

splitfires

Nismo adjustable F/R

HKS intank F/pump

HKS racing chamber kit, cooling pro intercooler hard pipe kit

Sard 700cc injectors

M's intakes

You can see the warranty replacement EVC 6 is holding a nice steady boost to redline and held a flat 18psi to redline but we decided to reduce the boost at the top end to cap power at 436.7 rwhp given it is still a stock bottom end.

The funny thing is, I am making 5 rwhp more peak power, with less boost and more fuel now that the cams are dialed in (a flat AFR of about 11.8 compared to 12 before). As can be seen from boost, power and torque, the whole curve has shifted by about 1,000 rpm to the left and I actually hit peak power at about 7,300 rpm instead of 8,000 rpm, meaning I can safely change under redline without sacrificing power. I checked on the road this morning and I hit 16.7psi at 3,000 rpm and max 18.6 at 3,380 rpm haha, full boost below 3,500 rpm is what I call response.

The idle is so lumpy, it sounds frigging ace, people pull up next to me and the car is bobbing side to side and just sounds like an absolute weapon. Seat of the pants feel of that extra low down torque is HUGEEEEEEEE.

All I can say is that I am absolutely stoked, and cannot recommend Ant Scali at Xspeed high enough, he truly is an absolute champ.

Me thinking of not selling the car now haha,

Edited by R33GTRKid
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/262731-replacement-evc6-in-cams-dialed/

Was the response gain more from the EVC now working correctly do you know? (ie, was the EVC totally re-setup when the cams were 0-0)???

Pre-adjust graph looks like the EVC was lazy (off even?), i say that as mine are more responsive just off the actuators without any real work being done.

GT-SS's are love for a 2.6ltr, no question :D

No the first one was before the new EVC6 was installed (it was the tune from a few weeks ago) so in that respect it is not a proper comparison mate :D. I know you just hate comparisons that are not comparing the same thing, so the difference might not be all the cams.

I did speak with Ant about this and he thought the EVC was ramping up okay, just not holding boost and I personally think that mine with tomei cams on zero zero looks lazy compared to yours with stock cams because stock cams on zero zero will allow boost to ramp up better than tomei's on zero zero simply because tomei's are not really designed to run zero zero whereas Nissan designed the stock cams to run zero zero (maybe I am wrong but i sorta makes sense)??

Edited by R33GTRKid

Great result, that is about 325kW, pretty good at 18psi would be interesting to see if you could get much more out of them, maybe the 422kW HKS claim on their website... Also they state using 264deg. cams, anyone used them with GT-SS's?.

Mike

No the first one was before the new EVC6 was installed (it was the tune from a few weeks ago) so in that respect it is not a proper comparison mate :mad:. I know you just hate comparisons that are not comparing the same thing, so the difference might not be all the cams.

I did speak with Ant about this and he thought the EVC was ramping up okay, just not holding boost and I personally think that mine with tomei cams on zero zero looks lazy compared to yours with stock cams because stock cams on zero zero will allow boost to ramp up better than tomei's on zero zero simply because tomei's are not really designed to run zero zero whereas Nissan designed the stock cams to run zero zero (maybe I am wrong but i sorta makes sense)??

hehe, ye, i hate comparo's that kinda aren't :D

Nah, im running cam gears far as i know (i haven't looked). Then i might not be... hrm. Interesting that, i must find out.

Nissan designed the stock cams for stock cars and whatever other restrictions at the time (exhaust size due to noise, also emissions, fuels perhaps, and whever else you might think could be valid)...

Changing the gears and adjusting them etc etc is well known to get response and midrange, similar to cams really as a car company would design for the best overall within their restrictions.

Great result, that is about 325kW, pretty good at 18psi would be interesting to see if you could get much more out of them, maybe the 422kW HKS claim on their website... Also they state using 264deg. cams, anyone used them with GT-SS's?.

Mike

that peak power is only at 16psi, it is at 18 earlier on in the rev range but we had to reduce the boost at peak power because it was making too much at 18psi, it was over 450rwhp (457 IIRC) but I wanted stock bottom end safe so we reduced it back down to 16 psi at 436rwhp which is heaps enough anyway.

If we screwed 21 psi into her, I reckon id crack 475rwhp but I dont want her to blow, I want to enjoy her for many kilometres to come while I build my secret RB26 stoker.....

Edited by R33GTRKid