its the best fun

i went to Lake side and well it hooked me now i just have to keep going back. I'm down to a 1.03.57 in a some what stock r32 ( coil overs exhaust and front mount)

• Replies 48

When

21/06/2009

Where

Wakefield Park

With who

SAU NSW :P

Any pre-setup involved

I did a full brake flush... I think that's it...

Favourite memory of the day

Slowly pushing the car harder and harder before eating shit at the fish hook ;)

Things you learnt; about your car, yourself or the track

Car

Stock R33 GTS-t seats EPIC FAIL at holding me in...

Standard cars hold their own on the track just fine

Changing from 4th to 3nd, under brakes, without any attempt at rev matching leads to compression lock up

Compression lock up isn't cool when you are doing 140km/h and not expecting it

Changing gears half way through a corner unsettles my car too much

Standard suspension is lol worthy :)

Slow, progressive trail brake oversteer is fun!

As fun as slow, progressive trail brake oversteer is it usually quickly followed by a fast and sudden tank slap into dirt... super soft spring rates ftw! :)

Self

I had (and still have!) a bit to learn

I am oddly competitive when on the track

Track

Wakefield > Old Pac

The ripple strips at Wakefield will usually send me into a slide

How much fun you had!

Well I go to the track about once a month now... if it weren't for track days, I'd be driving a R33 GT-R by now :( Do I regret it? Not a chance :)

haha, Ando's Cefiro was something of a novelty at a few of the Autosports days at Wakie - Early 5-series BMW Ando? :D

Ha the first few days with Autosports all i heard was, "Hey is that a Beemer", "5-series???".... :D

How the hell does this

post-263-1254295990_thumb.jpg

Look like this

493179.gif

;)

But yes a laugh a minute with the Autosports boys (Marty etc) back in the good ol days.....

When Somewhere around 98/99 i think, when i had my 33 GTS25t

Where Wakefiled Park

With who Unique Autosports

Any pre-setup involved Bled the brakes and away we went.

Favourite memory of the day Favourite part was hiting the kink at the end of teh straight for the first time, woo baby. Got out of the car after the first session and, my wife (then GF) asked why i was so white, yet couldn't stop grinning! Wanted to get back out straight away so thought i would mix it with the big boys. Second lap around, a formula ford zipped up my inside just after the kink, being in the boat didn't see him till after he was in front of me. Said to myself, settle down tiger, pulled in that lap and ran with the noob's again for the rest of the day. :-)

Things you learnt; about your car, yourself or the trackHEAPS!!!! Without doubt the best thing i ever did that day was get an instructor in the car with me. No matter how much of a hotshot you think you are, it's amazing just how good a proper driver is. The smoothness and car control amazed me. Also a day out on the track really helps get rid of the speed bug on the streets.

I was totally worn out and in all seriousness was driving like a granny from then on, on the streets and left the quick stuff for the track.

I was one of slowest on the day, but probably the happiest one there. You don't have to have 4kabillion kw's to enjoy a track day. The fun part is mastering the corners. I've now taken almost every car I've since owned to a track day, including a 100% stock V35 auto!!

First actual TRACK day (Excludign skid pan etc)

Was OP GP mid this year with SAU.

Prep: Make the car run... It got it's final tune finish at midnight the night before.

Favourite memories... Just a few...

Having Brad (RISKIN) in the car and go, "Lets move to the opposite side of the track ready for the next corner" so I squeeze the throttle in 3rd, use a bit of tail slide and we're on the opposite side of the track, only steering input was oppy lock... Brad and I just laughing...

Also, the amount of sideways I was getting coming off the bridge... Massive amounts of torque + Stock suspension = tail happy when lifting off throttle...

Another fun memory was Brad yelling at me to over take the V8 Brute ute who was guiding us around... We were doign 130KM/H when I pinned it in 3rd and just had to catch the ass end from sliding, and wheel spun past the Ute...

Things I learnt: Street tyres... With that much power... not FUN!

Semis on the front, streets on the rear, a much nicer car to drive...

I also learnt my motor was still a heap of shit even after the work that got done to it, and I smashed a big end bearing apart (My car is cursed, it can't go ANYWHERE, with out a catastrophic failure)

My new motor that has been built for it, is built in the hope of throwing a rod at this OP Day...

When- when was Marulan ?

