DAS KAMU Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 be gratefull to the gt seies as they are the probably the reason most of us are here and own imports Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5565589 Share on other sites More sharing options...
typevu Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 I thought it was Fast and Furious that got us all into imports? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5565621 Share on other sites More sharing options...
DAS KAMU Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 I thought it was Fast and Furious that got us all into imports? that seems to be the case in sydney Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5565657 Share on other sites More sharing options...
warps Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 Hell No!! I'd owned and sold my import well before I ever set eyes on a GT game. You can thank Bathurst in the early 90's and wanting something interesting for motorsport for my buying an import. And I wanted something newer to replace my GTS2 10 years ago. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5565658 Share on other sites More sharing options...
NickR33 Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 As I've said before, If you want a hardcore driving sim, you wouldn't be looking to PS3 / Xbox / Wii for your gaming needs, and certainly not the GT series of games. Still, it's great light entertainment so I think it will still be enjoyable. Come to think of it, the reviews are pretty much exactly what I always expected of the game. I may have hoped for a lot more realism, but not being a proper simulator, I doubted that it would deliver. No great loss, and I'm sure it will sell well if for no other reason than people get to drive lots of cool cars and pretend to be [insert your favourite motorsports hero] Forza comes as close to a good sim as anything I've played on console... you could quickly make a car undriveable by changing setup in the wrong way... to make cars drift you would set them up the same way you would a real car... the changes could be immediately felt... lowering the car could be seen visually and would make the car drive differently, too low and it would skip over bumps etc... adjusting shocks for bump/rebound, diff ratios, aero etc etc... also the ability to do engine swaps was very cool... I put a 600hp RB26 into an AE86 and it was completely undriveable lol... complete pig... my favourite car was an RX7 with an NA 20B... turbo S2000 was cool too... lots of options for mechanical creativity... fark off the stupid bodykits and neons This is what I was hoping from GT5... I don't really car about visual details... they might have got their priorities wrong but I'm still going to buy it and find out Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5565678 Share on other sites More sharing options...
mad082 Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 Installing it as i type this. been going for 27 mins. originally said 20 mins to go, just dropped from 9 mins to go down to 7 mins and then down to 5 while typing this. also did the 133mb update before it started installing. that took 4 mins (telstra adsl2). now been going for 29 mins Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5565989 Share on other sites More sharing options...
paulR32gtr Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 Picked it up today and played for a few hours. Got it from JB for $77 - was pretty surprised was expecting closer to $100. The menu interface is a bit annoying as usual, slow loading times between screens. Seems a little unpolished but gets the job done. Licenses are pretty much same as usual - have only bothered with the first few for now. Started with an S13 CA18DET silvia - oil warning light was on for my first race so gave it an engine rebuild. The mods are pretty reminiscent of GT1/2/3/4 not a heap of options. Its now heaps of fun to drive though after setting up the suspension and getting some more grunt. Have been through the beginner and started amateur A-spec races. Was pretty dark when I realised you don't get interiors for the "standard" cars. Have not bought a "premium" car as yet. The go karts in special events area are heaps of fun. Also went for a fang around the Nurburgring in a '54 300 SL which was great fun from the interior view. I think its going to be a case of loving half of it where all the new detail is, and just same old GT for the other half. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566042 Share on other sites More sharing options...
NISMØ Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 (edited) I was looking forward to an r33 gts-t the most out of every car in the 'old official car list' Biggest let down everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr also was hoping a 20b cosmo would be in the game but doesnt say that either.. Edited November 25, 2010 by NISMØ Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566087 Share on other sites More sharing options...
inark Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 got it yesterday and been playing it a fair bit since then... love it. will love it more once i get my cockpit from simparts nz... but still at least for now i can get all the licences out of the way etc bit pissed off though that i even have to get the licences again seeing as the whole point of going through GT5-P was because you could import the licences and cars... what a load of shit that was. its no irace as far as the sim side of things, but never expected it to be. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566094 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Messiah Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 This is what I was hoping from GT5... I don't really car about visual details... they might have got their priorities wrong but I'm still going to buy it and find out Expecting gt to have a bunch of forzaisms wasn't very realistic. Gt has never been about engine swaps mega tuning . I've always seen gt as best motoring compared to forzas jdm option. Either way, it's a racing game where you have to use the brakes, which is alot better than the nfs series. It's not froze but I don't want it to be, I'd like to play froze for it's perks and gt for it's own. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566118 Share on other sites More sharing options...
