had my car tuned and some goodies added about 7000 kms ago.. was running very well and putting out great power... it was running very rich then, but fuel comsumption wasnt too bad.. in that 7000 kms ive done one outing to mallala and since put on a larger fmic and had to use her for a daily for 5 weeks while my hilux was being attended to. i know my coil packs are on their way out aswell.

currant problems:

bov's constantly chatting.. struggling to build boost unles i comletely get my foot of the throttle

big bangs and sometimes random dangerious pops with a big glow behind :P especailly low revvs

huge fuel comsumption

huge lack of power... feels really sluggish on all boost settings

feels like its really holding back under boost

i recently surviced her and all vitals, oil etc are fine

i dont know why it would have gone out of tune so quickly? could it be the new fmic? could it be bov's stuffed? could the coil packs have this much effect?

feels like its gone from 300kw to 200kw....

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/277806-r32-gtr-issues/

I know it's pretty cliché to say this but in your case there is a fair chance that it's what's wrong so; start looking for boost leaks. Also those coil packs won't help your fuel consumption or your running rich, as you won't be getting complete combustion.

Edited by D_Stirls
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/277806-r32-gtr-issues/#findComment-4696766

yerp i agree dont worry about the pops ect its just the unburnt fuel getting ignited so your poping big flames, but yer take your front bar off n undo the clamps 1 by 1 and re tighten and push each join on trying to make sure they are almost flushed and aligned

Edited by shy_s6
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/277806-r32-gtr-issues/#findComment-4697876

no worries.. and cheers shy 6 i know the pops are unburnt fuel lols... i can smell it inside when its idling in carport hahah.

thanks guys ill take it for a test run tomorrow and see if its building boost as per usual then ive got some time off end of next week.. will work on her then check all the ic hoses

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/277806-r32-gtr-issues/#findComment-4701809

fanally got around for taking it for a small run. hits.8 ,1.0 1.1 bar fine and around 3500,4000 rpm same as always ... does this mean its not a boost leak?? was running like an absolute pig.. so hard to actually build boost to get her moving withought the bov chatter starting up.... on low revvs my bloody hilux 2.8 d is 10 times more responsive.. literally...

im stumped even on 1.1 bar showing on my avcr to was hardly boogeying at 5000 rpm

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/277806-r32-gtr-issues/#findComment-4714564

You'll find the boost leak is in the intercooler pipes somewhere - the AVCR is still programmed to run 1.1 bar or whatever you have set - so it is, albeit at the engine. In actual fact your turbos are probably running a shaft speed equivalent to a lot more boost, and the 'excess' boost pressure is being bleed off through the boost leak in your intercooler pipes or somewhere between your turbo outlet and engine inlet. My bet is where the intercooler pipes go down and through the inner passenger side guard just after the Y pipe.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/277806-r32-gtr-issues/#findComment-4714841

You'll find the boost leak is in the intercooler pipes somewhere - the AVCR is still programmed to run 1.1 bar or whatever you have set - so it is, albeit at the engine. In actual fact your turbos are probably running a shaft speed equivalent to a lot more boost, and the 'excess' boost pressure is being bleed off through the boost leak in your intercooler pipes or somewhere between your turbo outlet and engine inlet. My bet is where the intercooler pipes go down and through the inner passenger side guard just after the Y pipe.

Andrew, your back?!?! Welcome!

And yes, I think the problem is with the I/C piping too. We had the EXACT same issue on Steve's (madaz) car. Puzzled us for a while, checked all the hoses, they LOOKED good, but it wasn't until we actually took all the silicon joiners off that we saw the split

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/277806-r32-gtr-issues/#findComment-4714843

thanks for your informative info andrew. how ya been anyway mate!?

kinda off topic to the problem but if i block off my bov's temporarely will the turbo backspin cause much damage on linear baring turbos? even when the car is running well, chatter is a pain up the freeway so just thinking of ways to temporarily get rid of it.. got heaps to muck around with on my weeks holiday starting thrusday YAY

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/277806-r32-gtr-issues/#findComment-4714850

Andrew, your back?!?! Welcome!

And yes, I think the problem is with the I/C piping too. We had the EXACT same issue on Steve's (madaz) car. Puzzled us for a while, checked all the hoses, they LOOKED good, but it wasn't until we actually took all the silicon joiners off that we saw the split

cheers ill make sure i pull it all appart, out and check for splits rather than just look over it briefly

thanks for the combined ideas guys sent me in the right direction apposed to waisting heaps of money on a retune and parts i dont really need just yet.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/277806-r32-gtr-issues/#findComment-4714856

If you get really stuck let me know and I can have a look at it - blocking off the blow off valves will not hurt your turbos - but given the fact I am 95% sure it is an intercooler pipe leak, blocking them off should make zero difference to the way it drives. By doing it though, you do eliminate them as the cause :-) and yep, I'm back and Adelaide is bloody cold........

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/277806-r32-gtr-issues/#findComment-4714880

thanks for the combined ideas guys sent me in the right direction apposed to waisting heaps of money on a retune and parts i dont really need just yet.

Not a problem :P

Andrew, it's damn cold, especially coming from where you did to here!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/277806-r32-gtr-issues/#findComment-4714893

thank you for the offer but i should be right with this one it.. if/when i get it sorted wouldnt mind picking ur brain about a few things.. hahaha yeah u've come back at its coldest! u'd have some off time back here for a while yeh? u taking the monster to any mallala outings while your back??

moreso wanna block off the bov's because im over the chatter.. when it was running sweet it was still irritating (occasionally unresponsive) i wouldnt mind catching up at some stage.. find out what your doing about oil cooling... i had pretty big issues at mallala due to oil cooled turbos... was scary apposed to chads good temps.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/277806-r32-gtr-issues/#findComment-4714914