Where-Marulan

With who Auto-sports +SAU

Any pre-setup involved-bleed brakes + 1ltr exta oil, and emptyed my glove box

Favourite memory of the day- Driving around on the gas without the fear of breaking the law or getting booked

Things you learnt; about your car, yourself or the track- My car handles better than I thought, my car is forgiving when I dont do things right, Get someone to go for a spin with you and show you the lines to take (not the ones that I take)(Thankyou Duncan),you dont need to go 11ty bazilion kph to have more fun than 10 fun things.

How much fun you had! - If im not working and there is a track day on Im there. also how a little red car with stockish mods can near on lap me in 1 lap(damn you evil and your stupid driving stuff), I almost wet myself when I found out it was evils better half driving it.

The best thing though was the mateship, everyone helping everyone, and everyone laughing at each others mistakes, thats what hooked me.

Come on Sunday

My first track was sooooooooooooo much fun :D:D:D

First track day was at Wakefield Park. year or so ago. Was an SAU driver training type day.. Basically split up between newbies and ppl who have done a fair few track days..

the newbies go out and some one of the experienced guys goes passenger with them and gives them a few pointers.. this type of help is pure gold and priceless!

pre set up was simple, make sure I had fresh oil in the car.. nothing that hadnt been changed for a period of time.. brakes were in good condition.. I should have bled the brakes as I found out at the end of the day.. brakes were fading pretty bad by the end of the day.. but no dramas caused by it.

memories of the day.. hmm so many.. Sheng losing it in front of me.. then me almost losing it cos I was laughing.. Chasing VZSS Commo around the track and him not being able to shake me until I lost it on the last corner :down: ended up with a 1:15:07 as a best time which was like .6 of a second slower than the commonwhore :D .. Spinning off at the end of the straight was actually fun hahaha :huh:

it's really hard to put in to words how fun the track day was, you really have to experience it to know what its like.. there is no pressure.. you are on the track with people who have similar experience so you're not having people constantly pushing up behind you trying to get around etc..

so much fun :D:D

hahahaha...That was so much fun sammy!!!

First track Day was an absolute blast, and Sambo always let me out first on the track. Was extremely happy considering the SS is around 1.8tonne, and rolls like a boat!

Coming off at the fishhook, not so much fun.. But an invaluable experience.

Then to throw in the mix of adding slick tyres to the track, and a boost of confidence and the whole track day experience starts again. (note to self, warm slicks up before unleashing the V8!!)

So much fun, but unfortunately the SS needs to many suspension bushings fixed and changed before it sees another track..

But will be out there on Sunday to say G'day!

When early 2000

Where eastern creek

With who the lotus club of aus

Any pre-setup involved bought a fire extinguisher and cams licence

Favourite memory of the daythrashing he arse out of my r31 and smashing some historic cars

Things you learnt; about your car, yourself or the track turn 2 sideways is shitloads of fun but the lotus guys didnt appreciate my love of smoke, they also didnt appreciate my hellies on the grass hill.... and beeratches love the 31

How much fun you had! shit loads, i was finding grass in places i though it could never get( like under the back seat!)

When: 2004

Where: Wakefield Park

With who: Some mates

Any pre-setup involved: Had the car serviced, checked tyre pressures

Favourite memory of the day: Feeling "free" because I could go flat out without worrying about cops, caravans or cyclists

Things you learnt about your car: It needs more power and less weight

Things you learnt about yourself: I wasn't as fast as I thought I was.

Things you learnt about the track: It's a shitload more fun than driving fast on the street.

How much fun you had: |___________________________________| this much*

*not to scale

Edited by scathing
When- when was Marulan ?

How much fun you had! - If im not working and there is a track day on Im there. also how a little red car with stockish mods can near on lap me in 1 lap(damn you evil and your stupid driving stuff), I almost wet myself when I found out it was evils better half driving it.

The best thing though was the mateship, everyone helping everyone, and everyone laughing at each others mistakes, thats what hooked me.

LOL

mind you Mark, the mx5 is perfect on that little track! And the bold part...too true!! its what keeps me hooked!!

Even in supersprints against people, those people are always willing to lend a hand when they can, you make new mates and you have plenty of laughs and battle stories after that day!

First track Day was an absolute blast, and Sambo always let me out first on the track. Was extremely happy considering the SS is around 1.8tonne, and rolls like a boat!Coming off at the fishhook, not so much fun.. But an invaluable experience.

LOL x 11ty cause I was in the passenger seat teaching you bad habbits!!!!!

Fatz - Didnt you do those motoconcept days @ EC with Duncan and OzGTR? Thats when I first met you guys!

yup that the old team track day

motoconcepts were the best

evey second thursday

we have the occasional reunion... which involes me calling OZ a poof and duncan gay

i just had a beer with simon ( Bonkers) a old team track day member

I don't know quite how to start this post actually.

