I am sorry but I completely fail to understand where you are coming from.

Barbagallo have test & tune days, the speed events series runs there plus all manner of other clubs (eg HSV club, Porsche club etc). A day out is competitive as you want it to be.

Collie may be too far away for you, but not everyone lives in Perth. Wanneroo is a 3 hour drive for me but I still can find the time. YOu don't need to book the track there are plenty of groups who you can join.

AHG have regular competition, training days & the like.

If people don't have the time/money/motivation to do things properly then they shouldn't be bitching about a lack of facilities.

If you want an analogy it is this: I want to go paint balling but I can't be bothered nor can I afford to go to a proper facility. So why cant me & my mates just run up & down random streets in suburbia shooting at each other? The reason is simple: Because it will sh!t the local residents to tears.

There is an industrial area a few kms from where I live. But I still can hear spankers in commodores doing single pegger burnouts late at night. Not everyone enjoys your preferred outpourings of, err, patriotism.

Love to all, etc.... :blink:

My point is that you can't just rock up to ANY of those places, spur of the moment. A facility where you CAN just rock up unannounced, is what is really needed to get the bulk of the idiots off the street. Even then, you will still get dickheads.

And that analogy is stupid. We live in Australia, not America. You can't just walk into Walmart and buy a paintball gun here. Please don't use stupid analogies that you clearly know nothing about as paintball is far more regulated in this country than driving will ever be.

P.S. :wub: you all too.

Edited by bubba

Here's an analogy for you all, skaters.

The public got sick of skaters skating all over their footpaths/benches/whatever, so they built them skate parks. Somewhere to skate where they can only hurt themselves and not piss off the public.

My point is that you can't just rock up to ANY of those places, spur of the moment. A facility where you CAN just rock up unannounced, is what is really needed to get the bulk of the idiots off the street. Even then, you will still get dickheads.

And that analogy is stupid. We live in Australia, not America. You can't just walk into Walmart and buy a paintball gun here. Please don't use stupid analogies that you clearly know nothing about as paintball is far more regulated in this country than driving will ever be.

P.S. :blink: you all too.

You missed the point.

What I am saying is that motorsport is organised & regulated. Just like paintball. Just like almost any sport or activity you can care to think of. So why would an exception be made for a tiny minority? Least of all a bunch of idiots/dickheads?

Just because some people can't plan ahead or organise themselves doesn't give them carte blanche to give everyone else the sh!ts. The "Its all too hard" excuse is a feeble one at best.

You missed the point again, or you just aren't even bothering to read what I'm typing. Obviously everything that is currently in place is not effective enough because there is still blatantly too many dickheads on the road doing stupid stuff. I was suggesting further measures, not taking the approach that "there is already enough".

Give them somewhere to get the sillies out that won't affect the general public. Is that such a bad idea?

And please don't bring up paintball in regards to this topic again as you clearly have no idea what you're talking about. There are many different styles of paintball you can play, ranging from social spur of the moment games (rock up at a field and have a shoot) through to organised national level competition (of which I partake). Thus, you should be able to see how your paintball analogies contradict what you are trying to say.

You missed the point again, or you just aren't even bothering to read what I'm typing. Obviously everything that is currently in place is not effective enough because there is still blatantly too many dickheads on the road doing stupid stuff. I was suggesting further measures, not taking the approach that "there is already enough".

Give them somewhere to get the sillies out that won't affect the general public. Is that such a bad idea?

And please don't bring up paintball in regards to this topic again as you clearly have no idea what you're talking about. There are many different styles of paintball you can play, ranging from social spur of the moment games (rock up at a field and have a shoot) through to organised national level competition (of which I partake). Thus, you should be able to see how your paintball analogies contradict what you are trying to say.

No, but where would that be? Anyone with a loud exhaust pulling a burnout will generate a heap of noise. The facility for such a thing would therefore need to be a long way from any residence. Like Kwinana. Or 10kms out the back of Collie. Or Wanneroo. In other words as has been noted too far away for people to bother with.

Plus money would be needed to be found to develop it. To pay for such things as staff, public liability insurance, upkeep etc etc... $20 for a few people a night would hardly make a dent in the problem. As has been observed elsewhere - there are dickheads everywhere.

Look at the end of the day people don't do stupid things for lack of facilities or lack of organisation. They do stupid things because they are dickheads. What needs fixing is their dickhead tendencies. The best & probably only way to do this is to get them involved in properly organised activities. Of whatever nature & at whatever level they can aspire to. There are already more than enough outlets for this.

Which is my point. The analogy I used was to advocate the benefits of organisations & properly organised events that already exist. It wasn't a comment on the activity itself.

I have already given this some serious thought and didn't feel the need to go into capital required, insurance, staffing etc. It was more the concept that I was trying to convey.

I agree that there will always be dickheads and you will NEVER manage to educate them all to a sufficient level that the plebbery on the streets ceases to exist.

If, somehow, you did manage to to get all the dickheads to participate in properly organised activities, do you think the current outlets would cope?

Lastly, the reason I shot down your analogy is because it isn't all properly organised events and I guess, that is the crux of my whole argument. Why does it have to be so "organised"? A venue that catered for peoples whims and randomness is what I believe would help alleviate the plebbery. That, of course, is just my opinion.

I'm all for education, but really, that doesn't work as effectively as most would like to think. I believe in also offering alternatives, and effective ones at that.

Edited by bubba
I have already given this some serious thought and didn't feel the need to go into capital required, insurance, staffing etc. It was more the concept that I was trying to convey.

