I reckon and im just speculating,

On a stock engine the front & back mesh may give a very slight advantage by breaking & evenly distributing the air towards the sensor itself, otherwise without the mesh slightly more air would pass around the sensor taking the path of least resistance. But i reckon the mesh is probably most effective in stock range, Ie with a lot more boost you might find it has the opposite effect by restricting the flow a little bit. Taking the trailing mesh off would make a slight difference too.

I reckon its one of those things that might benefit one car but not another, and if the car has been tuned after the mesh is gone the effect it has probably wont matter anyway. just my 2cents.

Higher boost would simply create higher intake speeds for the air, effectively making the mesh work even better. And really when you have such a strong vacuum pulling from the turbocharger what can't be made up in volume is made up in air speed. IMO i can't see the mesh creating any noticeable restriction especially when you have a filter of some kind beforehand.

Well said GT-RZ, I am no way anywhere near an engineer but I have alot of interest in the fluid dynamics, in this case air dynamics of the air flow meter and it's friend mesh.

I do not understand how people are saying removing the mesh will make no difference, take for example a kitchen tap, the ones with a the mesh flow evenly out of the nozzle and the water density is even at all parts of the nozzle as opposed to ones without, where the edges have less water than the centre.

Anyways, who has actually repaired the mesh? :D

Well said GT-RZ, I am no way anywhere near an engineer but I have alot of interest in the fluid dynamics, in this case air dynamics of the air flow meter and it's friend mesh.

I do not understand how people are saying removing the mesh will make no difference, take for example a kitchen tap, the ones with a the mesh flow evenly out of the nozzle and the water density is even at all parts of the nozzle as opposed to ones without, where the edges have less water than the centre.

Anyways, who has actually repaired the mesh? :)

hey mate.

You said the car was with friends for the last week or so, If i was you i would wait till the fuel tank is empty and then go to your local BP servo and fill it up with ultimate and then see how the knock readings are going.

Friends dont care about cars that are not theirs. they probly put regular unleaded in it by accident.

let me know how it goes

hey mate.

You said the car was with friends for the last week or so, If i was you i would wait till the fuel tank is empty and then go to your local BP servo and fill it up with ultimate and then see how the knock readings are going.

Friends dont care about cars that are not theirs. they probly put regular unleaded in it by accident.

let me know how it goes

I asked Jo the other week, he said he filled it up with Vortex98, which shouldn't knock that bad, but co-incidentally on the same week I bent the AFM mesh as well a day or two later.

The only real way to test this would be getting 2 AFM's both with intact mesh, putting them inline on a flow bench and logging their outputs versus air flow.

Then remove the mesh on one of the AFM and see if the readings are altered.