O If i had a spare $234523. Some of the stuff you can buy now is ridiculous ,

Luke. Its at the crown and scepture. real real nice setup. They always bring in more speakers especially for the dubstep shows. real ncie sound.

Heres a tune thats almost finised. Finally

On youtube. Made a weird vid for it too

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jK6ex2Qzyqs

• Replies 492

O If i had a spare $234523. Some of the stuff you can buy now is ridiculous ,

Luke. Its at the crown and scepture. real real nice setup. They always bring in more speakers especially for the dubstep shows. real ncie sound.

Heres a tune thats almost finised. Finally

On youtube. Made a weird vid for it too

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jK6ex2Qzyqs

its not bad, if you're sippin purple drank (promethezine and codeine)...

the bass and samples are good but it just reminds me of chopped and screwed hiphop style...

somethin more uptempo, with the mad bass and some nasty square wave mids would be the go :D

-D

I know what your saying. Appreciate the honest feedback too.

It will sound more uptempo once I add some nice fast hats. some more toms and even some bongo sounds.

I don't want the whole actual song to sound uptempo. that's the beauty of dubstep. Slow beats over fast sounds. Its a real nice change and sounds interesting.

Real mind bending sort of style. Almost two diff genres/songs/speeds in the one tune.

I know what your saying. Appreciate the honest feedback too.

It will sound more uptempo once I add some nice fast hats. some more toms and even some bongo sounds.

I don't want the whole actual song to sound uptempo. that's the beauty of dubstep. Slow beats over fast sounds. Its a real nice change and sounds interesting.

Real mind bending sort of style. Almost two diff genres/songs/speeds in the one tune.

true, i really do like the datsik stuff that was posted before. i actually downloaded the mp3s and decided to play it in my car on the way to work

20/33 people are looking at me like i've just farted in their soup. hah. drink it, bitches...

-D

HAHAHA ,that video is gold. well done!

i really love it man, great piece of work. very dark, grimey! the bassline is mental.

where the f**k did you get the samples!!! mint... while i was playing it my missus yelled out "what the f@#k is that!!!!" hahaha she has no idea what dubstep is

im listening to it again right now without watching the clip, it just gives me pictures of zombies and dead people digging themselves out of their graves... lol

one of the samples toward the end sounds familiar - the one saying "you know what s/he did". Sounds like the supposed father from Bad Boy Bubby

true, i really do like the datsik stuff that was posted before. i actually downloaded the mp3s and decided to play it in my car on the way to work

20/33 people are looking at me like i've just farted in their soup. hah. drink it, bitches...

-D

Yes datsik is class. For some reason he just uses perfect sounds. nothing over the top in terms of technicality, just real nice sounds and perfect perfect timing.

Check this guy out I know in adelaide. Vry good. Datsik style

http://soundcloud.com/f3tch/faded

HAHAHA ,that video is gold. well done!

i really love it man, great piece of work. very dark, grimey! the bassline is mental.

where the f**k did you get the samples!!! mint... while i was playing it my missus yelled out "what the f@#k is that!!!!" hahaha she has no idea what dubstep is

im listening to it again right now without watching the clip, it just gives me pictures of zombies and dead people digging themselves out of their graves... lol

one of the samples toward the end sounds familiar - the one saying "you know what s/he did". Sounds like the supposed father from Bad Boy Bubby

haah cheers mate. Glad you liked the vid. Thought Id make a vid for once. sorta goes with the darkness of it I guess :D

Some of the samples are from the Exorcist. one of my fav movies. well made movie for its time.

Just slowed some of the sounds up/down

:D top stuff!

that f3tch track 'Faded' should get a proper release, surely!

-edit

Jeeeez, having a listen to 'reverse kanga' now. losing my shit!

very good producer

Yeah F3tch got asked last week if he wants to spin his own tunes in the city. I was asked to. but no way near ready.

I reckon he could put on a good show with his tunes and some other stuff chucked in.

But, some of the features - who the hell is gonna use them in a live set! I think a lot of its there for the wow factor.

Without having had a good look at what it can do, I'd be betting that those features could be triggered via a sequencer, even in a live situation.

