hi all

hope I don't get shot down for this on a skyline forum

but I'd like to know what you guys reckon about the 3000GT

not thinking of trading my beloved r33 but just tempted to buy this 3000GT I keep seeing

(its been for sale for a while in Kingsley)

Does anyone know about them?

Are they quick, easy to modify????

Could it be more fun than my R33 ???????????

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/269759-mitsubishi-3000gt/

To be truthful I have always thought that they are a good looking car. However anybody I ever spoke to regarding them has always criticised them for Being too heavy, Difficult to work on, Turbos too small for decent upgraades, fragile transmissions etc How true all the stories are could be anybodys guess.....Go for a ride in one and have a good thorough look at it

nice motors being a V6 TT

and it's an AWD car too but i'm assuming they'd be quite heavy and because they aren't the most popular car... parts won't be near as easy to find as your R33...

more fun? depends what you consider fun but yeah you can't fang it sideways and be a cool boy racer but yeah they're awesome cars... whack on an awesome kit with some nice rims and dump it on it's hole and give it a nice sounding exhaust and you've got one wicked street car that turns heads, mainly because they're still not common on the street

give it a shot man... it could be on sale for a while for a reason though... think it through first mate

hope that helps

nice motors being a V6 TT

and it's an AWD car too but i'm assuming they'd be quite heavy and because they aren't the most popular car... parts won't be near as easy to find as your R33...

more fun? depends what you consider fun but yeah you can't fang it sideways and be a cool boy racer but yeah they're awesome cars... whack on an awesome kit with some nice rims and dump it on it's hole and give it a nice sounding exhaust and you've got one wicked street car that turns heads, mainly because they're still not common on the street

give it a shot man... it could be on sale for a while for a reason though... think it through first mate

hope that helps

thanks for the advice

what did you think of my headlights???

They do look pretty good. And the engines certainly have a lot of potential as Hoony said. They are a little heavy but they are also AWD.

The thing I don't like about them is that their engine bay is reminiscent of the 300ZX, there is not much room in there!

They wouldn't be the easiest cars in the world to mod but from what I have seen they have some real tuning potential and IMO are pretty cool rides if you've got a little bit of patience, money and want to be slightly different.

I was tossing up between 3000gt, supra and skyline before i opted for a skyline.

The 3000gt is a really nice car but you can't do many mods to it without spending much money.

You can't boost it because the stock turbos are almost already at peak boost. So you have to buy bigger turbos (and everything else to match!) but I'm certian i read somewhere that only takes you a little way because the engine needs forging.

As said before, there is no space in the engine bay to work with either which sucks for DIY fun.

Because i wanted a car i could basically go to kmart and get performance parts for, i got a skyline, If you just want a really nice car that you dont want to change to much from stock (performance wise) go a 3000gt. They aren't everywhere and they have great performance from stock.

By the way, is the nice one in kingsley the blue one with a full kit? that one does look really nice

I have always thought they are a really sexy car, dumped with nice dished 18's or 19's, a killa kit and purring exhaust. I love the look of them, but for performance, i wouldnt go with it, too heavy and parts arnt that easy to find as they are quite a rare car.....

My 2cents worth

I was tossing up between 3000gt, supra and skyline before i opted for a skyline.

The 3000gt is a really nice car but you can't do many mods to it without spending much money.

You can't boost it because the stock turbos are almost already at peak boost. So you have to buy bigger turbos (and everything else to match!) but I'm certian i read somewhere that only takes you a little way because the engine needs forging.

As said before, there is no space in the engine bay to work with either which sucks for DIY fun.

Because i wanted a car i could basically go to kmart and get performance parts for, i got a skyline, If you just want a really nice car that you dont want to change to much from stock (performance wise) go a 3000gt. They aren't everywhere and they have great performance from stock.

By the way, is the nice one in kingsley the blue one with a full kit? that one does look really nice

i so did not just read that...

Yeh I always like the looks on 3000gt. Well wat year you gettin? I rekon 97 is the best looking one.

I always wanted one and I googled it, I noticed heaps of people saying the transmission is weak or expensive for parts.

I don't like how the engine is front wheel layout and no space to work on, but it would be a really head turner on the street :D

IMO 300zx is better tho.

my frnd has a 3000gt. awsome fun. but had a lot of probz with it. finally his gearbox gave out and its been garaged ever since coz he couldnt find replacement. its been 4 years now :P..

but its one daym gud looking car.

if your looking into a Mitsubishi GTO, make sure you get a red one as they look stunning in red or white..

theres one for sale in Noranda, a red one..superb

same price as the kingsley one thats for sale.

test drive it, tell us how it goes compared to the skyline.

only bad thing about GTO as people said.. gearbox will go bye bye

there was a black one tuned at Tenagah before and made 321 HP at all fours. tho they did say it takes awhile to get that result. it is a nice looking car but it understeers heavily and from what i heard, likes to eat up the brakes as well. as for gearbox, Mitsubishis always have issues with them for some reason not just the 3000GT. tuning them is like tuning a Honda which is difficult due to the fact they are tuned well from factory and MIVEC, just like V-TEC, doesnt make things easy with tuning either but there are plenty modified in the USA so its still possible.

I have seen the one in Kingsley for sale as well. It does look good!! but it has been for sale FOR AGES now!!!!

make sure u no a good auto electrician pretty sure the later models come out with elec spoilers an front bumpers or somethink lik that so u can adjust ur downforce an all inside is electrical, find out how easy it is 2 get parts aswell :P