Hey Guys,

How did the cruise go tonight?

I went to the Test & Tune at the Drags today.The R33 went out on a truck & I drove the R34.Mark did a great job getting the car ready & fitting the new lightened doors.The weather was perfect & we were all looking forward to some fast times.

11.01am - 12.2 @ 130.52mph. Huge wheelspin problems due to the new torque split controller not set right - had to back off it.

11.42am - 10.6 @ 137.65mph. Better takeoff but still very slow 60ft time(1.757) 2nd&3rd was awesome(got 2 feet from the wall!)

I was all fired up to go out and really give it heaps on the next run

PB from drag combat was 10.7 @ 135mph so 10.6 running only 1.4bar was a good warmup.

Unfortunately the Trust 6 speed did not want to come to the party

and I blew up 3rd gear on the 3rd(& last!) run.

Oh well - thats racing.

With a couple of hours to go, & a prepared track beckoning, I could not resist trying to beat my PB of 12.5 with the R34.

The only major change to the car since that last run was the Bilstein suspension & 18" works wheels with V102 yokohamas.

I did 3 runs - 12.61, 12.42, & a new PB of 12.18 @ 114.88mph.

Shows what a better set of tyres will do off the line. Crazy thing was the 60ft time of 1.738.While not an extremely good 60ft, it was slightly better than my earlier one in the R33. We sure do have a lot of work to do to get that car off the line cleanly.The R33 has twice the power of the R34 but if we can't hook it up off the line the extra power is wasted.

I am disappointed about breaking the gearbox(again) but I did beat both my PBs and with drag racing it's just one step at a time.

Overall a good days fun - I'll be back.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2713-news-from-the-drags-17802/

What sort of tyres are you running on the 33, sounds like it just doesnt get of the line where as you probably just dump it on the 34, a real fast time too considering the minimal mods, well done.

Where did you end up going and who takes your car and whats the cost? The only reason I ask is that we build the tilt slide boddies they use on pickup trucks and we have a truck that sits around doing nothing most of the time.

Congratulations on the PB’s mate :D Bummer about the box :P So what’s the plan with the replacement? Holinger?

Are spectators allowed? I wouldn’t mind heading out to AIR next time you’re running!

The cruise was a quick one (compared to the one you came on) but it was fun. Bit of f'way stuff, hills, & plenty of chattin' :(

Hope to see you (& the 34) next cruise!

Matt

Hey Guys,

The tyres I am using at the moment are Toyo RA1s.They are a

255/40/17 DOT/CAMS approved tyre.It is hard to say what the problems are at this stage as there are so many variables.

The 4WD system has been the worst bugbear at the last 2 outings but we will get it sorted.

I use SA auto wholesalers's truck to get it out to the track($50)

but at some stage I would like to drive the beast out there!

The meeting on Sat was a private Test&Tune session organised

by a group of about 20 racers who wanted to test their cars on a

prepared track.The cost inc. track prep, lights, timing equip, & ambo/fire crew is about $3500 but split between 20 cars its a small price to pay for safe practice.There is only 1 lane open so there is no actual racing - just solo passes.If most of these cars

hired out the track on their own( which costs around $90)they

would crash because it is so slippery when not prepared due to the dust etc.It was a very good day & I'm sure there will be another one at some stage.

I need to get the R34 retuned as it is missing since I drove it on Sat.I'm not sure if holding it flat out in 6th gear in the hills on Sat arvo had anything to do with this!!!

Looking forward to another cruise so if fixed in time I'll be out & about looking for a race.

John.

Hi John,

bummer about the gearbox, must be making plenty of power though! Congrats on the times, impressive stuff. Any idea when the next meet is on?

Hope your beast is ready by the time there is another meet.

Keep up the good work,

Chris

Originally posted by Munro

I need to get the R34 retuned as it is missing since I drove it on Sat.I'm not sure if holding it flat out in 6th gear in the hills on Sat arvo had anything to do with this!!!

Just sounds like a fouled/stuffed plug or 2? Easy fixed.