It is amusing when I am in my GTR as cops seem to be attaracted to it for some reason, often chucking a U turn to follow me. They then follow me for a while as they are probably running some checks on the car. Then they pull up beside the car and when they see an old dude with a grey beard driving it they just leave me alone and drive away.

Some times it is good to be old!

Some bank robbers pulled off a job the other day after wearing latex masks and the police don't have a clue who they might be - yet!

Do you think that wearing such a mask that 'Victory' and I wear (albeit night and day), that you might pass roaming HP and defect stations with aplomb ???

Night-time - No cf Daytime - Yes???

• Replies 61

you were driving an import skyline so everyones attention is drawn to the car. so not really singled out - your car does stand out in the traffic more though and you were noticed

2ndly although it may be debated that you still stopped and checked - you didn't do the stupid 3 second thing.

so you were targeted because you stand out in the traffic, and you did do the wrong thing = another skyline driver recieving a fine over everyone else.

Sux i know - price of owning a flashy car...

welcome to the vast becoming gay part of owning an import... its getting worse... they have to much power, but dont be silly obide by there stupid rules and your good

though't i'd chose my words carefully, i have been done for a few things i havent even done!! but i own 1 of many skylines, so it musta been me lol...

I think cops do single out imports but from my experience this is not without reason, the stereotype about import drivers hold true for alot of drivers. Some people buy skylines because they genuinely have an interest in them (most of the people on this site), but sadly there are alot of young people that have bought them for the sole reason of trying to be cool.

I have owned my r33 gtst for about 2 months now, Im also on my P's. I have only driven past one r33 (a chick driver with flower stickers on the back window) that hasnt tried to race me or do anything stupid. Every single other r33 has either aggressively tailgated me (I mean like leaving 1-2m distance while going through backstreets at 70-80k an hour), done a big skid or burnout or tried to race me. One of them even crashed after following me through a turn way too quickly, lost traction over corrected way too much and went over a curb backwards (broke the rear axle judging by the angle of the wheel), this guy had also been following me out of maccas carpark and then 50 meters down the road before he crashed. When you see all this stupid shit happening how can you blame the cops for cracking down on imports

When you see all this stupid shit happening how can you blame the cops for cracking down on imports

Yep. I live up in Dulong so on the way up the sunshine coast hinterland mountain range and the #1 & #2 cars I see doing stupid shit is skylines and commodores (commodores in #1) - They always park out the front of my house as well at midnight (99% of the time with a ridiculously loud exhaust). I feel like taking my potato cannon + German Shepherd up there and giving them no choice but to f*** off. I presume it's the same 2 guys who stop there almost every weekend.

If I as a skyline/stagea enthusiast finds this annoying then imagine what the average person thinks... and cops.

yeah mate they do... its just not fair!

once i was in peak hour bumper to bumper trafic and cop just happened to notice my skyline in his rear veiw mirror... he made the effort to hold up traffic to get behind me and give me a wonderfull yellow sticker almost causing an accident doing it... their power hungry animals on the road that discriminate us for having a car that looks better than their wife... f*#kn cops

Your attitude is the reason why cops target skyline drivers... You probably have the same attitude when speaking to them.

Your an older person right? No your a cop yourself right? Nah i dont know. There's just something not right with you LordMidol.

Im with you flamn33.

Your an older person right? No your a cop yourself right? Nah i dont know. There's just something not right with you LordMidol.

Im with you flamn33.

WTF? :(

You wouldn't have an slammed R33 with a massive bodykit, 6" canon and "fully sick sub-woofa" by any chance?

yeah, import drivers do seem to get picked on a little more, but that is because of f**kwit attitude implemented by so many import drivers.... as LordMidol said

*** I picked the R33 as an example because it is what I see most of (I swear that Victoria has to have 1/3 of all 33's ever built and half of those would be crappy flogged POS examples).... or 180SX's.

Edited by iamhe77

Well here's another one - Another Stereotype Check!

This guy is older than 'Victory' or myself. Let's say pushing 70.

Minding his own business - travelling along the M7 with his wife in his black R34 GT-R like mine.

He passes an unmaked cop car (parked on the side) that he'd spotted (ahead) anyway > EE-AW-EE-AW!

Ron: "Anything wrong officer?" thinking that maybe a rear light might be out now that it was after dusk.

Cop: "Just doing checks on a few cars - Can you just state your name and address into this machine till I ask you to stop?"

Ron: States name and address...

