To me, rice means all show and no go. However, it's not a clean show. It's the, "I don't have enough money for a body kit or paint, so I'll patch it together, ghetto style, and roll like I'm a pimp." There's also a lot of attitude I feel is present. A certain kind, as well. Somehow, a spoiler, body kit, wheels and at home spring chop lower job gives you the right to roll around like a bad ass in your completely stock, and now, POS. I've seen people with extremely low budgets, modify their cars with taste. I think it's the difference between a PERFORMANCE enthusiast (that being a true car enthusiast), vs. the glamor and 'bling-bling' enthusiast. I'm not sure any of that made sense, so I'll cut it right there. :D

Bottomline, IMO. From what I saw in your Avatar, assuming that is your car...you have a nice car, a worthy car. You take care of it..so, sporting the companies and parts under the hood, and throughout, is by no means rice. I may not care for how you arrange the stickers, and personally wouldn't use stickers myself, but you aren't claiming to be or have something you aren't and don't to get attention.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-613705

• Replies 104

I dont call it rice, I call it being a wanker.

If you dont have the go, why have the show?????

There has been some constructive and interesting points raised on this thread. That comment certainly wasnt one of them. So steve, someones instantly a "wanker" because they want their car to look nice and they enjoy modifying their car as they see fit, even if this doesnt not include significant performance enhancements?

Well done mate :uhh:

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-613737

Look at my sig, when my gtr comes in i'm leaving it as it is, In my opinion having a sleeper is better then having a car full of stickers, loud BOV's, NOS Stickers, whatever.

Seriously it keeps the cops off your back as well, If you have a car with all these stickers off aftermarket part manufactures, what the bloody hell do you think that the cop's are going to think?

Cop, "There's gotta be a defect in that car, *Eyes turn to dollar symbol* $_$ "

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-613752

Like you park a standed r34 GTR and a standed exel side buy side with ones going to get more atention. But then you spend the remaning $90,000 on the exel then which one will people like more.

No matter how many times i hear that argument, my answer will always be the same :D

And paragon, that looks ****ing sexy as it is. Elegant white with 3 spoke rims :D

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-613756

i wouldn't consider that rice.....

'RICE' has lost it's meaning nowadays....it's like the newest catchphrase for anyone who wants to bag out some1 else's car....

For me...'RICE' is not rice if you've got the hardware to back it up...

"Let your wastegate do the talking":burnout:

Kutter..

i agree bud...

The wastegate does all the talking :D

goto love hks tho :D

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-613795

If you have stickers the police will hassle you.

My g/f was talking to a copper that came in to her work. She asked "Do you pick on the jap cars" he laughed and said "Only if they have big loud exhaust, stickers all over the car and are lowered"

I've got a little jap vid here with R32 GTR's Nismo & Blitz R33's with a NSX in there flying around a track. The NSX is damn quick but the 32 GTR still won. :D The 2wd R33 was up front for most of the race until right near the end he was nailed by the r32 punching it up the inside out of a corner. :D

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-613822

There has been some constructive and interesting points raised on this thread. That comment certainly wasnt one of them. So steve, someones instantly a "wanker" because they want their car to look nice and they enjoy modifying their car as they see fit, even if this doesnt not include significant performance enhancements?

Well done mate :uhh:

Well, mate, as you will notice - thats my opinion and that was the original vain of the thread. If you are a rice boy, fine, do what you want, but dont think for one minute that I will change my mind because you think I should. I respect everyone elses ideas, but I still have a mind of my own and when asked for an opinion I will give it honestly, not honey coat it for the infirm or easily offended. As you will notice, I stated 'I call it', dont really pretend to speak for anyone else, why do you think I should curb my remarks? Do you think I shouldnt give my opinion, even when someone posts up asking for it?

Lets get real for a second, there are actually people out there who see stock lancers and hyundais done up with kits, neons stickers etc, but obviously have nothing else - and will laugh their arse off at them and call them all sorts of names, wanker being a mild one. Now why sugar coat the world? Why give the impression that things arent as they seem. People do laugh their arse off at rice, people will call ricers by far more vulgar terms than 'wanker'. Get real, lets see the real world for what it is.

Oh, and by the way, you will probably notice, I didnt make any negative comments about anybody elses opinions - because I respect the right of individuals to have an opinion and voice it so why dont you?

Then again, no dont answer, I dont care - thats your opinion, and if you cant accept that I have my opinion, I dont want to know of yours.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-613950

my definition of rice is similar to others....too much show and no go in combination with posers who pass off their cars to be type R's, evo's and the like when theyre not.

this generally tends to be small 4cyl jap cars but i have seen some rice magnas around:D:D

as for the sticker thing.....i dont like the idea of advertising what ive got in and how much ive spent on my car....but thats just me. if u like the look then just do it...which it seems u have already done so:D:D

oh yeah steve...true dat...true dat!!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-614068

RICE is a FUCT up term that FUCT up people use.

i mean someone told me the other day that all yellow cars were RICE. WTF?

on this thread, someone mentioned VTEC was RICE? WTF?

anyways, i'm very over it! at the end of the day, people can think what they want - you're the one paying for the car so whatever pleases YOU should be what matters...

whats that old saying??? sticks and stones may break my bones, but names will never hurt me???

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-614145

Problem is generally those people who don't spend money on mods in stead spending 5k on body kits etc end up flying around in traffic dangerously like their car is fast or something. This is what pisses me about the ricers. I see it all to often in Adelaide on a Friday/Saturday night. Then even the non-ricers get tagged as beeing a dangerous hoon for owning the same/similiar car.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-614152

I'd say do whatever you do like with your car... If you like to spray your dashboard parts silver, do it. If you like a veilside big rear spoiler, put it on.

In any other way, a "riced-up" skyline with stock mechanical will still goes faster than most other cars on the road. So what are you worrying about.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-614153

The reason the V8 guys originally fitted the monster tachos to their cars was to keep a more accurate eye on the revs and to stop over-revs (pre fuel cut outs). Monster tachs on autos? You bet. Autos are far superior for drag racing. Not possible to go quicker with a manual in the 0-400m.

It's kinda important to watch revs closley when you've got thousands of $ worth of drag or circuit engine screaming away in front of you...

Well said, however I think the people they're refering to here are the kind who put a monster tacho in a stock VN V6 or similar sh!tebox. I've got a mate with a dead stock VN executive he bought from his mum, he's got a set of crappy 14 inch mags and yep, a monster shift light tacho. I always give him crap about it. Not only is it an auto, but it's flat out reving past 5 grand, so whats the use of having a tacho that goes to 11 grand? lol. But yeah, his car, his money.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-614279

Yer my uncle going through a mid life crisis has fitted a monster $400 tacho to his imported Z32 300ZX dead stock except for suspension NA, he removed the rear seat and fitted some big stereo that takes up the boot and the rear seat.

I gave him a bit of shit and said "you will get defected for that" :D and he will.. its a matter of time..

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-614337

• 2 years later...

I eat rice for breakfast.

PS just do whatever appeals to your taste, and whatever you can afford, i guess. If you like it, who cares what people say? chances are you'll spend more time looking at your car than anyone else will, so make it look good in YOUR eyes.

This, of course, excludes the aviation style fuel filler stickers, fake exhaust pipes, little fins, those bonnet grilles that look like air-con vents from motorhomes and all that other shite you get from repco and autobarn, of course.

Aero mirrors... go for it.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/27968-rice-boy/page/3/#findComment-2604982