I bought this KKR560 Turbo. It was installed then taken to Gavin Woods.

He said it was overboosting because the wastegate was sticking.

I took it to Mr Turbo, who has bored out exhaust housing, enlarged wastegate, and now it looks like it should work perfectly.

Back to gavin, aparently the wastegate is still sticking half way, so it either overboosts or never hits boost, u can wiggle it and then goes back to working before sticking again.

I've looked at it, and wondering if the wastegate actuator is on too much of an angle to be able to work effectively? Can I bend the arm or bend the actuator mount?

Any feedback would be great :D

post-43177-1245644240_thumb.jpg

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/275837-actuator-troubles-check-my-pic/

hey mate i had same problems with kkr480 turbo

would stick and stay open and make hardly any boost.

only way to stop them over boosting or sticking is get the internal gate welded up and run 50mm external gate off the exhaust housing . which is what i done and now run between 7psi - 20psi... never had drama since..

its the only way 2 fix the cheap ass turbos.

hey mate i had same problems with kkr480 turbo

would stick and stay open and make hardly any boost.

only way to stop them over boosting or sticking is get the internal gate welded up and run 50mm external gate off the exhaust housing . which is what i done and now run between 7psi - 20psi... never had drama since..

its the only way 2 fix the cheap ass turbos.

Do you have any pics of your external gate install? I'd love to see them, you running screamer or back into exhaust? More pics the better, as I'm trying to weigh up my options and a bit of this would be DIY :D

EDIT: my email is studioibi AT gmail DOT com

Edited by islade

Yeh i can get you some pics this arvo.

if your switched on u can DIY, but u need to pull turbo off, housings off etc and be good at welding lol...

its vented at the moment but ive got a setup where i can plumb it back in by undoin 1 v band clamp.

Do you have any pics of your external gate install? I'd love to see them, you running screamer or back into exhaust? More pics the better, as I'm trying to weigh up my options and a bit of this would be DIY :D

EDIT: my email is studioibi AT gmail DOT com

there no need to get external to fix it your problem lies in the way the acutator sit as I to had this on my hypergear tr43i turbo since gthere similar in design do you see how your acator rod is not dead centre on the actour hole dats you problem modify your bracket so as it alligns dead centre dis will elimanate it getting stuck it is not hard 2 do aswell if you want more infromation i can give you more detail of how i modified mine.

Do I want more info?

HELL YES :D

Just throw me as much info as possible, I'll hopefully be able to do it tonight, and then if that doesn't work, I will have to explore these other options :(

If you want to Email me, my address is above, or post in this thread (in case somebody else has this problem in future)

Thanks, dude

Isaac

Hey guys, Just for reference...

OTOMOTO guy refering to 'bending actuator arm', but not saying what actually needs to be done

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/in...t&p=1987194

EXTERNAL GATED KKR

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/in...t&p=4249470

lowRB, the wastegate hole has already been made considerably bigger by Mr Turbo... not saying it's big enough, but that's not the issue i'm having at the moment.

I'd still love pictures of yours (unless that's yours i've linked to), as if it's done, it will be home job :D

Skyline01999, can't wait for the info, thanks again :(

Do I want more info?

HELL YES :D

Just throw me as much info as possible, I'll hopefully be able to do it tonight, and then if that doesn't work, I will have to explore these other options :(

If you want to Email me, my address is above, or post in this thread (in case somebody else has this problem in future)

Thanks, dude

Isaac

no worries well firstly ive marked out the exact problem on your photo.

posta230480ibiactuator.th.jpg

you can see in the pic how it is touching the side of bracket now this is preventing it from going strgiht which causes it to stop sometimes halfway.

Now this is a picture of my one.

snc00013g.th.jpg

notice in mine how it is straight in the middle and also not touching anywhere now what I have done is firstly enlarged the centre hole that made it easier to put the rod in secondly cut down the line with a grinder where i have marked but leaving abit left at the top them dummi fitted it back and started bending the braket back until the actutor rod sits dead centre. now once uve found the posositon you can test it by pulling the acatuor rod a few times and seeing if it doesnt get stuck just make sure you have someone holding the bracket in postion so it doesnt bend back, now once you have the right posisiton using a small pience of metal to close the gap where u have bended the braket weld it all up in order it holds and you should not have any problems, but yeah if you test it by pulling it and it doesnt lock up then you can be prety sure it will work. hope this solves your problem like it solved mine.