Cop: "Nup that's enough - enjoy your ride and have a nice night"

Cop - Didn't even check under the bonnet.

ive had almost the same thing happen mate

i ducked down a side street though the stinking scum drove over the traffic island --------

if they check any family fwd pos they will 99% of the time see slick bald tyres on them but hey there only carrying 4 or 5 kids

but hey let the kids die and chase those import cars mr police officer - i look at tyres every time im at the traffic lights and i shake my head in disbelif at these fu c k i n g idiots in there daewoos and pt cruisers etc etc etc

but a skylines more dangerous with its one driver that seldom has multiple passengers which is usally maintaind 100 % with upgraded everything

go hang your heads in shame aust police

I'm reading through this and I'm hearing both sides of the argument.

I drive a pretty defectable Stagea (non obvious mods) and it shits me to tears when a cop tails me and ends up pulling me over.

Most of the time, I'm pleasant, they ask the usual questions, claim its an RBT and then head off.

As much as they have targeted me over the stupid Falcon or Commodore that just drove passed me doing 10kms over the limit, but on the other side of the fence, I (pretend to) treat them with respect and be nice and they don't give me too much gruff.

In saying that, I have absolutely no respect for police after two of them on a boring Easter night decided to lie and say they saw me driving drunk, when in fact I was simply sitting in my car drunk, with absolutely no intention to drive (and before the questions come, no, the keys weren't in the ignition, the lights weren't on etc and yes, I did try and contest it but 2 cops with their story all worked out didn't leave lil ole me with much hope).

So, in summary, as much as I hate being targeted by police. They usually aren't too much of a prick if you don't give them a reason and to be honest, as others have said, the Skyline stereotype does seem to apply to most Skylines I see boosting around.

I drive a pretty defectable Stagea (non obvious mods) and it shits me to tears when a cop tails me and ends up pulling me over.

Most of the time, I'm pleasant, they ask the usual questions, claim its an RBT and then head off.

As much as they have targeted me over the stupid Falcon or Commodore that just drove passed me doing 10kms over the limit, but on the other side of the fence, I (pretend to) treat them with respect and be nice and they don't give me too much gruff.

In saying that, I have absolutely no respect for police after two of them on a boring Easter night decided to lie and say they saw me driving drunk, when in fact I was simply sitting in my car drunk, with absolutely no intention to drive (and before the questions come, no, the keys weren't in the ignition, the lights weren't on etc and yes, I did try and contest it but 2 cops with their story all worked out didn't leave lil ole me with much hope).

So, in summary, as much as I hate being targeted by police. They usually aren't too much of a prick if you don't give them a reason and to be honest, as others have said, the Skyline stereotype does seem to apply to most Skylines I see boosting around.

If you intend to drink and sleep in your car, may I suggest you keep a pillow and sleeping bag. I have seen the same charge defeated in court, on the basis that the driver had every intention to sleep in his car (wagon) until he was sober enough to drive. Judge accepted it as he had sleeping gear in the car and layed out. FYI

Yep. I live up in Dulong so on the way up the sunshine coast hinterland mountain range and the #1 & #2 cars I see doing stupid shit is skylines and commodores (commodores in #1) - They always park out the front of my house as well at midnight (99% of the time with a ridiculously loud exhaust). I feel like taking my potato cannon + German Shepherd up there and giving them no choice but to f*** off. I presume it's the same 2 guys who stop there almost every weekend.

If I as a skyline/stagea enthusiast finds this annoying then imagine what the average person thinks... and cops.

Agreed. I see many idiots in skylines giving us a bad name. Unfortunately, Skylines attract hoons, as well as the enthusiasts. Hoons need to drop the attitude, learn to drive, and do us all a favour and STFU ... or sell your Skyline altogether and buy yourself a Commonwhore to fit right in.

Hmm unfortunately i hate to say it, but according to the law and legislation your in the wrong here. Had you off perhaps swapped car keys with a mate sleeping in a car next to your or hidden your keys outside the vehicle you would off been sweet. Having the keys inside the car, means your in charge of the vehicle and have the ability to drive it, asleep or not.

Local Real Estate Agent has R33, he's about 50+, he got pulled over and they even had a wooden block to slip under the car to check ride height. Sky was bog stock.

Got pulled over twice in 2 days just a few weeks ago, first just a lazy sunday arvo RBT - no problems.

Second was a late monday night, got followed for a few kms, then flashed, so RBT + full check under bonnet.

Idiot kept asking 'how much boost does it run' and pointing at T-piece??? Replied 'I didn't know overboost was Illegal'!!!

Couldn't defect so he wrote a $320 ticket for undue noise!!!

Edited by RED513