hey guys...

got an r34 GTT, just wondering whats the stock rb25det turbo maximum power can it handle?? horsepower/kilowatts..got my car boosted up to 10 PSi with stock turbo..getting aftermarket ECU and bigger FMIC soon..currently running on the dyno around 180-185 rwkw..is it also possible to reach to 200+ without changing the standard turbo and without boosting it up more than wat i have now?? will aftermarket ECU get me to 200+??its my daily drive at the moment..not planning any major upgrades though..power i want, is from whatever my aftermarket ECU and FMIC will give me..

set-up at the moment:

*full 3" exhaust system all the way to turbo back with 3" high flow cat.

*pod filter with box.

*Greddy boost controller boosted to 10 psi and tuned..

next up grades:

*aftermarket ECU or Remap.

*FMIC.

*coil packs, better sparkplugs, fuel pumps and fuel regulator..

and thats about it for my power..

will my stock turbo handle these set up??

help??

thanx guys

G'day mate,

Yeah the stock turbo will handle that fine. I'm running about 12psi controlled by a greddy boost controller, a full exhaust, fmic and a power fc.

As far as the max power of the stock turbo goes, i'm sure if you have a bit of a search you'll find some good info. I doubt it will produce much more than 200rwkw though as they really start to run out of puff at or beyond 14psi and also lose reliability....

Mine is also my daily driver now until I get another bike. Just out of curiosity what kind of fuel economy do u get with your current setup?

Cheers mate.

G'day mate,

Yeah the stock turbo will handle that fine. I'm running about 12psi controlled by a greddy boost controller, a full exhaust, fmic and a power fc.

As far as the max power of the stock turbo goes, i'm sure if you have a bit of a search you'll find some good info. I doubt it will produce much more than 200rwkw though as they really start to run out of puff at or beyond 14psi and also lose reliability....

Mine is also my daily driver now until I get another bike. Just out of curiosity what kind of fuel economy do u get with your current setup?

Cheers mate.

hi jase,

in regards to fuel economy, i couldnt tell the difference from when my car was still stock to my current set up, still doing 450 klms/55 Ltrs of full tank...but would stretch to 500 klms/55 Ltrs on a long distance drive...in saying dat, if i drive like a hoon and drive fast and brake hard all the time, i could squeeze around 350 Klms/full tank.

by the way, u mentioned u are running 12 psi on ur car right now?? is that with aftermarket turbo or stock?? i heard its bad running that kinda boost on a stockies..?? any problems so far with the turbo?? and how much are you running on the dyno with your current set up, if u wouldnt mind asking??

Edited by myRB25DETT

That's on the stock turbo. I have done a fair amount of reading and my summary of it all was that anything over 12 can start to be a bit too high.

I had mine tuned at godzilla by mark, so I'm pretty happy that it should be right. He tuned it quite 'safely' as far as A/F ratios go too.

I don't hoon around or anything either so its not like its boosting around at 12psi a hell of a lot.

From memory I had around the 180rwkw last time it was dyno'd. But it was also 35 degrees in the shade that day... I made the same power before the power fc was fitted on the same dyno, but it was about 10 or more degrees cooler. I must go back and see what its like now that it's coming back into winter!

I get about 500km from 55 litres as well. Much less if I'm driving around on boost a lot tho! :D

Stock turbo is boost level limited

What is that limit? ~12psi.

Dont go above 12psi - simple as that. You will make ~200rwkw through the R34 turbo @ that boost level.

All the other mods are largely irrelvant to the turbo life... its the shaft speed/heat that kills them, which is what happens above 12psi

Stock turbo is boost level limited

What is that limit? ~12psi.

Dont go above 12psi - simple as that. You will make ~200rwkw through the R34 turbo @ that boost level.

All the other mods are largely irrelvant to the turbo life... its the shaft speed/heat that kills them, which is what happens above 12psi

That's why I'm running 12psi and not more :D

hhmmm..im quite surprised how i ran 180 rwkw on the dyno with standard SMIC and standard ECU..i know every dyno is different and vary every results depending on the temps. of the day...cant wait till i get my last two major up grades and thinking of boosting it up now to 12 psi as what u guys said previously its safe..

cheers guys..

go Remap, great stuff. Got my R34 remapped at Status Tuning. Trent will sort ya out :laugh:

hey mate,

where abouts in melb. is status tuning located?? ive heard of trent before but dont knw where the shop tho..i know Dr. Drift knows a thing about remapping too..im thinking of getting it done there..

Trent is in sth dandy, rodeo drive. Easy as to get to (whereis.com.au 63 rodeo dr, south dandy)

Sam,aka Dr Drift is out in Brooklyn. So you got one place west'ish and one place south east'ish.

Have you rung around for prices?

All i can say is that i'm a very happy camper with Status Tuning's work and the service they provide. And even if i had the choice of a cheap power fc, i'd still go remap. Car runs/starts really well in all conditions and has been returning good fuel economy, and on my recent big drive, returning some great fuel economy.

Trent is in sth dandy, rodeo drive. Easy as to get to (whereis.com.au 63 rodeo dr, south dandy)

Sam,aka Dr Drift is out in Brooklyn. So you got one place west'ish and one place south east'ish.

Have you rung around for prices?

All i can say is that i'm a very happy camper with Status Tuning's work and the service they provide. And even if i had the choice of a cheap power fc, i'd still go remap. Car runs/starts really well in all conditions and has been returning good fuel economy, and on my recent big drive, returning some great fuel economy.

yeah mate, i asked sam few weeks ago for a quote on remapping, it would cost me over 1k including labour and tuning...but not in a rush of getting it done yet...just enjoying my ride for now...is status tuning any connection to O.H. Performance?? cause i went at OH perm. to quote for tuning and dyno and told me to go to status tuning/?..anyways doesnt matter...thanx dude

no connection that i know of? and how shall i put this.... there are 3 workshops that have been mentioned... 2 already, and you just mentioned the 3rd one in your last post... i'd pick one of the first 2 and not contemplate the 3rd

comprende?

>_<

Yeah i run 12 psi. Which is safe.

My R34GTT Sedan Auto

Made 198.75KW ATW Dyna Dynamics Shootout

mods- Basic

700x300 front mount

3.5'' xforce exhaust

Hdi electronic Boost Controller

Splitfire Coils (std ones kept failing)

fuel ecconomy is the same 450-480klm

Also Lookup 'Nistune' for Re-map

Kenny

Sounds good that u can get almost 200rwkw with the AT box.

How does the xforce go? Are they good? I found that under $800 shipped on ebay.

Have u done any dyno before putting the FMIC? Many posts saying not really necessary for a FMIC under 200kw.

Probably worth spending $800 to high flow the turbo and some injectors before tunning it. should see 260rwkws with safe boost. Trent at status would be a good place to go in Melbourne and lot cheaper then 1K.

Edited by kwickr33