A young driver does a burnout out the front of maccas and then sees in his rear view mirror the flashing red and blue lights -

does he:

a) pull over and have his car confiscated and crushed

b) plant his right foot and lead the cops on a high speed chase to avoid capture (he could always dump the car later and report it stolen).

Now, I'm going to try be sensible when I get my first car, I might do something from time to time, but if it came to me doing a burnout and being busted by police, I'm not letting them crush my car, I'm taking my chances, simple. Not that I promote 'hooning' on public roads in any shape or form mind you. I think its down right stupid, but lets be sensible here, crushing peoples cars?

How about this:

If you get caught breaking stage 3a water restrictions, say you got busted washing your car on town water, first offence you get a fine.

You get caught again, they cut the water from your house for a month

Third strike, they burn your house down.

Edited by Solid Snake
Now, I'm going to try be sensible when I get my first car, I might do something from time to time, but if it came to me doing a burnout and being busted by police, I'm not letting them crush my car, I'm taking my chances, simple. Not that I promote 'hooning' on public roads in any shape or form mind you. I think its down right stupid, but lets be sensible here, crushing peoples cars?

So your going to risk getting your ass thrown in jail, massive fines and fees, criminal record, might get killed or kill someone during the chase............. just so they dont crush your car because you've broken the laws on numerous occasions and have not learnt your lesson.

You're damn right I will, you want my "expensive car", you're coming after me for it. As i said, not that I'd be a hoon on public roads, but if that did happen, you'd know my reaction and the reactions of many others. Here in Victoria, they just take the keys off you and sell the car at auction, not crush the thing. I'm not retarded enough to put myself in that situation, but IF I WAS I can't say I would just pull over.

Or people will just race around in $500 XE Falcons lol.

In Victoria, they can get you for "excessive acceleration" and its up to their discretion what that is, or even little things like slightly breaking traction in the wet. So if you decide to hold first gear for a while, or accelerate hard without spinning the wheels, or slightly spin the wheels in the wet, good bye car.

Edited by Solid Snake
You're damn right I will, you want my "expensive car", you're coming after me for it. As i said, not that I'd be a hoon on public roads, but if that did happen, you'd know my reaction and the reactions of many others. Here in Victoria, they just take the keys off you and sell the car at auction, not crush the thing. I'm not retarded enough to put myself in that situation, but IF I WAS I can't say I would just pull over.

Or people will just race around in $500 XE Falcons lol.

In Victoria, they can get you for "excessive acceleration" and its up to their discretion what that is, or even little things like slightly breaking traction in the wet. So if you decide to hold first gear for a while, or accelerate hard without spinning the wheels, or slightly spin the wheels in the wet, good bye car.

Mate, if you don't stop its going to be a case of a criminal record and/or jail time, not just loosing your car. Its not a case of "oh well the car will be gone better make the most of it"

I know, but people don't think in high pressure situations, best mates Dad lead the police into a high speed chase in his XY GT Falcon back in the 70s and got a year jail for it, the police report says the car was "bouncing from gutter to gutter", he says the only reason he stopped was his best mate was in the passenger seat crapping his pants, I suspect if it wasn't for him, my best mate wouldn't be alive today. Police probably know this too, people are going to go for their lives on the third strike I can tell you that now. There is also a saying, once a criminal, always a criminal, not only do you get jail time, the criminal record means you won't be able to get a job, which means re-offending to go back into jail, or selling drugs.

You can act and think logically and take the moral high ground as much as you like, but when you're in the thick of it, you aren't in control of yourself.

Edited by Solid Snake

I think you guys are taking the photo the wrong way. The logic is more like "all hoons have skylines, but not all skylines have hoons". Or something along those lines.

Crushing cars is just stupid and vindictive. It's akin to a child stomping on another child's sandcastle in the sand pit because he/she didn't get their way. It's all about causing emotional pain for the perpetrator with no positive result for anyone. I'm all for "don't want the time, don't do the crime" and deterrence, but what a friggen waste crushing someone's car is. Auction the car off and donate the money to charity for f**ks sake, instead of just destroying resources for the sake of watching someone cry over their car.

if you are dumb enough to continue to drive like a dick after the first 2 times you deserve to have your car crushed because you obviously have no reguard for the laws. you get a few goes at changing your driving style before the car gets taken off you, so if you don't use the chances you are given then tough titties. it's your fault and no-one elses. don't do the crime if you aren't prepared to do the time.

and there is no point running. once the cops have your rego number they will know where you live, and can find out where you work, etc, so you WILL get caught and will just end up being in more trouble and may end up being someone's bitch.