TALBO Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 Do I... or don't I!!! Thing is I won a Xbox 360 and Kinect (maccas sms hahaha) and might just keep it and get F3. Might wait for a few more reviews.... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566142 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Supra- Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 also has anyone seen anywhere local that you can buy the HKS racing controller? i found This Page but i think thats from the states. i asked at ebgames last night and the guy had never heard of it. i also heard its not wireless.. i might cry if thats true guy at eb games mustv been like 'whats a h case'? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566157 Share on other sites More sharing options...
barraspalding Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 scooted out of work at lunch n grabbed a copy. Get home after work, attempt install. Fk not enough memory... even after deleting all photos n music off. Game data had taken up over 35gb of the 40gb available. So off i go... grab a 500gb HD from local pc store. Backed up, installed new HD, formatted, n currently ready to start uploading all the backup crap. Then i can start the install... might actually get a look at the game tonight if i'm lucky Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566168 Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4LVA Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 Stage 1/2/3 mods are pretty boring, Was really hoping for a real parts performance shop. I agree it does just feel like any other GT game but with improved graphics. The racing is still very fun though, the used car shops annoying because you have to check back all the time untill they have a car you want for sale in there. Also money is way to easy to get. 4000+ per race means you get a new decent car every 8 or so races making you not appreciate your new car at all. Has anyone tried the top gear track special event in the VW van? Most annoying challenge ever. Go karts are good for a change though. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566272 Share on other sites More sharing options...
89CAL Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 Mine's installing. I have a 500GB 7200rpm hard drive in the PS3 so it seems to be going a little bit quicker then most people are saying..... but in saying that its still taking alot longer then the game is telling me lol.... about 30 mins down so far and looks about half way maybe a bit more Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566273 Share on other sites More sharing options...
barraspalding Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 finally just started install... sez 40minutes left... should start a stopwatch Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566314 Share on other sites More sharing options...
barraspalding Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 finished install.... (wow this advised 45 seconds is farrrrken long).... MEOW! it really did take around 40 minutes... Do I... or don't I!!!Thing is I won a Xbox 360 and Kinect (maccas sms hahaha) and might just keep it and get F3. Might wait for a few more reviews.... put an xbox with kinect on layby for chrissy... me n mrs played it at a mates a week back and f*k it was a bit of fun. Tho it'll probably be like Wii games... fun for a week n then meh. Tho i'll be getting F3 also... haven't played forza 2 eva, only the original back yonks n yonks ago. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566394 Share on other sites More sharing options...
BrynDETT Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 very disappointed here.. 97.7% finished gt3... played gt4 for countless hours after i left school... then been addicted to forza 2 and then 3 for the last year.. and all i can say is what a letdown this is.. all i was expecting was a game similar to forza.. but all i can think of when i play this is how much like gt4 it is.. and the graphics are terrible.. u dont buy a hi def tv and a ps3 to see ur silvia or skyline in the same graphics it was 7 years ago on the ps2 ... game play feels crap, feels very detached from the car compared to forza 3/2.. .... rant over Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566448 Share on other sites More sharing options...
SL33K Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 Was supposed to pick up mine today as i was supposed to get paid today but haven't got paid Because of NABS System crash. Bleh. Hope i can pick it up tomorrow. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566487 Share on other sites More sharing options...
barraspalding Posted November 25, 2010 Share Posted November 25, 2010 Bit devo the g27 or g25 are still not properly supported... WTF. Will have a good crack at this tomorrow, need sleep. Did a few burnouts... Fk lot better Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/274780-gt5-is-ready/page/43/#findComment-5566516 Share on other sites More sharing options...