Sau Nsw Oran Park South Track Driver Training Day

Can i just say a massive bigs up to Andymoomoo and Clapa (VZSS) for helping me out scruting and getting thru the cars! You guys handle stickers n paperwork like no other pimp!! ;)

I want evidence of all stories and epic fails (yes including yours matt cass)

Which epic fail of Cass'? There were many... :P

I have photos of quite a few of Cass' epic Turn one entries... Just had a quick check then of one of them with Cass entering the infield slightly, water everywhere!

• Replies 389

Which epic fail of Cass'? There were many... :P

I have photos of quite a few of Cass' epic Turn one entries... Just had a quick check then of one of them with Cass entering the infield slightly, water everywhere!

there was more than one? lol

thanks to everyone who made today possible, after a scetchy start it was a greatday. Thanks to my mate Jay for driving the recovery vehicle which happened to be mine and is now full of mud lol, even our presidente had an infield excursion but did not require assistance :P .

had a great time and developed my own understanding of Duncan sign-language.

Car of the day for me was the white 32 GTR that was running in the last session, pushed hard all day and was pulling off some late entries into turn 1.

bring on the next track day.

Ok folks, I've got so much video and pics to sort through. Those of you who don't know, I'm working on a project for SAU. I'll be com'n back to get permission to use footage of some of the cars.

Yes, I do have Video Proof of Cass' decision to play in the mud - in HD :P

Also have footage of quite a lot of other cars too. Not sure how to distribute it yet as video is so hard to post on youtube and doesn't email. Will be more info for you folks once I figure something out.

As usual was a great day. Took forrrrrrever to get started I will seriously pay extra next time to not sit through another Gary Baxter driver briefing. The weather made the track quite interesting, spun on the first corner of the first lap doing about 40km/h, old warn semi slicks are not the right choice for a wet track :P Backed off abit for the next 2 sessions until I was confident but then the track dried out and I could have abit more fun!

Can't wait for the next outing (hopefully somewhere before Xmas) and now I have about a month of weekends worth of work to do in the garage to make some aero adjustments ;)

Thanks to all involved for what turned out to be a great afternoon!

The morning was dreadfully wet to say the least, was thinking about parking it after the first session. Then there was that unfortunate fellow who crashed his kart and had to be choppered out :(

Hope he is ok!

After that the rain stopped a dry line was made.

I must say the new swaybars, brakes and semis has changed the car remarkably!!!!! ;)

Even had a neck and neck dice with Stu in his race car on the last session until i finally lost my gearbox :P

well that day got off to a shit start but I think turned up well in the end. I think a few of the guys gave up when there was sfa track time by 12 due to the medical issues on the kart track....but they missed a great afternoon.

Other than the commodore wagon everyone got to drive home...and despite a couple of offs, no-one bent anything. I can't think of a better way to farewell oran park.

Well done in particular to the new guys who made their track debut in apalling conditions....I don't know if I would have done my first session in that sort of weather. I did sessions with Rosie and Nick who both drove well, and also with Stu - he was flying in the dino-line.

And for once both cars Kel and I took drove home on their own. The March needs different offset wheels or rolled guards before it hits the track again, it was impossible to hold any corner speed....shame because I think it has a lot of potential. And the skyline lasted a whole day with a best of 47sec in the arvo session.

Eric I've got video from the arvo session for you...256mb of high def goodness. pm me your mailing address and I'll send a dvd over :P

well that day got off to a shit start but I think turned up well in the end. I think a few of the guys gave up when there was sfa track time by 12 due to the medical issues on the kart track....but they missed a great afternoon.

Other than the commodore wagon everyone got to drive home...and despite a couple of offs, no-one bent anything. I can't think of a better way to farewell oran park.

Well done in particular to the new guys who made their track debut in apalling conditions....I don't know if I would have done my first session in that sort of weather. I did sessions with Rosie and Nick who both drove well, and also with Stu - he was flying in the dino-line.

And for once both cars Kel and I took drove home on their own. The March needs different offset wheels or rolled guards before it hits the track again, it was impossible to hold any corner speed....shame because I think it has a lot of potential. And the skyline lasted a whole day with a best of 47sec in the arvo session.

Eric I've got video from the arvo session for you...256mb of high def goodness. pm me your mailing address and I'll send a dvd over :P

Please please please tell me it was the second last session that you did the 47 second one in! ;)

Was a fantastic day!

Bit of bad luck with the slow start, but we still got a good run I reckon.

Had a ball with the dampness, great to get some practice with limited traction.

(BTW the R31s weren't the slowest cars out there whoever said we were slow, it may be AUS spec and N/A but its still a skyline :P )

Awesome track day as usual guys! Big thanks to Neil and Duncan for organising and even bigger thanks to Ando, Nick and Matt for making things run so smoothly today.

I liked the way Gary Baxter ran things- very laid back but still good focus on the basics. A1+++ would buy again :P

While some of the stuff in the briefing this morning was prolly a litte yawn inducing for those who have been on the track a bit it hopefully helped the newer guys?

Here's a pic of the Mighty March Super Turbo. I'm sure this pics was taken on the sighting lap- too quick for the camera to catch this 930cc beast otherwise ;)

post-935-1254649292_thumb.jpg

Was a fantastic day!

Bit of bad luck with the slow start, but we still got a good run I reckon.

Had a ball with the dampness, great to get some practice with limited traction.

(BTW the R31s weren't the slowest cars out there whoever said we were slow, it may be AUS spec and N/A but its still a skyline :P )

i was amazed at how well i was keeping pace with that black 33 gts25t on the last run, maybe he was just mocking me

sorry i didnt stick around, sounds like things got better in the arvo. I hope the karting bloke is ok, it all looked very serious with several ambos, cops and the chopper :P Anyone who wants another chop at OP there are two private practice days this week.

Here's a pic of the Mighty March Super Turbo. I'm sure this pics was taken on the sighting lap- too quick for the camera to catch this 930cc beast otherwise :P

930cc eh? since it was a motorsport event I think we should x1.7 for the turbo = 1581cc and x1.7 for the super charger = 2.6l.

matt....the 47 was on a session with no passenger...but I'll chuck some stuff on youtube tommoz from the passenger laps ;)

Yes, I do have Video Proof of Cass' decision to play in the mud - in HD :D

Not to mention you have in car footage of my epic fail! You should put it in your DVD under "what not to do on the track". If you look closely you will notice I had a little bit of target fixation on the wall I came close to hitting... should have been looking further up the track :3some:

I would also like to mention that I did not expect so many R31s today! It's good to see the old work horses having a go at Oran Park, makes me regret selling my R31 wagon

So, what did I learn from this track day?

1. I can't pass people under brakes when it's wet

2. Factory viscous LSD locks a rear wheel under brakes in the wet... which will send me sideways...

3. After market sway bar on the rear makes a considerable difference!

4. I need more wet track experience :D

Unfortunately I took only one photo today, and it is the end result of my epic fail... a dirty pussy!

3980110494_22e6b74173.jpg

Whoa crap forgot to thank everyone involved in organising and running the day, it was smooth running and very enjoyable.

Sorry for holding people up on the first outlap, cold Sumitomos @ 32psi are no good in the rain :3some:

Was my first time ever on a track, and was in the rain in an old tired family car haha, good fun

Didn't do too bad fanging it with the N/A S15, but 3.7 ratio borg whiner diff fails

Now I gotta do more things to get it more track ready... And so the bug bites...

Thanks again everyone for a great day, and thanks to mainyard for lending me his helmet, sorry for inconvenience mate