Thanks skyline01999 I am going to do this tonight :P

Really simple question, how do i disconnect the actuator from the wastegate?

I can see the screw/thread in the middle, but i'd imagine if that was loosened, thread would still be screwed into the wastegate side rod? If that makes sense?

Also, I have an actuator from my stock RB25 turbo, if this didn't fix the problem, would it be worth trying that one on there, or get another actuator from somewhere?

Isaac

Thanks skyline01999 I am going to do this tonight :P

Really simple question, how do i disconnect the actuator from the wastegate?

I can see the screw/thread in the middle, but i'd imagine if that was loosened, thread would still be screwed into the wastegate side rod? If that makes sense?

Also, I have an actuator from my stock RB25 turbo, if this didn't fix the problem, would it be worth trying that one on there, or get another actuator from somewhere?

Isaac

no problem, to disconnect it there a circlip on the end of the actuator rod connected to the turbo as you can see the rod slides onto the hook on the turbo take the circlip off and pull the rod off it might be hard to take off since its not stright but just undo the bracket bolts and take the braket off first if its hard to come off. And the acutor from the stock one wont fit since the arm is made to size and has been bent and is also a 7 psi one which is to low for your application but ye if your problem is jamming there is nuthing wrong with your actutor its just the bracket so if you can get it stright there will be no dramas. good luck with it

Also when my flap got stuck open, mine wasnt from the rod being on an angle it was the flap inside, hitting the exhaust housing and gettin stuck.you need a fair bit of force to open the wastegate flap up i cant see it rubbing a tiny bit on the hole stopping it from closing sorry... i also drilled the hole out bigger like skline01999 did.. just to give it that lil bit of clearance but it didnt do anything 4 me.

the problem why it doesnt close isnt just the fact that the hole on the bracket is touching its da fact its not lined up stright on the hole in the acuator itself and also was that the wastegate hook on the turbo has some play on it and when its on a angle the hook when being pulled back so quickly it moves it and sometimes gets jammed if it is completly straight da rod in the centre of the actuor it doesnt force the hook to have to move so it doesnt jam. well thats what i found out after mucking around with it for a while

Edited by skline01999

I just bent the actuator rod instead of moving the actuator bracket.

Hooked a compressor up, and ran it from 0 to 15 PSI and watched it open, the rod stayed in the middle (moving ever so slightly) for the full range of motion (getting nowhere near the sides of the actuator.

I've attached a pic, let me know what you think, i should find out tomorrow :P

If it's any help, i can upload a video of it slowly opening (air compressor power) if you guys think you can provide more feedback that way?

Isaac

post-43177-1245661917_thumb.jpg

I just bent the actuator rod instead of moving the actuator bracket.

Hooked a compressor up, and ran it from 0 to 15 PSI and watched it open, the rod stayed in the middle (moving ever so slightly) for the full range of motion (getting nowhere near the sides of the actuator.

I've attached a pic, let me know what you think, i should find out tomorrow :P

If it's any help, i can upload a video of it slowly opening (air compressor power) if you guys think you can provide more feedback that way?

Isaac

alright so now does its still get jammed?

Just rang Gavin.

He said he disconnected the actuator from the wastegate, and played with the wastegate itself, and it was still sticking. So i think the bent actuator rod could definately help, but i probably need to take the turbo back in to get checked out, because there's nothing i could do if the wastegate itself is getting stuck :)

Just rang Gavin.

He said he disconnected the actuator from the wastegate, and played with the wastegate itself, and it was still sticking. So i think the bent actuator rod could definately help, but i probably need to take the turbo back in to get checked out, because there's nothing i could do if the wastegate itself is getting stuck :)

didnt think it would fix it, only because ive been there done that.. maybe its time to go external wastegate?