started ripping out my turbos today got to the point where I need to get through with the 3/8 drive socket through the dropped turbo but my uni joint broke anyhow. i have a couple of questions, first do I need to remove the oil lines from off the block before I take out the turbos or is it possible to leave it and unbolt it once the turbo has been removed? I know people have said not to bend the lines however once pushed aside the turbo should be free???? and second how on earth have people unbolted the flare nut on the rear turbo the one which runs from above the turbo over the shield and into turbo, it is almost impossible????

Cheers ben

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/265780-gtr-turbo-removal-help/

You need hands the size of the Jap's and some handy tools .

Yes they are tricky and can be removed while engine is in the vehicle.

start with the front turbo and remove it completly before starting on the rear turbo.

You should be able to undo the oil feed and water feed line on the passenger side of the turbo housing and leave all the pipe's on the turbo itself .

There is a tool called a crow foot or a pipe spanner that will undo the flare nut.

Where are you located?

Have fun!

You need hands the size of the Jap's and some handy tools .

Yes they are tricky and can be removed while engine is in the vehicle.

start with the front turbo and remove it completly before starting on the rear turbo.

You should be able to undo the oil feed and water feed line on the passenger side of the turbo housing and leave all the pipe's on the turbo itself .

There is a tool called a crow foot or a pipe spanner that will undo the flare nut.

Where are you located?

Have fun!

cheers mate yeah i went to bunnings and got a new uni joint and saw the flare nut spanner set and got em to save time. I have undone the bolts as per the manual so the oil feed lines are still on the block and undone them from the turbo is that the wrong way???

live in syd on the northern beaches, so anyone who wants the fun of getting them off is more than welcome to join me its going to rain on sat so tomorrow is do or die.

I removed my turbos not too long ago, it isnt that hard but very time consuming. I first removed the front turbo and left the water and oil feed lines attached to the block, I gently pushed them down in order to take the turbo out and it was pretty straight forward from there, I had one person under the car to make sure that they werent being bent while pulling the turbo out. The front turbo is the hardest but the rear one is pretty easy, its very straight forward once you have the front one removed.

That flare nut you are talking about I had heaps of trouble with I couldnt unbolt it either up to the point where it was totally rounded off lol. What I did was remove the bracket that holds the line right at the end, once you do that you'll notice that you can move it around enough to remove the turbo, thats because its actually a rubber hose right behind the head where that line continues, just dont bend it too much. Anyways thats how I did it because I was in panic mode lol.

I'd have no problem giving you a hand but Fatz has me booked out for month's with his contraption's

The right tool do go a long way

As miran1313 said leave the line bolted to the block and undo them at the turbo junction and gentle palm them out of the way . Once the turbo's are of then you can remove the oil and water lines from the turbos quiet easily

Well after starting at 7 in the morning and finishing at 6 tonight I have yet to finish mirim1313 mate time consuming is not the right word its f**king tedious work, got the rear turbo on banjo bolts seemed fine were slightly out but seemed to go on ok. 13mm stubby would have been good just for warning for anyone. So I still got the front to do and its going to rain tomorrow so looks like I am going to get soaked along with my tools. thanks for the offer Sato could have come in handy as I think once youve done it once it would be much faster. Well tomorrow is the day I hope to finish, will keep it updated. fingers crossed for tomorrow. Cheers for the words people.

Job got done yesterday, well it took me a little less than two days, i have no idea how people have covered that in 5??? Could do it in about 10 or less now maybe but anyhow missed some good surfing for an underestimate of time. I read through post but none were too accurate I may post up a how to as there are a few things I had to figure out. Cheers for the input

Ben

Job got done yesterday, well it took me a little less than two days, i have no idea how people have covered that in 5??? Could do it in about 10 or less now maybe but anyhow missed some good surfing for an underestimate of time. I read through post but none were too accurate I may post up a how to as there are a few things I had to figure out. Cheers for the input

Ben

Just depends how many times you have done it, also depends on the tools you have, i now have a full selection of different spanners, and different swivel ratchet spanners to get manifolds off. Also turbos in 33 and 34 gtr is much easier, i know between 32 and 34 gtr there is about 40-50mm more room from the turbo to the chassis rail as the car is wider.

Cef - what stuff did you reuse? I'm going to renew all the rubber pipes and banjo washers, but the metal gaskets look good so i'm thinking of just reusing them.

Also, there were no washers on the turbo to manifold, and turbo to dump bolt (some of the dump bolts were loose). Do i need to use anything special here because of the heat or will a regular spring washer do?

Yeah I bought from nissan a turbo repalcement kit, so its got all the copper washers going from the banjo bolts etc, manifold to turbo gasket, turbo to dump gasket and also oil drain gasket, and a few other gaskets. was around $130 from memory, I also had to buy head to ex manifold gasket. about $30 you need two. would be a good idea to replace some of the vacum hoses and clamps but thats prob it. there are no washers on the turbo to manifold bolts however there are some locking plates there which come in the kit I was talking about above. There are some solid washers in the manifold to head bolts which I just reused. hope that helps

• 6 months later...