ok guys, i've ended up with a JB clutch 4400lb clamping pressue :ermm: hoping it's not going to be too harsh for my GT-T gear box.

But thought i'd update on some info i found when ringing around...

Ok, the top 3 QLD clutches places, as most know are...

Race Clutch (Jim Berry)

NPC

Direct Clutch

JB - $1012 delivered to Melbourne (if you're in QLD, minus ~$30 from that price)

This is a rebuilt clutch, standard flywheel (JB does not recommend going lightened flywheel, and this seems to be the current prevailing logic amongst other places as well)

New clutch plate, rebuild pressure plate, and i think he said to get a new rear main seal from Nissan, i assuming this is the for the gearbox itself.

I would have to send him my clutch though, which is different to the other workshops though...

NPC - $753.50 (organic) or $863.50 (ceramic)

For some reason pull type clutches (GTT, R32 GTR V-Spec, R33 GTR, R34 GTR) are more expensive to make? go figure...

NPC does NOT need my clutch, they just build one :) I think they use Exedy pressure plates, but it seems like Exedy pretty much make all the parts for most the jap brands.

$753 one said that would be fine for my power requirements, etc (300-320rwkw) but that's a clutch that won't be seeing much abuse/launching. They said if i wanted something that can handle drifting, clutch dumps etc, you would need to upgrade to the ceramic (6 puk??) one for $863. They did say it was NOT as street-able as the organic, so even though the price difference was not much there is a choice to be made in terms of what you want in a daily driver. I reckon you'd still get use to the bigger option pretty quick though.

Direct Clutch - $462 (organic) or $740 (button, sprung button?)

Another nice bunch of qld clutch makers, what is it with clutches and queenslanders?? Anyways, these guys reckon i'd be fine for what i explained, the power requirement and the fact the track work would be circuit work with rolling starts, etc. The guy i spoke to said he had the organic equivalent in his car (well over 300rwkw i think) for a decent amount of time and he's had no drama's. Was a XR6 turbo ute i think, can't remember.

But said i really wanted something that could cop some abuse, to move up to the $740 version. Again, Direct Clutch did not need my old clutch or another GTT/GTR clutch to build from.

I know what you're thinking, the prices seem a bit cheap... and i must have inferred that somehow when i was speaking to him because he mentioned that they were cheaper than other "QLD" clutch builders, and that "for example" :( if you put his $462 next to a JB $1k, they'd pretty much be the same thing, something about jb waving a magic wand over those clutches :D

I went with a JB in the end because i found a guy in QLD selling his one that's travelled 80km's for a very good price (not as cheap as DC organic, but decent amount cheaper than all the other options) and it was built with a 4400lb clamping force, which is a lot more than what other people have been saying so i'm confident it can handle some punishment. Hopefully the rest of the drivetrain is up for it.

If i hadn't been able to find a clutch in the classifieds here, i would double/triple check again with Direct Clutch, re: what the car would be used for and for them to confirm again that the organic could handle it, and most likely give it a bash.

The way i see it, there are some damn fine clutch builders here who make stronger clutches than the "strong" Exedy/Xtreme clutches, so why pay more for a name and get something local made.

Clutch install is booked for the 11th June with Status Tuning. I'll let you guys know of my thoughts once it's in

EDIT: just to triple check, a R33 GTR clutch will fit fine in my car yeah? GT-T is pull type, R33 GTR is pull type, it'll fit yeah? i'm getting my standard flywheel machined as well when the clutch goes in

hey Daniel how did you go with your clutch?

im pretty much ont he same boat now. stock clutch slipping on 3rd over 4000rpm on full boost.

been looking around and alot of ppl have reccomended Exedy (SC) Cerametallic 3 Puk Button clutch kit. but being a daily driver im not sure how that will go as im pretty much are aming for similar gaols as yours but not 300 but 280ish rwkw.

hows the JB clutch for daily driving? the Exedy (SC) Cerametallic 3 Puk Button clutch kit is only $730 from slide. how much did the whole setup end up costing you?

ta

Ash

it's in and forgotten what stock feels like :P

it was definitely harder then stock and a shorter travel, but still heaps of travel though. It's probably the beefiest JB clutch though, which is probably the reason mine doesn't feel like stock where-as other people reckon their JB clutches feel like stock.

Car is running 285rwkw now, and you can try it out if you like.

From what i read/researched, the Exedy will die on you. I would just get one of the QLD clutch places to make you exactly what you want as opposed to worrying about the brand name stuff. That's just my opinion.

I actually got my JB clutch from a wrecked R33 GTR, had travelled 80km's but was a fair bit cheaper than retail :( So price i paid isn't going to help. Just use the quotes i got from my prev post

ahhh swete thanks for that.

ye i know nothing about clutch lol so ye every bit of info helps. will give JB a call.. ill take you up on that offer thouugh in seeing how yours feel. i do a fair bit of traffic driving so would prefer a clutch that is easy to drive with

if the JB second hand one didn't come up, i was tempted to try Direct Clutch or NPC. I reckon a not-so beefy JB clutch would be fine too. Have you read the 'need a clutch?' thread up top?

• 4 years later...