Yeah F3tch got asked last week if he wants to spin his own tunes in the city. I was asked to. but no way near ready.

thats excellent mate - even if you don't play a lot of your own stuff, just maybe play the odd set here and there. Good to get a foot in the door so to speak, especially if you want to keep doing it in the future.

when you say not ready you mean your production stuff wise, or not ready at playing a good set out?

Without having had a good look at what it can do, I'd be betting that those features could be triggered via a sequencer, even in a live situation.

no doubt Steve.

For a lot those features to be put to work properly by a DJ, they'd really need to pre construct quite heavily.

With technology like Ableton, Traktor etc, i think that is the way things have really headed anyway. Those 2000s have just so much to offer, all this technology just jam packed in, its ridiculous.

on topic of set pre construction;Any punter knows pre constructed sets can highly disappoint - seen it happen quite a few times, where the big name producer/DJ rocks up and plays his set the way he knows how to play it, without reading the crowd. Some can absolutely 'wow' the crowd well if the mood and hype is there at the time, but other times it just fails big time. Good example - Parklife 2007 i think it was; Justice were playing one of the last sets of the day i think. Now, think - study your crowd, Justice - last set of the day, drunken peanuts everywhere, the drugheads have probably just consumed for the last stretch of the day - so its either A) right, lets churn out this latest indie electrorock melt your mind set we've programmed... or B) read the f*&^ing crowd, what do you think is gonna work well? - naturally, at this time of an evening, everyone wants to hear what they know (especially the majority at Adelaide events), maybe trip them out a bit with their favourite tracks with some good effects, re-shuffle bits with Ableton, whatever.

What option did Justice go for... A)!

He was one angry Frenchman at the end of the set. I don't think he will be returning here in a good hurry. The crowd were so shocked at the rubbish Justice had cooked up for a set, one dude took his thongs off and pegged them at the DJs head! HAHA!!!!

This is why i love DJs like John Digweed, Derrick Carter, Mark Farina, Andy C, Jeff Mills, and plenty more. Arm them with 3x CDJ 1000s, 3 Technics 1200s, whatever mixer tickles their fancy, maybe an effects unit (if not already in the mixer) and play a real bloody set for the crowd!

I do love and appreciate what you can do with all the digital technology though. But i really cant stand watching a dj sit behind the console playing with a mouse and computer. Could be sitting there with Media player minimised visiting redtube.com for all we know...

I agree/ I think the 2000 is a great piece of kit. BUt its getting to over the top.

I heard technics has stopped production of the 1200 tts. Panasonic is the actual giant that made these units.

sad day indeed. Still like vinyl. one of the best mixers in the world is a allen and heath xone92. fully anolouge.

Alot more skill involved mixing vinyl imo. or mixing without any digital bpms.

I guess its just alot neater when mixing with everything lit up.

My mate just got two CJD400s. great piece of kit. They can be used as actual sound cards. full usb. So many features.

Some people stuff around wit the effects and features that much and forget to actually mix. and sound neat.

Luke. Im sorta ready to mix live. But still want some more practice. to be honest would be pretty nervous playing live. Would also have to make a neat set. practice that set too.

practice makes perfect hey! no rush to get out there. when you've got more confidence.

I'd say if you're out at a bar one day with some mates, and feel like kicking the the current DJ whos playing there out of the console because they're doing a fking terrible job, then you're ready to play out!

shit didn't know that about the Tech's ceasing production! the day had to come though. i think they will always be the most valuable turntables no matter what else is on the market.

solid tables (literally)

TechnicsSL-1210M5G.jpg

RIP! haha

definitely a lot more skill in playing with vinyl. gotta keep your ear in the groove and ride those pitches! little things like a slightly warped record will have an effect in taking your beats out of sync in the mix

with CDJs you can have both channels opened up on the mixer / cross fader dead centre, with 2 tracks perfectly in sync, go take a piss and get a drink at the bar, come back, and they'll still be beatmatched... I reckon i'll go for 400s, i like them.

Hmmm, xmas pressie for myself....... :)

luke JB-HIFI have got cdj400s on sale for $830 each.

I'm thinking of heading to the gepps cross store and see if they do lay by..hopefully coz will get 2 400s and an 800 mixer :P