Boost?

Wondering if someone can gimme a hand.

The battery in my car died on Saturday night, stupid me fell victim to leaving headlights on ... oops.

Anyways, grabbed some jumper leads and started it, all good. However, since then I have noticed that it is not achieving 16psi boost which it is programmed for ... it's topping out at about 6psi. I have a Blitz Dual-SBC boost controller.

Anyone have any idea on what could have happened? Could it just be the "Mode" ? If so it's currently sitting on Mode 2 (options of 1,2,3,M of course) so if I change the mode would that make a difference? Never had to play around with one before :thumbsup:

PS: Also, I have the instruction maual/product manual but it really is not that helpful. 12 pages long and nothing useful.

-Chris

Edited by stormtrooper

Sorry mate, EBC?

I spoke to X-speed and they reckon that these things cannot reset just by battery losing charge as they store their programming. Not sure about that though, think he was just trying to sell me dyno time. So I am thinking that it could be something like just the mode it's set on at the moment.............

ECU is PowerFC

Edited by stormtrooper

Stuff it, decided to do it the fun way. Took it for a spin around the block and changed the "MODE" on the boost controller and gave it a bit each time, went from 0.6 bar to 1.1bar in the space of 2 settings. Must have just reset to default MODE when the battery died.

Thank f**k for that heh.

Edited by stormtrooper

I spoke to X-speed and they reckon that these things cannot reset just by battery losing charge as they store their programming. Not sure about that though, think he was just trying to sell me dyno time.

How they they be trying to sell you dyno time by telling you the settings cannot just 'reset'.

They are telling you that it has not lost settings, which was what your question right. They couldn't have given a better answer :P

Should have clarified. He told me that the settings will not have reset because the controller keeps it's program onboard, but that I should take it down there and book in some dyno time so they could "check and make sure". When really all the "checking" I needed to do was turn a dial and stick the "go" pedal in a bit.

As for the company, I'd still have no one else but them perform work to my car. Wasn't having a go, was an observation over something trivial :P

Edited by stormtrooper

lol indeed

Should have clarified. He told me that the settings will not have reset because the controller keeps it's program onboard, but that I should take it down there and book in some dyno time so they could "check and make sure". When really all the "checking" I needed to do was turn a dial and stick the "go" pedal in a bit.

As for the company, I'd still have no one else but them perform work to my car. Wasn't having a go, was an observation over something trivial :)

Or... you could have gone down there and they would probably have noticed it was a minor setting once on the dyno and not even charged.

You can't blame a business for proper business practices mate... Diagnosis with sensors, straps, legally etc is the best way.

Often small things like that are quick fixes and often you'll find out of 'good will' you wont get charged or it'll be very minor.. which is fair enough considering it was you who let ya battery go flat afterall :P

Whoa, ease up on the criticism. No need for it. I SAID it was my fault, I don't need you badgering me for it.

I'm just a little dubious because everyone and anyone want to charge people for things these days, everyone has a right to be a little guarded in that regard, I have NO issue whatsoever shelling out the cash for it IF I think it's warranted/necessary. Just for the fact that he said that they don't reset themselves and that he still wanted to dyno it, telling me was $176 an hour (no worries as I said no issue) just seemed a little sus.

How is it being a keyboard warrior when A: I have not insulted anyone or gone off my block and B: all I have done is explain my possition on a subject? Kids, they're everywhere.

Wasnt referring to you.