I agree that there will always be dickheads and you will NEVER manage to educate them all to a sufficient level that the plebbery on the streets ceases to exist.

If, somehow, you did manage to to get all the dickheads to participate in properly organised activities, do you think the current outlets would cope?

Lastly, the reason I shot down your analogy is because it isn't all properly organised events and I guess, that is the crux of my whole argument. Why does it have to be so "organised"? A venue that catered for peoples whims and randomness is what I believe would help alleviate the plebbery. That, of course, is just my opinion.

I'm all for education, but really, that doesn't work as effectively as most would like to think. I believe in also offering alternatives, and effective ones at that.

Actually to the extent that I have thought about it there is a fundamental problem in my logic. Simply put the threshold (for want of a better word) for entry into any of the activities I care about can be best quantified as being high enough to keep the dickheads out. :blink: Hmmm.

I guess the reason everything has to be so organised is because that is how our society has evolved. Believe me I don't need any convincing of the merits or otherwise of that when I have to get up at 6.00am to get to scrutineering. But to the extent that an activity can give the general populous the sh!ts or affect them adversely, then yeah, it does need to be properly organised.

The upside of it things being well organised is it offers a path for development & a support structure to enable people to learn & better enjoy their activities. Which I guess you would well understand if you are participating at a national level in anything. (See I do read stuff)

Thankfully, the hoops you have to jump threw to get a paintball marker also keeps a lot of the dickheads out of the sport! Pity cars aren't treated teh same as firearms :blink: (both are just as capable of killing someone, and at the end of the day the car or gun is just a tool and the person behind the wheel/trigger is the weak point).

Anyway, as entertaining as this was, we should probably stop whoring this guys thread :wub:

Sorry to go off topic but....

WTF "mr keets"..is that a go mate (no pun intended)..im 28 going on 29 years old i dont hoon my car on the public roads and when in traffic never really take it above 3 grand.my car is visualy stock xcept 18" dished rims,lowered to legal limit and a 3.5" zorst.I never try to attract attention but still i get it.NOW u tell me why a V8 commodore or xr6 turbo'd falcon dumped with zorst dont get the heat like impoprts do yet u see them "hoon" on the roads all the time and not get caught but when a import drives legal and within limits we are hotter then stink on shit...???..i am fed up with the unwanted attention and its pi**ing me off as im sure it does to other import drivers.....

Anywayssssss i just passed the pits today and got my yellow off.i borrowed my brothers plumbak and fixed the flutter problem and apart from that nothing else on my car was questioned.AND to my delight the inspector said he is a v8 driver but he sees the police yellowing alot of imports (mainly bias reasons)for the smallest things but in the same instance will see a aussie made car on the roads in worse conditions but will note even stop it or what not...all i can say is WA will turn into a police state soon.

lol >.<

Sorry to go off topic but....

WTF "mr keets"..is that a go mate (no pun intended)..im 28 going on 29 years old i dont hoon my car on the public roads and when in traffic never really take it above 3 grand.my car is visualy stock xcept 18" dished rims,lowered to legal limit and a 3.5" zorst.I never try to attract attention but still i get it.NOW u tell me why a V8 commodore or xr6 turbo'd falcon dumped with zorst dont get the heat like impoprts do yet u see them "hoon" on the roads all the time and not get caught but when a import drives legal and within limits we are hotter then stink on shit...???..i am fed up with the unwanted attention and its pi**ing me off as im sure it does to other import drivers.....

Anywayssssss i just passed the pits today and got my yellow off.i borrowed my brothers plumbak and fixed the flutter problem and apart from that nothing else on my car was questioned.AND to my delight the inspector said he is a v8 driver but he sees the police yellowing alot of imports (mainly bias reasons)for the smallest things but in the same instance will see a aussie made car on the roads in worse conditions but will note even stop it or what not...all i can say is WA will turn into a police state soon.

I think the cops just jealous of our cars, cos we own their v8's :)

there arw some good points in here...

i reckon the goverment should stop throwing away millions on these 'campains' which arent working and build a tarmac patch, Xm wide Xm long and have it as a 'skid pan' nobody mans it, or owns it, free of charge to use it, for aslong as you want. Place it in an open area and let it be!!! have a fence around it, at the entrance, sign saying do damage to your car, thats your problem/fault! Please be fair to other waiting patrons, 1 car at a time!

Or break the field in half with a concrete barrier and have a skidpans, have a viewing area which is protected by barrier!

= Profit!!!

that way, people cant sue coz of damages, use at your own risk sorta thing, put it somewhere where noise isnt a issue, reduces chances of ppl doing it on street, potentially saves lives!

Or they could just turn a blind eye to people doing it out in the middle of nowhere where noone cares, hence not making it legal but just allowing it to happen. This doesn't encourage the activity but allows people to do it somewhere out of the way.

Kind of like the issue of prostitution in kalgoorlie. They don't condone it, but they don't police it because without it there would be too many issues with the locals.

You'll find this is exactly what they do.

Or they could just turn a blind eye to people doing it out in the middle of nowhere where noone cares, hence not making it legal but just allowing it to happen. This doesn't encourage the activity but allows people to do it somewhere out of the way.

Like they used to tell us in the old days, take it out the back of Wangara.

These days you'd want to be looking a little further north. Around my house there seem to be plenty of people doing it. Plenty of new landsales areas and that with no houses on them where you can see everything around you. Or when you go up yanchep way have you noticed how many people are going like 140+?

Unfortunately as time goes on the fringe of where its "acceptable" gets pushed further and further away from the city centre.