Many moons ago Duncan,Mark and Tom entered the Wakefield 500. I stupidly decided to put my hand up and help with their pit change.

We had already bought our line and had no intention of doing any track work at all,,,in fact it had never entered my head.

I'd conveniently put all my motorbike racing behind me and just loved the fact we owned a Skyline. Back then,,, 2001 she was a head turner and being an ex Nissan parts manager I was a very happy guy indeed.

That day changed my life forever. I was at a race track again after so many years and I hold those 3 guys responsable.

I started doing moto-concept track days with the usual suspects in basically a standard car. As time went on I decided that I would mod the car and started with semi's on stock rims (heaps of fun) a front mount,big sway bars, lowering springs and finally a dump pipe,,,no boost increase I might add. She has never been boosted!!!.

After about 2 years of track days the wifey states that there will be no more thrashing of her car,,,yes by this stage she has taken over. So I bought a cheap sports sedan had mad fun in that and now own my wonderful Radical.

My absolute Fav moment was at an Eastern Creek trackday on my own. I parked her and went to the roof. 6 wrx's turned up and laughed at my sweetheart. Bad move indeed. I got the moto-concept chicky to put me in their group and smashed all of them bar one,,,he was the 1st one out and way to much distance on me.

Neil.

OK since I'm an import here in OZ my first experience was from my home town of Seattle

Where: Seattle International Raceway 2.25 Mile (NOT K's!) has one of the largest elevation changes of any track in US.

When: Around 1987/88 (Yes I'm that old! hehe)

With Who Alfa Romeo Club (Only one's that would accept my Ricer Toyota Celica)

Any pre-setup involved Check Brakes, tyres, remove junk from car.

Favourite memory of the day I have a few...

1) Guy comes up to me and says do you know that you're lifting your right rear tyre 10 inches around turn 3A? Straight Axle! :)

2) Watching a Ferrari F40 blast down the front straight with fighter jet style contrails coming off the back wing! OMG!

3) Stock brakes overheated go from ok to nothing in no time flat! I nearly lost it off 3A - brake fade, had to pitch the car sideways to get it to slow down. I didn't even know what drifting was at the time ;)

To all you young'ens - I was rice'n before rice was popular in the west. I had an 18RG Jap import motor in my Celica liftback with twin sidedraft carbies (thought I was the sh!t at the time but now realise was only making like 130-150 hp) hehe.

That day I learned I'll never be able to drive as hard on the street as I can at a track. I used to try to "Prove" something on the street and I learned to save it for where it counts, on a track.

The pics aren't from that day (digital photography didn't even exist then :cheers: ) But just to show 3A 3B turn.

post-16200-1254529993_thumb.png post-16200-1254530005_thumb.jpg

When: June 2006

Where: Nurburgring, Germany

With who: A great mate who is also called David

The Car: 2006 Porsche Cayman S

Any pre-setup involved: It was an adventure just to get the Cayman that started with a booking for a 911 S, went to options of a Boxter or a Mustang, 6 hours later looked like having to be a Smart car before being saved by a gorgeous German blond driving a Hummer off the clock (ie beyond the range of the speedo gauge) and culminating with Cayman S. And then a 4 hour drive on the Autobahn after being awake for 30+ hours.

Favourite memory of the day: That I had ticked off one item on my 'Things to do before I die' list.

Things you learnt about the car: Gearbox whine was annoying at constant speeds above 100kmph but the mid-engine sounded brilliant above 4000rpm. The weight distribution was really good.

Things you learnt about yourself: I was poorly skilled and needed training.

Things you learnt about the track: It was daunting at first but as I did more laps my confidence grew. GT4 is not anything like the real thing.

How much fun you had: Counted among the best days of my life.

I wrote a thread about my adventures at the Ring on SAU for those who want more info and pics: http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/Nu...ing++world++cup

post-19208-1254546753_thumb.jpg

Guys this thread should by stickied so the Track Virgins (Myself Included) can see that it is just as daunting for everybody the first time out.

I have always been so apprehensive of taking the plunge into track days because of fear of being seen as a "novice" or "poorly skilled" but I can see by reading this thread that everybody is nervous and not exactly sure of what to do thier first track day.

I wont be able to make it to OP unfortunately (Really bad tune and an oil leak I cant find)but I WILL be at one VERY soon thanks to this thread.

I hope all the "Old Timers" in the track days dont mind teaching us noobs the ways of the force.

Kepp the story comming I love this thread