Hello can anyone tell me the process of what to do when you buy a car ?

It is a private sale and there was no documentation for the car so the guy just wrote out on a piece of paper stating he has sold the car to me. Is this document enough ? And where do i take it. I just want it transferred into my name but it still has a few months rego left. Anyone help me out would be appreciated.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/280704-process-for-buying-a-car/

If he cannot find the notice of disposal slip that is usually on the back of when you renew your rego, a form with both your names and adresses, purchase price, purchase date, rego, vin etc... must be supplied and signed by both people. Unfortunatly from what rego.act is stating, unless you have the registration certificate you may lose the rego on the car and have to re-establish the registration.

Is the car interstate or local. The owner should be able to goto a shopfront and get a re-print of the registration certificate which will make it alot easier on bother your halves.

Also to transfer it into your name, you will have to do the usual which is get the car inspected and passed, and then pay the usual stamp duty on the sale.

Look over the rego.act website, or even go in and speak to someone there, but best thing to do is to get the other guy to go in and get a reprint of his registration certificate.

If he cannot find the notice of disposal slip that is usually on the back of when you renew your rego, a form with both your names and adresses, purchase price, purchase date, rego, vin etc... must be supplied and signed by both people. Unfortunatly from what rego.act is stating, unless you have the registration certificate you may lose the rego on the car and have to re-establish the registration.

Is the car interstate or local. The owner should be able to goto a shopfront and get a re-print of the registration certificate which will make it alot easier on bother your halves.

Also to transfer it into your name, you will have to do the usual which is get the car inspected and passed, and then pay the usual stamp duty on the sale.

Look over the rego.act website, or even go in and speak to someone there, but best thing to do is to get the other guy to go in and get a reprint of his registration certificate.

Thanks for the reply i will do that. And it is local so that means i dont have to take it to dickson right ?

Depends on how old the car is, and the extent of modifications. If its older then 10 years and isnt defective you wont usually have to take it to dickson inspection station, buy if the current owner doesnt want to have it taken to dickson, could mean he has something to hide which will probably be picked up by any other mechanic doing the inspection.

Best bet is to pay for a road worthy cert. before you buy it so if there is something wrong you can walk away rather then spend more money on getting it fixed/engineered.

Depends on how old the car is, and the extent of modifications. If its older then 10 years and isnt defective you wont usually have to take it to dickson inspection station, buy if the current owner doesnt want to have it taken to dickson, could mean he has something to hide which will probably be picked up by any other mechanic doing the inspection.

Best bet is to pay for a road worthy cert. before you buy it so if there is something wrong you can walk away rather then spend more money on getting it fixed/engineered.

O nah its not a skyline yet its just a tempo car for 4months before i get an R34 this car was cheap as and its older than 10 years.

You need to take it to a servo/workshop that's an authorised inspection station, get it passed, take that report + the rego certificate (he'll tear off the bottom part) + the "receipt" he wrote on the piece of paper + ID ... all the the ACT Shopfront.

All passed somehow and didnt even need rego papers when i asked them if i should get owner to print out but they said it will cost him money etc and no need. Now to pay the dreaded rego for 6months which is hell expensive (did it go up or something) ? If i purchase a 20grand r34 1998~ will i have to pay 600$ stamp duty to get it transfered ? seems crazy expensive

Yeah, well I paid 18K so not quite as bad, but will still be $540 or something :merli:

Trouble is if you make up a low figure they can look up "market value" and use that amount instead..

O yeah i guess they can be dickheads. What r34 you get ? I was thinking of getting something like a black one very lightly modified with <100k kms in manual or auto, dont really mind autos but probably cause my car right now is so shitty that you will hate manual :down:

I got this one!

6211_110179146637_652446637_2600711_3439887_n.jpg

6211_110179151637_652446637_2600712_5405709_n.jpg

It's a GT-T, manual....has a few mods but is clean and molested.. I'm in love with her and can't stop driving :merli:

I guess the auto or manual thing is up to you... I don't like auto's but you can get tiptronic in the R34's so I guess that's a bit better, at least you can still change the gears yourself if you want to. There's heaps of black ones out there so you should find the search a little easier than me holding out for a yellow one LOL :down:

It depends on why you paid a lower figure for the car than market price.

In my case, the guy I bought my car off wrote out two receipts (as well as rego papers), one for (Insert how much I paid for a s1 33 here lol) and the other for $7,000. If they ask why such a lower price than market when I use the one for $7k for the rego transfer, I'll just tell them I bought it with a fked gearbox and only 0 compression in one cylendar or something lol, who'd pay full market price for a fked car? So as far as they're concerned, that's what I paid for it, and that's what it was worth.

Nah that's a different one... belongs to someone called Leigh according to the spotted thread lol :P

Troy, yeah that's true I guess you could say that the car was broken... let us know how you go when you change it over. It seems too easy but maybe if you get a person who can't be bothered questioning you about it you'll be right. $7K isn't really unrealistic for an R33 these days anyway!

molested??? Ummm, Dolly Dunn maybe?

lol! I meant to say unmolested!

That looks great shell!! we'll have to get together and compare 34s :P I want to get that body kit...

PS i've got a stock exhaust handy if ya need one for rego or any reason...

Thanks! Yeah we'll have to compare! I didn't even consider ones without the Nismo kit.. it looks heaps better I reckon. Ooh the exhaust is good to know thanks :D Mine's just a catback and not overly loud so I should be ok hopefully.

Actually I have a random question for you... is your fuel filler hole really small? :pirate: On my R33 I can get the nozzle all the way in (as you should) but I went to fill up this car for the first time and it only fits the end?!?!? I felt like a tard! But I tried again at a different servo and same thing :P

:pirate:

yeah I was trying to write that without too much "can't get it all in the hole" type bits LOL

And yes, the sensor thing is bloody annoying!! Sometimes it helps to take the nozzle out and put it back in again, but some servos are worse than others and no matter what you do it keeps clicking off! :P

LOL shell (insert a that's-what-she-said comment)

The only problems i've ever noticed with every skyline i've filled up, is that if u dont hold the nozzle at the right angle and depth, it keeps cutting out as if it was full. Bloody annoying